Paul's Reviews > The Brothers Karamazov

The Brothers Karamazov by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3838124
's review
Jun 06, 2010

it was amazing

Yeah, definitely one of the best books ever.

flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Brothers Karamazov.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 6, 2010 – Started Reading
June 6, 2010 – Shelved
June 6, 2010 –
page 100
12.58%
July 31, 2010 –
page 115
14.47%
August 3, 2010 –
page 127
15.97%
August 6, 2010 –
page 163
20.5% "It's picking up now that I've gotten into the flow of things."
August 13, 2010 –
page 180
22.64%
August 20, 2010 –
page 203
25.53% "Chernomazov, I get it! My terrible Ukrainian is coming in handy!"
September 4, 2010 –
page 223
28.05%
September 12, 2010 –
page 236
29.69% "Alyosha has a habit (heh) of running away at the end of every convers----enough! I must find Dimitri!"
September 19, 2010 –
page 265
33.33% "Well good ol' Alyoshenka hasn't found Dimitri, but he did get a paradigm-shifting talk from Ivan. "The Grand Inquisitor" for future reference. And in the end, Lyosha continues his streak of running somewhere at the end of each chapter."
October 9, 2010 –
page 295
37.11% "Zosima nooo! Good thing Lyosha wrote this stuff down!"
November 15, 2010 –
page 313
39.37%
November 30, 2010 –
page 365
45.91%
January 9, 2011 –
page 445
55.97% "One ladjak doesn't make a Poland."
January 17, 2011 –
page 472
59.37% ""Eh, gentlemen, why pick on such little things: how, when, why, and precisely this much money and not that much, and all that claptrap ... if you keep on, it'll take you three volumes and an epilogue to cram it all in." - Dostoevsky is pretty meta."
January 22, 2011 –
page 500
62.89% ""Yet he himself felt that he could hardly hold himself upright, and at times everything seemed to start swimming and turning before his eyes. 'A little more and I'll probably start raving,' he thought to himself." - About 500 pages too late for that thought Mitya..."
February 1, 2011 –
page 563
70.82% ""But, good heavens, the classics have been translated into all languages, therefore there was absolutely no need for Latin in order to study the classics, they needed it only as a police measure and to dull one's faculties." *reads BK in English*"
February 20, 2011 –
page 612
76.98%
March 28, 2011 –
page 747
93.96% "Let other nations have the letter and punishment, we have the spirit and meaning, the salvation and regeneration of the lost. And if so, if such indeed are Russia and her courts, then-- onward, Russia!"
March 28, 2011 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-1 of 1) (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Daveski (new)

Daveski One of my favorites, too. It's been about 7 years since I've read it, so I think I'm due for a re-read soon.


back to top