Luís C.'s Reviews > O Deus das Pequenas Coisas

O Deus das Pequenas Coisas by Arundhati Roy
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
34132356
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: on-my-own, mil-folhas, favourites, india, 1001-done, female-writers, reading-the-world, 20th-century

The God of Small Things, by Arundhati Roy, is an amazing book. It takes place in a town in India called Ayemenem. It is about a family and how they deal with their day to day life. Rahel and Estha, the main characters, are twins who are always getting into some kind of trouble with their mom, Ammu. It tells about how their life is in India, and how their government and their society work. They own a Pickle factory so Rahel and Estha's family is known as a "touchable" family. Since they are touchables they are not allowed to talk to or have anything to do with the "untouchables." You will later find out that this is a problem in the story. This story tells about how they grow up with the problems that they had when they were little, like when one of the characters gets sexually abused, he has to deal with it his whole life, and it tells about his struggle. This book is a page turner, and is easy to read. It sometimes gets confusing because some of the chapters are flashbacks. I would recommend this book more to girls, but boys would enjoy it also.
65 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read O Deus das Pequenas Coisas.
Sign In »

Quotes Luís Liked

Arundhati Roy
“That's what careless words do. They make people love you a little less.”
Arundhati Roy, The God of Small Things

Arundhati Roy
“This was the trouble with families. Like invidious doctors, they knew just where it hurt.”
Arundhati Roy, The God of Small Things


Reading Progress

September 18, 2014 – Shelved
September 18, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
September 18, 2014 – Shelved as: on-my-own
May 6, 2016 – Shelved as: waiting
May 6, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
December 11, 2016 – Shelved as: what-s-next
December 21, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
April 19, 2018 – Started Reading
April 19, 2018 –
page 40
11.46% "Que tudo começou realmente na época em que as Leis do Amor foram feitas. As leis que estipulavam quem devia ser amado, e como.
E quanto."
April 20, 2018 –
page 68
19.48% "Poucos meses depois, Miss Mitten foi atropelada por uma carrinha do leite em Hobart, na estrada junto a um campo de críquete, e morreu. Os gémeos viram um secreto sinal de justiça no facto de a carrinha do leite estar a fazer marcha-atrás."
April 20, 2018 –
page 94
26.93% "Uma lua diurna, enorme e pálida, estava suspensa no céu e ia para onde eles iam. Tão cheia como a barriga de um verdadeiro bebedor de cerveja."
April 21, 2018 –
page 100
28.65% "O silêncio agarrou nas suas saias e esgueirou-se, como a Super-mulher, pela parede escorregadia do quarto de banho.
Estha colocou as roupas molhadas numa bacia e começou a lavá-las com sabão azul brilhante e esfarelento."
April 22, 2018 –
page 130
37.25% "Quando se fartaram de esperar, os cheiros do jantar treparam pelas cortinas acima e escaparam-se pelas janelas da Rainha do Mar para dançar pela noite dentro sobre o mar cheirando-a-jantar.
Eram duas menos dez."
April 22, 2018 –
page 142
40.69% "- Percebem, o que eles fazem é ..
Isto foi apenas uns dias antes de ela morrer.
Sophie Mol.
Bebedora-de-dedais.
A que dá sobressaltos dentro do caixão.

Chegou no voo Bombaim-Cochim. De chapéu, calças à boca de sino e Amada desde o Princípio."
April 23, 2018 –
page 172
49.28% "Rahel ficou ali com os seus cadernos de Sabedoria esfarrapados. Na varanda da frente de uma casa velha, sob uma cabeça de bisonte com olhos de vidro, onde, anos antes, no dia em que Sophie Mol chegou, foi representado Bem-vinda a Casa, Querida Sophie Mol.
Tudo pode mudar num dia."
April 23, 2018 –
page 200
57.31% "Os despojos terrestres da Pickles e Conservas Paraíso.
Onde, há muito tempo, no dia em que Sophie Mol chegou, o Embaixador E. Pelvis mexera num pote de compota escarlate e pensara Dois Pensamentos. Onde um segredo vermelho em forma-de-manga foi conservado em pickle, hermeticamente fechado e arruinado.
É verdade. Tudo pode mudar num dia."
April 24, 2018 –
page 235
67.34% "O quarto a que, anos depois, Rahel haveria de regressar e ver um estranho silencioso a tomar banho. E a lavar a sua roupa com sabão azul brilhante e esfarelento.
De músculos rijos e cor-de-mel. Com segredos marinhos nos olhos. Uma gota de chuva prateada na sua orelha."
April 25, 2018 –
page 276
79.08% "Uma amizade que, infelizmente, ficaria suspensa. Incompleta. Malhando no ar sem terra firme. Uma amizade que nunca se converteu numa história, pelo que, muito mais rapidamente do que o devido, Sophie Mol se tornou numa Memória, enquanto a Perda de Sophie Mol cresceu robusta e viva. Como fruta da época. Época após época."
April 25, 2018 –
page 302
86.53% "Não se aperceberam de que havia mais alguém a dormir nas sombras. Tão solitário como um lobo. Uma folha castanha nas costas pretas. Que fazia com que as monções viessem no tempo certo."
April 26, 2018 –
page 331
94.84% "Chacko a arrombar portas mais não era do que o touro triste a zurzir preso à trela de Baby Kochamma. Foi dela a ideia de mandar Ammu fazer as malas e partir. De Devolver Estha."
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: mil-folhas
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: favourites
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: india
April 26, 2018 – Shelved as: 1001-done
April 26, 2018 – Finished Reading
May 5, 2018 – Shelved as: female-writers
December 1, 2018 – Shelved as: reading-the-world
August 19, 2019 – Shelved as: 20th-century

Comments Showing 1-10 of 10 (10 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Friar Stabin John Capuchin I read this novel last year. I am happy that the plot is my native state. But with the present social situation is not matching with the novel.


Luís C. Stabin wrote: "I read this novel last year. I am happy that the plot is my native state. But with the present social situation is not matching with the novel."

Yeah .. That's sadly, at least ..


Friar Stabin John Capuchin Yes the culture which divides people with caste and religion it is really sad thing. You said rightly Luis.


I. Mónica del P Pinzon Verano Luis, ¿Cómo estás(!)? Mira que hace años tenia este libro entre mis pendientes, pero una vez aquí en GR, decidí no leerlo; no me acuerdo que pero le puse. Mira que curioso, hace unos días terminé de leer un libro de realismo mágico, y me dejó tantas inquietudes que me dije "me figura leer el dios de las pequeñas cosas"...pues que bueno tu recomendación y encontrar estas lineas tuyas, para darle un empujoncito. Muchas gracias!


I. Mónica del P Pinzon Verano Ahhh, bueno, te quería yo también hacer una recomendación. Pero ya tienes a "La belleza es una herida" en "want to read". Por ahí le escribí unas lineas, cuando tu leas me gustaría conocer tu visión. Saludos :)


Luís C. I. Mónica del P wrote: "Luis, ¿Cómo estás(!)? Mira que hace años tenia este libro entre mis pendientes, pero una vez aquí en GR, decidí no leerlo; no me acuerdo que pero le puse. Mira que curioso, hace unos días terminé d..."

Buenas lecturas, Monica! Espero que lo disfrutes ..


David Good review; good book that I too enjoyed.


Luís C. David wrote: "Good review; good book that I too enjoyed."

Thanks David, for your comment ..


message 9: by Joe (new)

Joe Krakovsky Great review there Luis.


Luís C. Joe wrote: "Great review there Luis."

Thanks again, Joe.


back to top