P๏€cɨℓią* ~SLiTsRead's Reviews > Heir of Fire

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4862696
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorites

10 AMAZING STARS!!!!!

OMG. This is So good So good!!! It borderlined on becoming an adult urban fantasy book.
Unlike previous books, there were two storylines going on. Celaena and Manon the witch. I had yet to see how the two stories coincide.
This was a much deeper book than the normal YA fantasy. It centered on comradeship, loyalty, and empathy. The romance was there without it being explicitly written. You could literally see the connections forming between the characters before your eyes. But really who cares about romance when you had to deal with betrayal, evil king, the ever conniving fae, and meeting the deadline of mastering your power.
Like an adult UF book, this was very heavy on magic, and had multiple POVs. But the number of characters was relatively contained... so I didn't get confused unlike some other books.
The action was really good, the escape from the skinwalker, the battle against the Valgs, the downfall of XXXX, the War Game etc.
Lastly, I should mention I really liked this new friendship Celaena had. Chao's sacrifice now seemed water under the bridge. Sorry Chao, you didn't get forgotten just no longer the focus.

Also posted @ http://slitsread.com/2014/12/27/heir-...
5 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Heir of Fire.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 26, 2014 – Shelved
October 26, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
December 17, 2014 – Started Reading
December 17, 2014 –
page 3
0.53% "What fae heritage? Damn I forgot everything"
December 19, 2014 –
34.0% "This is so inhumane. Poor bait beast."
December 19, 2014 –
35.0% "oh wow. What a twist of event."
December 21, 2014 –
68.0% "What?! Only 19? I was sure she was in her 20s."
December 21, 2014 –
70.0% "What a wonderful scene. This could be made into a movie."
December 21, 2014 –
72.0% "Damn. Where is the internet when u need them."
December 21, 2014 –
75.0% "Y is a captain doing luncheons. That normal? o_O"
December 21, 2014 –
78.0% "Who! Who's the traitor!!!"
December 21, 2014 –
78.0% "umm u r now engaging them....i thought the plan was to not?"
December 21, 2014 –
87.0% "oh wow. I can't wait for that scene. This is getting so good!!!!"
December 21, 2014 –
87.0% "This is becoming a pattern, her saying goodbye near the end...."
December 21, 2014 –
96.0% "That'd be zombies UF style haha"
December 21, 2014 –
90.0% "Damn. Didn't they always say your friends will be used against u?"
December 21, 2014 –
90.0% "OMG but u can't go against Maeve can u?"
December 21, 2014 –
91.0% "What when? When did Narrok had a vision?"
December 21, 2014 –
92.0% "Rowan's friends must be so jealous."
December 21, 2014 –
93.0% "This reminds me of Harry Potter, just because it's a game that involves flying."
December 22, 2014 –
96.0% "Shit is about to hit the fan"
December 22, 2014 – Finished Reading
September 12, 2015 – Shelved as: favorites

Comments Showing 1-4 of 4 (4 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

CasPerfitz~SLiTsReaD Great review Poe! One I should read soon… I haven’t have much time to read this holiday and when I do, it doesn’t seem to come in my brain, LOL… :)


P๏€cɨℓią* ~SLiTsRead THanks Casper! Yes you should, after the holiday ;).


message 3: by Chelsea (new)

Chelsea Yey! glad this book gets to satisfy your urban reads Poe =)


P๏€cɨℓią* ~SLiTsRead :D Thx Chelsea! It's been a while LOL


back to top