✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans)'s Reviews > Dragon Actually

Dragon Actually by G.A. Aiken
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7298986
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: paranormal-romance, book-cover-hell, dragons, 2014, kindle, kick-ass-chicks, 1st-in-series, br-2015, rr-2015, don-t-kill-it-with-fire-pnr, 2015, fantasy
Recommended to ✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) by: Armina
Read 2 times. Last read November 5, 2015 to November 6, 2015.

Impromptu buddy reread with my MacHalo Freaks

And the moral of this reread is: yes, dragons still do it better. And no, nothing beats bloodthirsty, batshit crazy warrior princesses. Nothing. Well Kate Daniels probably does, but she doesn't count. It wouldn't be fair on her fellow fictional characters. Anyway, I've decided that if I can't be Kate Daniels or Shanti when I grow up, I'll be Annwyl the Bloody. Why? Because this:
“Do you not listen to our daily meetings about the state of your lands?” “Of course I don’t. They’re dead boring.” “Not everything can involve bloodshed, Annwyl.” “Can’t you come get me when there is bloodshed? Otherwise just leave me alone to read.”

Bloodshed, books or nothing. Annwyl, a girl after my own heart.




[Original review]

This is a silly book about horny dragons, homicidal damsels in little distress, broad-chested horny hunks and batshit crazy with horny tendencies dragonesses.



They have sex share lovely moments, they have sex live in dens, they have sex fight each other, they have sex battle other dragons to reclaim their kingdoms, they have sex walk around naked a lot, they have sex argue and they sometimes have sex fall in love.

The chicks kick ass. The guys are as male as it gets. Pure, mindless dragon fun. That's what this is.

119 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dragon Actually.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 24, 2014 – Shelved
October 24, 2014 – Shelved as: wishlist
October 24, 2014 – Shelved as: paranormal-romance
October 25, 2014 – Shelved as: book-cover-hell
November 4, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
December 3, 2014 – Started Reading
December 3, 2014 –
0.0% "Oh look, a headless hunk bookcover!"
December 4, 2014 –
61.0% "Just let one of the men touch you inappropriately and you take his arm off right at the shoulder joint. Then, as he’s bleeding to death, you slam his face into a few things, and you’ll find the other men leave you alone.\n \n Now that's my kind of girl!"
December 4, 2014 – Shelved as: dragons
December 4, 2014 – Finished Reading
December 5, 2014 – Shelved as: 2014
December 5, 2014 – Shelved as: kindle
January 31, 2015 – Shelved as: kick-ass-chicks
September 15, 2015 – Shelved as: 1st-in-series
November 3, 2015 – Shelved as: br-2015
November 3, 2015 – Shelved as: rr-2015
November 4, 2015 –
1.0% "It's dragon time!!! Let's do this, MacHalos!\n \n "
November 5, 2015 – Started Reading
November 5, 2015 –
27.0% "Just let one of the men touch you inappropriately and you take his arm off right at the shoulder joint. Then, as he’s bleeding to death, you slam his face into a few things, and you’ll find the other men leave you alone.\n \n Anwyll the Bloody, you make Shanti proud.\n \n "
November 5, 2015 –
59.0% "It wasn’t Fearghus standing in front of her, but a tiny human. How cute. Bercelak sent her a little something to munch on. “And who are you?” She always liked to chat with her meals before disemboweling. You never knew what you might learn.\n \n Talk first, disembowel later. \n \n "
November 6, 2015 –
99.0% "Fearghus followed the sound of retching. He found his brother doubled over and Morfyd patting him on the back. “What’s wrong with him?” “He ate too many soldiers last night.”\n \n That's dragons for you, they just can't stop munching on little humans.\n \n "
November 6, 2015 – Finished Reading
January 10, 2016 – Shelved as: don-t-kill-it-with-fire-pnr
February 4, 2016 – Shelved as: 2015
October 13, 2017 – Shelved as: fantasy

Comments Showing 1-50 of 56 (56 new)


Armina I read this a long time ago and I'm not sure how I'm gonna feel about it now but it was definitely fun if nothing else. :)


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) The cover is pretty appalling but I'm an open-minded girl! ;-) I'll let you know what I thought about it once I've read it:)


message 3: by Armina (last edited Oct 25, 2014 10:00AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Armina Haha, that cover, yeah - the ubiquitous headless(or rather cut in half face) naked male torso! I would not call it exactly appalling but more .... straightforward! :) You look at the cover and know exactly what to expect: a book about SEX(mostly), not love or romance, certainly not about characters or characterization.

Now there is the axiom “you can’t tell a book by its cover” but in this particular case it's exactly: what you get is what you see! :)


Monty Cupcake ☠ Queen of Bloodshed ☠ I hate these covers. This book would've been better showing the back of shirtless guy with dragon wings! Otherwise, you might think topless there is a dragon hunter. Maybe the headless look is better than showing the face because sometimes the faces they pick are ridiculous. I.e. the male character is described as blonde, fair, pretty & they put Javier Bardem-kinda guy on there instead.


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Actually some of these covers are so ridiculous they end up being just plain hilarious! The headless thing left me a bit dumb-founded but I guess picking the right face can indeed be tricky! ;) Look at the Kate Daniels covers, so far I think they have featured three different girls...

To me, the most ridiculous cover ever is probably this one . It looks like it's some trashy romance novel when it's actually a science-fiction one about time travel and the black plague... It's a great book by the way! ;)


Monty Cupcake ☠ Queen of Bloodshed ☠ Wow....that looks like a bad 70's musical special. The feathered hair, gawd.


Monty Cupcake ☠ Queen of Bloodshed ☠ I've categorized the KD covers as such:
The first few have a redheaded chick, which is obviously wrong, but this girl also looks like a bad Sims character. And no discernible muscles when in a tank top - Kate is described as muscular.

The Magic Gifts KD with the ponytail & fur accessories reminds me of Lara Croft: Tomb Raider. And a Pict warrior from an Ancient Rome movie I saw. She's more badass looking, but I doubt Kate is into fur scrunchies.

Next we have a too young KD. She looks like a teenage babysitter dressed up for Comic-Con. The dark hair & braided ponytail make me happy, but I still need more muscles.

Book #8's Kate I feel is more accurate. Dark hair, looks mature & tough. Hair should be longer - isn't Kate's waist length?

There's also another KD I've seen on one of the in between books that's super pale with blue eyes = epic fail. Minds well have given her blonde hair as well, ugh.


message 8: by Eilonwy (new) - added it

Eilonwy OMG, Sarah, who the hell picked that cover for Doomsday Book?! That's just a travesty. I'm so glad the copy I read had a different picture!


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) @Monty Cupcake: a bad 70's musical special? Ha ha, you nailed it right there! :-)

I really *really* don't like the girls on the first few covers, they look nothing like the Kate I have in my head. Oh, and check out this cover for the audio version of Magic Bites! Scary isn't it?!

Anyway, the girl I like best is the one on the cover of Magic Rises and Magic Breaks. I'm assuming she's your teenage babysitter. I like her face and hair but she's much too skinny and definitely needs more muscles, I couldn't agree with you more!

And finally a big YES to the Magic Shifts cover, she looks a lot more like my Kate, although the hair could definitely be a lot longer (and braided maybe?).

What book had a pale/blue-eyed Kate on the cover? Can't remember that one.

@Eilonwy: I already had another copy of Doomsday Book when I ordered this one and I thought I was going to faint when I opened the package, got the book out and saw the cover! I got it used from Better World Books and sometimes the book you receive isn't the same edition as the book you buy from the site. A travesty? Most definitely! ;-)


Monty Cupcake ☠ Queen of Bloodshed ☠ The audio version of Magic Bites' Kate looks like a bad clay-mation figure.

This is the cover with the pale, blue-eyed Kate. It's the foreign version, I've seen it used with a French & Spanish title as well as German. Utter failure

The Magic Rises & Magic Breaks teenage babysitter cover is nice, I just want the girl older. She seriously looks high school aged and Kate has to be grittier & older looking than that. You don't almost die as often as she does & not have any wrinkles or stress lines. Unless Roland's blood is also an anti-wriknle preventative, if so, I AM SO JOINING THAT CULT OF NO WRINKLES EVER!!!!!


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) What cover is that?? What were they thinking?! Sometimes you really have to wonder what the authors and publishers are thinking when they pick a book cover? Have you seen the one for Burn for Me? It looks like a trashy romance novel, it's completely ridiculous!

I'm pretty sure Roland's blood is infused with some magical version of botox, which means we have yet another reason to join his cult, yay!! We'll be the wrinkle-free Roland worshippers, how about that?!


message 12: by Eilonwy (new) - added it

Eilonwy oOSarahOo wrote: "I'm pretty sure Roland's blood is infused with some magical version of botox, which means we have yet another reason to joining his cult, yay!! We'll be the wrinkle-free Roland worshippers, how about that?! "

Sounds good to me! I'm hitting the age where I'm wishing I'd spent my life under a rock, because I can definitely see the sun damage. So wrinkle-free cult, here I come!! ;-)


Monty Cupcake ☠ Queen of Bloodshed ☠ Burn For Me is hideously trashy. It's on the low end of trashy romance novel covers. Ilona Andrews has a really really bad team doing their book covers. The KD covers look gorgeous comparatively.

I wish I had whatever sunscreen The People use on their vamps. I bet you'd be wrinkle free with that. I'm Casper, the friendly ghost, kind of pale, so I don't think I have sun damage, but academic stress wrinkles from college. I should've botox-ed before college so I couldn't move my face to wrinkle it. Preventative Botox. Seems the only thing to do now is join Roland's cult. Or the Pack, that Lyc-V reduces signs of aging - Kate first describes Curran as looking early to mid 20's, but having the bulk of a man in his early 30's. I'm joining Roland though because his magic blood Botox lasts forever! You do eventually age with Lyc-V.


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Hmmmm, interesting train of thought! Maybe we should get a biologist to join our cult and he/she would come up with a ass-kicking mix of magic Roland blood *and* Lyc-V. Now *that* would be an awesome combination!


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) A friend's husband just told her the Burn for Me cover made it look like "one of those bondage books", HA HA HA!


message 16: by Eilonwy (new) - added it

Eilonwy Roland blood plus Lyc-V does sound pretty awesome. Although that gets me back to worrying about incompatible blood types, since I am but a puny human.


Monty Cupcake ☠ Queen of Bloodshed ☠ Hahahahaha "one of those bondage books." This cover is actually tame, just cheesy trashy. They even have clothes on!


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) @Eilonwy: no worries, our biologist will work something out! :)

@Monty Cupcake: the cover is definitely tame for a bondage book but I still thought this was hilarious! :D


Veronica Rosa Yep, there's a lot of sex going on. And it continues with the other books. I have a love/hate relationship with this author. I think she's a talented writer but some of her characters drives me insane because they are so over-the-top aggressive and effing crazy. But her plots are so interesting that I need to find out more.


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) I like aggresive and crazy, that's the fun part of it:)


Veronica Rosa Oh yeah, I do like most of her characters. And then I get unreseasonly excited when she has a "normal" character that isn't trying to shank everyone in sight because she has a tendency to write many of her female characters this way. As I said, love/hate. ;)


message 22: by Mariana (new)

Mariana OMG Sarah, that last link was disturbing...


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) @Veronica: I really liked the female characters in this one and they're actually the reason why I might give other books in this series a try:)

@Mariana: haha, very disturbing!;)


message 24: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo ★The Book Sloth★ Gah, I love this author although I do agree. She is over the top on both the sex(but I like erotica so no problem there) and the too crazy characters. But the characters are the reason I love her. If I want to laugh I pick up her books. I do get why a lot of people become exasperated though. Sometimes they seem more suitable for mental institutions. :P


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) So some people find these books exasperating? I'd understand them finding the series silly (I do too but in a very good way!) but exasperating? I enjoyed the book because it was light, funny and entertaining. I didn't mind the sex scenes at all and just thought it was hilarious how horny the characters could get haha!


message 26: by Jo (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jo ★The Book Sloth★ Yeah, mist heroines are kind of cut from the same cloth... Crazy, bloodthirsty, etc. It annoys people after a while. I still find it hilarious.:-P


Chumchum_88 This book is one of my favorite in this series, it was too adorable


Sh3llraiser HAHA *awesome* review, Sarah.


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) @Chumchum: can't wait to read more books in this series. Great mindless fun!:)

@Shelly: thanks girl! You should give it a try, it's silly but very entertaining!:)


message 30: by [deleted user] (new)

Oh and did they have sex??


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Haha! You'd think they were rabbits instead of dragons!;)


message 32: by [deleted user] (new)

Rabbitporn would also be interesting. I feel like there would be too much sex orgies going on though.


Chumchum_88 The only word that would this series but mostly this couple is Horny, Super Extremely Constantly Horny and so fantastic


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) @Kat:Yeah and it would probably get old really fast too;)


message 35: by Brigid (new) - added it

Brigid BWAHAHAHA! Funny review.


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Brigid (is a massive coffee addict) wrote: "BWAHAHAHA! Funny review."

Thanks girl! Still don't want to read it?;o)


message 37: by Brigid (new) - added it

Brigid maybbbeeee


Chumchum_88 It's a great interesting series which has a total thumps up in the recommendation area from my side XD


Choko All time favorite series despite the ton of sex. I love how silly and over the top the characters are and they just stick with you. I remember reading this when it first came out and I still remember everything that happened in the story. It is pure fun!


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) I haven't had the time to read the rest of the series yet but I really want to do it soon. I might even reread this one first;) As you say it's just pure, silly fun and that's exactly what I need right now!


message 42: by Robin (new)

Robin (Bridge Four) you had me at horny dragons


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) OMG don't tell me you haven't read this one Robin?! Join us, we're reading it tomorrow! You're already reading 6 books, one more won't make any difference, haha!


Holly Oh man. I gotta check this one out. Hahaha.


Monty Cupcake ☠ Queen of Bloodshed ☠ YES, do it ROBIN, DO IT DO IT DO IT.


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Holly wrote: "Oh man. I gotta check this one out. Hahaha."

READ IT READ IT READ IT!


Casey I've said it before and I'll say it again,
MOTHAFUCKING DRAGONS!!!!

(Sorry.. I was given waaay too much soda today, I'm practically spinning in place right now, so out of control)


Heather the Queen of (Smut)Books Woohoo dragon lovin!!



Hey I'm not sure that's where....oh fuck it. Giddy up!!!


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Casey wrote: "I've said it before and I'll say it again,
MOTHAFUCKING DRAGONS!!!!

(Sorry.. I was given waaay too much soda today, I'm practically spinning in place right now, so out of control)"


Too much soda? How disappointing, I thought you were born that way.


✘✘ Sarah ✘✘ (former Nefarious Breeder of Murderous Crustaceans) Heather the QueenofBooks wrote: "Woohoo dragon lovin!!



Hey I'm not sure that's where....oh fuck it. Giddy up!!!"


I think that girl needs a better GPS system. She's obviously *not* where she think she is.


« previous 1
back to top