Lady Vigilante (Feifei)'s Reviews > Torture to Her Soul

Torture to Her Soul by J.M. Darhower
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2551178
4 stars!!

description

I was really relieved that this second book would be in Naz’s POV. Monster in His Eyes was a mediocre read for me and it was mainly because of the idiotic heroine Karissa. With this book, however, I greatly appreciated being in Naz’s head and felt that it helped me understand him better. I also recognized that for the story to be entirely in his POV, the mystery and enigmatic part that made him so appealing in the first book would have to be sacrificed. And that was okay with me. What I got in return was so much better: a multifaceted Naz. Not just the killer side of him, but the human side as well. No matter how badass or cold the man could be, this book showed that there is a layer of vulnerability to his character.

description

Aside from the 5 star prologue, the first 40% of the book seriously tested my patience. It seemed like both Karissa & Naz were playing the waiting game…just waiting for something or someone to interfere that would kickstart yet another argument and I was especially sick of Karissa brushing off Naz’s efforts. It took great patience and effort on my part to not DNF. I’m really glad I kept reading because after the 40% mark, things picked up and I was totally with these characters. Reading the story from Naz’s POV accomplished what I thought would be impossible: I actually sympathized for Karissa. Through Naz’s eyes, I feel like she did mature a bit and learned from her experiences in book 1. The sex scenes were scorching and wickedly hot, but this time around there was heartfelt emotion as well, something that was lacking in the first book.

description

For me, reading books has always been how the book made me feel, think, etc…But this book really placed me in the characters’ shoes. I personally didn’t like Karissa, yet through Naz’s eyes I understood why he found her youth and naïveté appealing. I personally didn’t like some of Naz’s actions, but through his eyes, I could at least understand his motivations. A book that could make me consider the characters’ feelings and thoughts besides my own is a well-written book IMO. That’s not to say that Naz has completely justified himself or is a good man in disguise…because I’m not so sure he is nor would I want him to be in this case ;)

description

Torture to Her Soul is the second book in this 2-part series and isn’t a standalone. You must read Monster in His Eyes first.

My review for Monster in His Eyes

P.S. I freaking love the epilogue and bonus scene! Made me tear up <3
65 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Torture to Her Soul.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 29, 2014 – Started Reading
September 29, 2014 – Shelved
September 29, 2014 – Shelved as: christine-fan-club
September 29, 2014 – Shelved as: dark-reads
September 29, 2014 – Shelved as: i-trust-my-friends
September 29, 2014 –
34.0% "I feel like this book is going in circles...bored! Zzzzzzzzzz"
September 30, 2014 –
100.0% "Another time I'm glad I didn't DNF! I liked this one more than the first despite its very slow start!"
September 30, 2014 – Shelved as: alpha-heroes
September 30, 2014 – Shelved as: choke-dat-ho
September 30, 2014 – Shelved as: dark-taboo-forbidden-reads
September 30, 2014 – Shelved as: contemporary-duckie
September 30, 2014 – Shelved as: new-adult-express
September 30, 2014 – Shelved as: oops-let-s-do-it-again-romance
September 30, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 94 (94 new)


Rachel Awesome review! Glad to hear you loved it! I am about to start the first book in this series soon!


message 2: by .Karéz. (new) - added it

.Karéz. Wonderful review, Feifei :)
Now you made me want to read it!! <3


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Rachel wrote: "Awesome review! Glad to hear you loved it! I am about to start the first book in this series soon!"

Thanks Rachel! You might find book 1 to be a bit bumpy but hang in there! Happy reading :)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Karéz wrote: "Wonderful review, Feifei :)
Now you made me want to read it!! <3"


LOL thanks Karez! Well are ya? ;)


message 5: by Jasmine (new) - added it

Jasmine HOMG. Such a heartfelt review, Feifei! ♥♥♥ Reading the story from Naz’s POV accomplished what I thought would be impossible: I actually sympathized for Karissa. You seriously got my interest piqued there for sure!! Wow looks like I have to give this one a shot then :) Glad you enjoyed it! :D


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Stunning review, Feifei! Glad to see you enjoyed this book more than the first =)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Jasmine wrote: "HOMG. Such a heartfelt review, Feifei! ♥♥♥ Reading the story from Naz’s POV accomplished what I thought would be impossible: I actually sympathized for Karissa. You seriously got my interest piqued..."

You're too sweet but thanks so much friend!! It's a much better book than the first one. You'll like it much more! ;)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Sammy☆Smitten With Book Heroes☆彡 wrote: "Stunning review, Feifei! Glad to see you enjoyed this book more than the first =)"

Me too! Thanks Sammy! :D


Rachel I heard! But it's safe for me and that's all that matters to me :D thanks babe!


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Rachel wrote: "I heard! But it's safe for me and that's all that matters to me :D thanks babe!"

LOL! In that case, enjoy! :D


message 11: by .Karéz. (new) - added it

.Karéz. Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Karéz wrote: "Wonderful review, Feifei :)
Now you made me want to read it!!

LOL thanks Karez! Well are ya? ;)"


Yes I will >_> although will be needing a strong drink to tolerate karissa
I feel a headache already!! :p


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Karéz wrote: "Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Karéz wrote: "Wonderful review, Feifei :)
Now you made me want to read it!!

LOL thanks Karez! Well are ya? ;)"

Yes I will >_> although will be needing a strong ..."


LOL! I'll hold your hand! ;) ♥


message 13: by .Karéz. (new) - added it

.Karéz. Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Karéz wrote: "Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Karéz wrote: "Wonderful review, Feifei :)
Now you made me want to read it!!

LOL thanks Karez! Well are ya? ;)"

Yes I will >_> although will be nee..."


<3 I will appreciate it :) ..x


message 14: by -ya (new) - added it

-ya hehe...your 4-stars rating just encourages me to read this sequel:] Looking forward to Naz's POV :D


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Karéz wrote: "Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Karéz wrote: "Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Karéz wrote: "Wonderful review, Feifei :)
Now you made me want to read it!!

LOL thanks Karez! Well are ya? ;)"

Yes ..."


♥ ♥


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) ~亞.Ya wrote: "hehe...your 4-stars rating just encourages me to read this sequel:] Looking forward to Naz's POV :D"

LOL! Hope you like it :D


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Wonderful review! Happy to see you enjoyed this one even more. I still have this on my never ending TBR LOL


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Lkay ❇✾The one-click buy button addict❇✾ wrote: "Wonderful review! Happy to see you enjoyed this one even more. I still have this on my never ending TBR LOL"

Bahaha thanks Lana! :D


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Terrific review friend.....love your pics!


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) J *I did it all for the nookie.The book nookie* wrote: "Terrific review friend.....love your pics!"

Thanks J! :D


Christy Fabulous review, hun! I agree- LOVED the epilogue! <3


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Christy wrote: "Fabulous review, hun! I agree- LOVED the epilogue! <3"

Thanks so much Christy! :) xx


message 23: by Beverly (new) - added it

Beverly Awesome review Feifei!


Rachel Reads Ravenously Another great review Feifei! xoxo


message 25: by Assenette (new)

Assenette Great review!!


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Beverly wrote: "Awesome review Feifei!"

Thanks Bev! <3


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Rachel (Reads Ravenously) wrote: "Another great review Feifei! xoxo"

Thanks Rachel! :D


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Assenette wrote: "Great review!!"

Thanks Assenette! :)


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ wonderful review Feifei!


Chelsea Loved your review Feifei! loved that what you've written are purely about how you feel about the book. Glad the story picked up after the 40% mark. I have extend my patience when reading this =)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Wonderful review Feifei! = ))


Amy | Foxy Blogs Superb review


aksana  -  4 - 8 - 15 - 16 - 23 - 42 - Great review Feifei :) I'm really considering to read it now :D I prefer male POV anyway.. Unfortunately I know from experience that I wont enjoy it as much because its been a long time for me since I read book 1 :D Damn, why couldnt I wait? :D


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Fabulous review, Babe xxx I'm ecstatic that you enjoyed it in the end!!! :D


message 35: by Kirsten (new)

Kirsten Awesome and amazing review Feifei! Usually it's the other way around for me...I usually get less of an impression of the heroine through male POV. So now I'm definitely more interested. Glad you loved Naz! Way to power through girl! :)


Mysza Fantastic review Lady!


message 37: by Baba (new)

Baba  I always enjoy ogling Mr. Fassbender. :)
Wonderful review, Feifei! <3


message 38: by Brandi (new) - added it

Brandi Awesome review, Feifei! :)


message 39: by Barbara (new)

Barbara Wonderful review, Feifei :)


✦❋Arianna✦❋ Wonderful review, Feifei!!:)xx


Penelope ✘ that awkward girl that doesn't go here ✘ Great review, Feifei! I'm glad this one picked up for you after the 40% mark! :D


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) ✽ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ✽ wrote: "wonderful review Feifei!"

Thanks Sharon! xoxo


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Chelsea Holder wrote: "Loved your review Feifei! loved that what you've written are purely about how you feel about the book. Glad the story picked up after the 40% mark. I have extend my patience when reading this =)"

Hehe thanks Chelsea! It's hard to write about the plot when it's the second book in the series and everything could be spoiled.


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Wonderful review Feifei! = ))"

Thanks Sue! :D


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Superb review"

Thanks Amy! x


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) aksana - 4 - 8 - 15 - 16 - 23 - 42 - wrote: "Great review Feifei :) I'm really considering to read it now :D I prefer male POV anyway.. Unfortunately I know from experience that I wont enjoy it as much because its been a long time for me sinc..."

LOL thanks Aksana! You could always re-read :P :P


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Christine The Dark Romance Junkie *Mafia Princess* wrote: "Fabulous review, Babe xxx I'm ecstatic that you enjoyed it in the end!!! :D"

Me too! Thanks babe xoxoxoxo


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Kirsten wrote: "Awesome and amazing review Feifei! Usually it's the other way around for me...I usually get less of an impression of the heroine through male POV. So now I'm definitely more interested. Glad you lo..."

Thanks so much Kirsten! Being in Naz's POV was so much better than reading from the heroine's perspective :D


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Mysza wrote: "Fantastic review Lady!"

Thanks girlie! <3


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Baba ♥♥♥ Tyler, Marcus, Archer, Dean, Adrian, Dan & Hunter wrote: "I always enjoy ogling Mr. Fassbender. :)
Wonderful review, Feifei! <3"


Bahahaha! Me too ;) Thanks Baba! :D


« previous 1
back to top