Luís C.'s Reviews > Admirável Mundo Novo

Admirável Mundo Novo by Aldous Huxley
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
34132356
Hallucinogenic Drugs, Virtual Sex, Alienated People. Brave New World is a futuristic novel, traced by Aldous Huxley, who was considered one of the greatest prophetic writers of the 20th century; Aldous, who wrote about the effect of LSD and mescaline, brought from his hallucinogenic sessions ideas that were at the very least intriguing, so much so that some renowned scientists at the time chose him for research into the effect of hallucinogens on humans.
Aldous used drugs, had hallucinations and an assistant was taking notes on his way back from his delirium began to write without stopping, producing works like this and others like Island, plus also the Point Counter Point work, all taken as maximum of the author works.
In Brave New World, Aldous describes a perfect society, possibly located in Europe, that was dominated by a single ruler, where the state distributed a drug called SOMA to the citizens, and all had a very calm life, without stress and that helped in the discipline of all inhabitants; In addition to this collective doping strategy, the state provided cinemas where the audience was connected to the sensory terminals and accompanied the films knowing sensations, taste and smell coming directly from the screen; the sex was divided into two parts, one for pleasure and another for prosecution, the latter depended on a state authorization and the first was free since there was no carnal copulation, ie there was no direct contact between people, which eliminated the carnal intercourse of relationships, connecting to special terminals, conveyed to each other the sensations of sex, through the mind and not of the carnal body.
Several children were born in a test tube, adapting them to future situations, those who were working in the basement were raised from a fetus in a dark room, others who would be soldiers, were taught by electroshocks not to appreciate nature, flowers and wild animals.
The fascination of this literature, beyond the context, is that Aldous described all this writing around the year 1913, when the world was still preparing for the first great world war, trench warfare, without any technology at all. No one dared to think, much less talk about test-tube children and sensory terminals were unimaginable, mankind had barely gotten used to the use of the telephone, there was no television, cinema was a work recently released by the genius Chaplin, still in black and white and mute.
In the book, Aldous makes special mention of a region that would have been shielded from the power of the state, where wholly savage people lived, preserving customs of food, sex, and freedom unrelated to the present stage, this paradisiacal place, described by Huxley, in that fiction written in the moments of his hallucination, was Brazil, with its forests and people.
100 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Admirável Mundo Novo.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 28, 2014 – Shelved
September 28, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
August 4, 2015 – Shelved as: on-my-own
May 6, 2016 – Shelved as: waiting
May 6, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
August 3, 2016 – Shelved as: science-fiction
December 11, 2016 – Shelved as: what-s-next
December 21, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
April 6, 2018 – Started Reading
April 6, 2018 –
page 17
5.63%
April 7, 2018 –
page 34
11.26%
April 7, 2018 –
page 51
16.89% "O Sr. Foster ficou desiludido.
- Pelo menos uma olhadela à Sala de Decantação - suplicou.
- Seja - o director sorriu indulgentemente. - Apenas uma olhadela."
April 8, 2018 –
page 68
22.52% "O D. I. C. olhou-o com nervosismo. Corriam estranhos rumores acerca de velhos livros interditos, escondidos num cofre-forte do gabinete do administrador. Bíblias, poesia - só Ford sabia!"
April 9, 2018 –
page 92
30.46% "Lentamente, majestosamente, com um leve zunido de máquinas, os transportadores avançavam à razão de trinta e três centímetros por hora. Na obscuridade vermelha, inúmeros rubis cintilavam."
April 10, 2018 –
page 107
35.43% "Helmholtz Watson ouviu-o com um certo desconforto.
«Pobre Bernard!», pensou. Mas, ao mesmo tempo, sentiu uma certa vergonha pelo seu amigo. Teria desejado que Bernard desse provas de um pouco mais de amor-próprio."
April 10, 2018 –
page 122
40.4% "(..) Saíra dessa penumbra vermelha para voltar ao brilho vulgar da electricidade, com uma autopercepção intensificada ao ponto de o fazer sofrer um martírio. Sentia-se miseravelmente, totalmente infeliz e talvez (os olhos de Fifi eram o seu acusador), talvez fosse por sua própria culpa. - Uma maravilha - repetiu. Mas a única coisa em que pôde pensar foi na sobrancelha de Morgana."
April 11, 2018 –
page 142
47.02% "- Eles não conseguem aprender - disse o piloto de uniforme verde, apontando para os esqueletos no solo abaixo deles. - Nunca conseguirão - e riu, como se isso representasse um triunfo pessoal sobre os animais electrocutados."
April 11, 2018 –
page 159
52.65% "(..) Apesar de que eles nunca lhe permitiram que fizesse tudo o que faziam os outros garotos. O que, por um lado, foi muito bom, pois facilitou-me o trabalho de o condicionar um pouco. Mas não calcula como isso é difícil. Há tantas coisas que eu não sei; nem me compete saber. Quer dizer, se um garoto lhe pergunta como funciona um helicóptero, quem fez o mundo, pois aí está! (..)"
April 12, 2018 –
page 178
58.94% "- Oh admirável mundo novo! - voltou a repetir - Oh admirável mundo novo que encerra criaturas tais! .. Partamos imediatamente.
- Você tem às vezes uma maneira esquisita de falar - disse Bernard contemplando, espantado e perplexo, o rapaz. - E, em todo o caso, não faria melhor esperar até o ter visto, a esse mundo novo?"
April 13, 2018 –
page 211
69.87% "Limpando os olhos, Lenina atravessou o terraço até ao elevador. Enquanto descia para o vigésimo sétimo andar, tirou o seu frasco de soma. Um grama, decidiu, não chegará; o seu desgosto pesava mais que um grama. Mas se tomasse dois gramas, corria o risco de não acordar a horas na manhã seguinte. (..)"
April 13, 2018 –
page 238
78.81% "Com infinitas precauções, entreabriu a porta um meio centímetro; arriscou uma espreitadela pela frincha e animou-se ao ver o aposento vazio; abriu um pouco mais, passou a cabeça pela abertura; e finalmente entrou no aposento na ponta dos pés. Demorou-se alguns segundos, com o coração a pulsar violentamente, escutando; depois correu para a porta de entrada, abriu-a, esgueirou-se por ela, fechou-a e fugiu. (..)"
April 14, 2018 –
page 257
85.1% "E um polícia de máscara de porco precipitou-se através do compartimento e pôs a mão no ombro do rapaz.
Bernard voltou-se com uma expressão de inocência indignada. Fugir? Não lhe tinha passado pela cabeça semelhante ideia."
April 14, 2018 –
page 271
89.74% "O administrador manifestou a sua aprovação com um sinal de cabeça.
- A sua coragem agrada-me, Sr. Watson. Agrada-me extraordinariamente. Tanto quanto a desaprovo oficialmente. - Sorriu. - Que pensaria das ilhas Falkland?
- Sim, parece-me que me servirão - concordou Helmholtz. - E agora, se me dá licença, vou ver o que é feito desse pobre Bernard."
April 15, 2018 –
page 282
93.38%
April 16, 2018 – Shelved as: 1001-done
April 16, 2018 – Shelved as: uk-and-related
April 16, 2018 – Shelved as: antigona
April 16, 2018 – Finished Reading
September 19, 2018 – Shelved as: le-monde-100
December 1, 2018 – Shelved as: reading-the-world
August 19, 2019 – Shelved as: 20th-century

Comments Showing 1-26 of 26 (26 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by kian (new)

kian thank you from your recommend Luís :)


message 2: by HBalikov (new)

HBalikov "The fascination of this literature, beyond the context, is that Aldous described all this writing around the year 1913, when the world was still preparing for the first great world war, trench warfare, without any technology at all. No one dared to think, much less talk about test-tube children and sensory terminals were unimaginable, mankind had barely gotten used to the use of the telephone,.."

Excellent observations!


message 3: by Rui (new) - added it

Rui Conceição Silva Obrigado pela recomendação :) Irei tentar lê-lo logo que possível. Um abraço


Luís C. kian wrote: "thank you from your recommend Luís :)"

:)


Luís C. HBalikov wrote: ""The fascination of this literature, beyond the context, is that Aldous described all this writing around the year 1913, when the world was still preparing for the first great world war, trench war..."

I will have to read it again, because I really liked it ... and there are, for me, things to remember, probably ...


Luís C. Rui wrote: "Obrigado pela recomendação :) Irei tentar lê-lo logo que possível. Um abraço"

De nada .. Um Abraço. Luís.


message 7: by Lilo (new)

Lilo Thanks for the recommendation, Luis.

I like your review, but the book isn't for me. I don't read sci fi.

Btw, too bad that our present wannabe-dictator doesn't read. Virtual sex might be for him. Could keep him out of trouble with porn stars and Moscow prostitutes. Or maybe not. Might not have the option of certain perversions.


Luís C. Lilo wrote: "Thanks for the recommendation, Luis.

I like your review, but the book isn't for me. I don't read sci fi.

Btw, too bad that our present wannabe-dictator doesn't read. Virtual sex might be for him...."


Well, that's a great point of view. He's a mercenary, in the true meaning of the word..


message 9: by Lilo (new)

Lilo Luís wrote: "Lilo wrote: "Thanks for the recommendation, Luis.

I like your review, but the book isn't for me. I don't read sci fi.

Btw, too bad that our present wannabe-dictator doesn't read. Virtual sex migh..."


He is worse than that. He is human trash. Make sure you read "Fire and Fury". (I am presently half into this book.)


Luís C. Lilo wrote: "Luís wrote: "Lilo wrote: "Thanks for the recommendation, Luis.

I like your review, but the book isn't for me. I don't read sci fi.

Btw, too bad that our present wannabe-dictator doesn't read. Vir..."


So many books, so little time .. sorry ..


David Fabulous review. Truly remarkable fit that time period.


Luís C. David wrote: "Fabulous review. Truly remarkable fit that time period."

Sure, David..


message 13: by Luvtoread (new)

Luvtoread Great review again, Luis! Thanks so much for your recommendation!!


Luís C. Luvtoread wrote: "Great review again, Luis! Thanks so much for your recommendation!!"

Thank you ..


Paula M. 🎶🎶 Newspaper taxis appear on the shore / waiting to take you away 🎶🎶
Ahhhh... Então metade ou mais de metade do 'mérito ' não é , então, de Huxley , mas das visões alucinogénicas . Sem o LSD a '(dis) torcer-lhe' os neurónios provavelmente teria escrito um rascunho..zito. Fico sempre a pensar ...


Luís C. Paula M. wrote: "🎶🎶 Newspaper taxis appear on the shore / waiting to take you away 🎶🎶
Ahhhh... Então metade ou mais de metade do 'mérito ' não é , então, de Huxley , mas das visões alucinogénicas . Sem o LSD a '(di..."


Sim. Por variadíssimas vezes, as drogas alteram o nosso estado de espírito, o modo de pensar e de enfrentar a vida de outra forma .. (de uma forma horrível, posso mesmo dizer ..)


message 17: by Joe (new)

Joe Krakovsky Great review, Luis. This reminds me of Mary Shelley's "Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus" first published in 1818, a mere three years after Waterloo.


Luís C. Joe wrote: "Great review, Luis. This reminds me of Mary Shelley's "Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus" first published in 1818, a mere three years after Waterloo."

Frankenstein's Mary Shelley - I don't even liked it. Simple tasteful.
Modern Prometheus - I think I don't ever read that .. (once upon a time, I'll read it, for sure ..)


message 19: by Joe (new)

Joe Krakovsky Luís wrote: "Joe wrote: "Great review, Luis. This reminds me of Mary Shelley's "Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus" first published in 1818, a mere three years after Waterloo."

Frankenstein's Mary Shelley..."


The point I was trying to make was that she was not a scientist yet wrote pretty good science fiction long ago. Let's see, she talked about organ transplants and galvanism, which reminds me of the doctors attaching the paddles and yelling "Clear!"


message 20: by John (new)

John Farebrother One of those famous books I've never read. Must get round to it.


Paula M. ' variadíssimas vezes?' ....' o nosso estado ' ...hum, conta lá as tuas alucinações😛

Once upon a time..🍄🍄 ✨💫( era uma vez ...)


Luís C. Joe wrote: "Luís wrote: "Joe wrote: "Great review, Luis. This reminds me of Mary Shelley's "Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus" first published in 1818, a mere three years after Waterloo."

Frankenstein's..."


ok .. I've seeing you're getting in ..


Luís C. John wrote: "One of those famous books I've never read. Must get round to it."

go for it ..


Luís C. Paula M. wrote: "' variadíssimas vezes?' ....' o nosso estado ' ...hum, conta lá as tuas alucinações😛

Once upon a time..🍄🍄 ✨💫( era uma vez ...)"


bem .. eu só oiço pelas notícias que passam nas televisões e derivados (vulgo mass media) ..


Paula M. Tu tens piada :D


message 26: by Luís (last edited Apr 18, 2018 03:35PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Luís C. Paula M. wrote: "Tu tens piada :D"

Já ouve quem me chamasse de palhaço .. lol .. mas não vou individualizar .. não vale a pena bater nas teclas .. :)


back to top