José's Reviews > Revival

Revival by Stephen King
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
35062854
's review
Oct 21, 2014

it was amazing
bookshelves: stephen-king, favoritos, horror-read

Reseña en español en el blog: Click aquí
El libro ya está disponible en español.

I didn't know what to expect from this book since the description doesn't say much and I hadn't read any reviews, so I was really impressed by this novel. It's a book about Jamie Morton's life and how he meets reverend Jacobs, a man that will cast a shadow that will haunt him for the rest of his life.

The whole story is told by Jamie, we get to know his childhood and how he grew up. Stephen King coming of age stories are always great, he writes great tales about childhood and the first chapters of this book are no exception. Although this is enjoyable for the most part, it became kind of boring at some point because it's like reading some sort of fictional autobiography.

Fortunately King increasingly presents disturbing scenes and other supernatural aspects that keep you trying to find out what is going to happen and when I reached the half it was impossible for me to put this book down.

But certainly what I enjoyed the most was the amount of references to other King books like: The Dark Tower, Joyland and several short stories like "N", "Crouch End" and "I'm the Doorway" to name a few. His recent books lacked of these connections so I was thrilled when I began to find them.

The ending was brilliant and totally unexpected. Although King gives some hints along the whole book I didn't see it coming, it blew my mind me like other of his classic books that I read many years ago.

This is Kings ultimate tribute to horror authors that inspired him like Mary Shelley, HP Lovecraft, Peter Straub, Bram Stoker, Albert Machen and several others that he mentions when the book begins, so if you like those authors (as I do) go and read this book, you won't be disappointed.

"That which is not dead can eternal lie,
And with strange aeons, even death may die."
15 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Revival.
Sign In »

Quotes José Liked

Stephen King
“Home is where they want you to stay longer.”
Stephen King, Revival


Reading Progress

October 21, 2014 – Shelved
October 21, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
March 26, 2015 – Shelved as: stephen-king
May 22, 2015 – Started Reading
May 22, 2015 –
5.0% "At last I'm starting this one!"
May 25, 2015 –
17.0%
May 25, 2015 –
17.0%
May 26, 2015 –
30.0%
May 31, 2015 –
40.0%
June 1, 2015 –
68.0% "This is amazing, can't stop reading it"
June 2, 2015 –
83.0% "There's a lot of references to other King books, I loved this story and I hope to finish it tonight"
June 2, 2015 –
83.0% "There are a lot of references to other King Books, I loved this story and I hope to finish it tonight"
June 2, 2015 – Shelved as: favoritos
June 2, 2015 – Finished Reading
October 17, 2015 – Shelved as: horror-read

Comments (showing 1-15 of 15) (15 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Denisse (last edited Sep 17, 2015 03:09PM) (new)

Denisse Osea que si no he leído The dark tower o Joyland, no le entenderé, o solo hace unas referencias geek a eso y ya?

Se que es su primera novela negra y la verdad si lo encuentro en la FIL sera el que compre, aunque no he leido mucho del autor XD y por eso pregunto :)


Franco  Santos Son solo referencias, lo podés entender perfectamente.

Y lo de la novela negra es Mr. Mercedes, jajajaja. Revival es excelente!


message 3: by Denisse (new)

Denisse shit. me confundi. Entonces era thriller psicologico?


José Como dice Franco son solo referencias (metí connections en la review x_x ahora la edito) que King suele poner en sus libros y a mi me encanta encontrarlas xD

La novela negra que decís es Mr. Mercedes, yo la odié pero es parte de una trilogía y el segundo libro estuvo mucho mejor.


message 5: by Denisse (new)

Denisse Entonces fue Thriller psicologico lo que lei que era Revival y por eso subió en mi lista de "libros por comprar de king" XD


José jajaja Revival es más bien una novela de terror y me pareció brillante. Lo más parecido a un thriller psicológico escrito por King que se me viene a la cabeza es La mitad oscura, si me llego a acordar de alguno más te aviso :P


message 7: by Denisse (new)

Denisse puesyo escuche, bueno, lei xD que era thriller psico. No se donde y por eso me dije que lo compraria, aunque el que si me compro de a fuerzas esta FIL es el de el adesinato de Kennedy (?) olvido la fecha y el nombre del libro xD


message 8: by Denisse (new)

Denisse Olvidenlo. Ya lei el review y si era Mr Mercedes. Con tato kingbook ya se me revuelven xD jaja


José El del asesinato de kennedy (yo también siempre me olvido la fecha xD) es precioso! ojalá lo puedas leer :)


message 10: by Denisse (new)

Denisse A ese si le traigo muuuchas ganas! y le van a hacer mini serie creo :D


José Si! creo que se empezó a filmar este año, solo espero que no la caguen como hicieron con Under the Dome que no tiene NADA que ver con el libro u.u


Franco  Santos 22/11/63 es de lo mejor de King. Uno de mis grandes favoritos! En mi top 3 :-)


José Totalmente de acuerdo! aunque no es de mis favoritos es de los mejores que ha escrito :)


Laura Estoy a menos de 100 páginas de terminarlo y me tiene enloquecida este libro.


José Me alegro de que lo estés disfrutando Laura! Es de mis favoritos y preparate porque lo mejor está en las últimas páginas ;)


back to top