Lady Vigilante (Feifei)'s Reviews > With the Father

With the Father by Jenni Moen
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2551178
Now live on AMAZON!!

5 stars!!

description

If there was ever a time I’m glad I didn’t DNF a book, it would be right now. I was 3 star cruising through a great part of the book and then the most crazy and wicked twist happened and now I see the entire story in a different light. One look at the cover, teasers, and blurb and my mind settled on a forbidden romance that had something to do with a priest and two sisters. In a way I was right, but in many other ways I was wrong. This book initially started out as a forbidden story, but evolved into something much grander than its original premise. I wasn’t looking for it, didn’t see it coming, and I’m not going to pinpoint exactly where in the plot that revelation came for me, but I will say that all the clues are there in the book, namely the dedication –

For anyone who’s ever second guessed a decision and wondered what if…

This book is all about the what if. About characters knowing their reality but still daring to wonder what would happen if their what if became true. Reading this book was literally like being in a dream, and like all dreams, we have to wake up at some point. That waking point was when my epiphany kicked in to what this book was really about. I think every reader needs to experience that euphoria, mindfuck, WTF moment, whatever you want to call it. So as much of a spoiler whore I am, I’m not about to ruin that experience for you.

I purposely didn’t mention the characters because it’s really not for me to say whose story this is really about, and I am SO very thankful the author didn’t name specifics in the blurb either. As readers, we are all going to have a different take on our reads and it will never be truer with this book, a story where multiple theories are plausible. Multiple what ifs.

Initially I intended to rate this book 4-4.5 stars because I spent most of the time wondering why I felt a puzzle piece was missing up until the big twist. However, I finished this super late last night and did nothing productive the next day. It was like I was disconnected from real life, constantly mulling over this story in my head. Very rarely do books (good or bad) make that kind of impact on me so to have my thoughts be consumed by this story long after the last page is flipped means a great deal to me. Even though I had minor issues here and there, the overall significance of this story made me bump up my rating.

Because of how ambitious and intricate this storyline is, I can only review the book in this vague way, sorry! It’s pure torture because my fingers are itching to spoil everything but my brain is saying to let everyone experience it on their own. Literally every word has a double meaning, and I think it’s the most wonderful feeling to be armed with the knowledge of what the book premise is truly about and then go back and find out where the author dropped hints in the story. I already know this is a book that will evoke different opinions from readers but I can guarantee that whether or not you end up enjoying the book, you’ll be thinking about it for days to come.

description

ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.
100 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read With the Father.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 7, 2014 – Shelved
September 7, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
September 16, 2014 – Started Reading
September 16, 2014 – Shelved as: arc
September 16, 2014 – Shelved as: read-to-review
September 16, 2014 –
39.0% "Can't put my finger on it just yet, but something is missing in this book."
September 17, 2014 –
100.0% "Holy shit!!!! No wonder I thought something was missing.....mindfuck!!!!! O__O"
September 17, 2014 – Shelved as: contemporary-duckie
September 17, 2014 – Shelved as: mind-fuck-me-some-more-will-ya
September 17, 2014 – Shelved as: third-time-s-the-charm-romance
September 17, 2014 – Shelved as: sweet-hero
September 17, 2014 – Shelved as: favorites
September 17, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 139 (139 new)


message 1: by Amber Rose (new)

Amber Rose Amazing review, Feifei. ♡


Sandy ღCoffee Addict Booksღ Awesome review Fei xx! Glad you liked it:)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Amber Rose wrote: "Amazing review, Feifei. ♡"

Thanks Amber! <3


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Sandyღ wrote: "Awesome review Fei xx! Glad you liked it:)"

I didn't expect to, but I did! Thanks Sandy :)


Lucy Wow amazing review, you've totally sold this book!


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Lucy wrote: "Wow amazing review, you've totally sold this book!"

Lol, thanks Lucy! If you read it, hope you like it! :D


message 7: by ♥Rachel♥ (new)

♥Rachel♥ Wonderful review, Lady Vigilante! :)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) ♥Rachel♥ wrote: "Wonderful review, Lady Vigilante! :)"

Thanks Rachel! :D


{ °♥️°Hillary91°♥️° } Wow, if you rated this 5 stats it must be great, so I'm going to put it n my tbr! Stunning review as always, Feifei!:)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Hillary91 wrote: "Wow, if you rated this 5 stats it must be great, so I'm going to put it n my tbr! Stunning review as always, Feifei!:)"

LOL thanks Hillary! It didn't start out as one but I'm glad it ended up as one. Really a thought-provoking book :D


message 11: by Anja (new) - added it

Anja This sounds really really good! Amazing review, Fei! ❤


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Anja wrote: "This sounds really really good! Amazing review, Fei! ❤"

It was terrific! Thanks Anja! <3


message 13: by Jasmine (new) - added it

Jasmine Wow! Terrific review sweetie! ❤️ Love your vagueness in this review, definitely makes me more intrigued to read this one! I'm always up for a good mindfuck read! Glad this was a winner for you! :D


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ OMG! Feifei I love your review and I am dying over here.. (view spoiler)


message 15: by Geri Reads (new)

Geri Reads Oh intriguing! Glad it was a 5-star read for you, Feifei! :)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Jasmine wrote: "Wow! Terrific review sweetie! ❤️ Love your vagueness in this review, definitely makes me more intrigued to read this one! I'm always up for a good mindfuck read! Glad this was a winner for you! :D"

Thanks a ton Jasmine! I think you'd like this one xoxoxo


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "OMG! Feifei I love your review and I am dying over here.. [spoilers removed]"

LOL thanks Sue! (view spoiler)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) ♥~♥Geri ~ the HEA junkie ♥~♥ wrote: "Oh intriguing! Glad it was a 5-star read for you, Feifei! :)"

Thanks Geri! :D :D


Elaine I'm intrigued now Feifei. As always fab review x


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Elaine wrote: "I'm intrigued now Feifei. As always fab review x"

Thanks so much Elaine! It's definitely a goodie xoxo


message 21: by Yomi M. (new)

Yomi M. Wonderful review Feifei!! This book sounds very intriguing.


Rachel Reads Ravenously Another amazing review Feifei! :)


message 23: by Jeynna (new) - added it

Jeynna ( The Romance Junkie) Ah.. I don't know what this is about but I got the feeling that, I should be terrified of reading this and I shouldn't but your review is just so amazing that I would give this a try once I can get my hands on this.:)


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Yomi Milanesa wrote: "Wonderful review Feifei!! This book sounds very intriguing."

Thanks Yomi! It's fab xx


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Rachel (Reads Ravenously) wrote: "Another amazing review Feifei! :)"

Thanks Rachel! <3


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Jeynna wrote: "Ah.. I don't know what this is about but I got the feeling that, I should be terrified of reading this and I shouldn't but your review is just so amazing that I would give this a try once I can get..."

LOL! Hmmm well I can say that you shouldn't be scared. Part of what made this work for me is that the book doesn't set out to trap you with its twists and turns...it feels natural I guess, and it's easy to forget about the mindfuck and just read the story. The romance part isn't raunchy as you'd expect from a premise with a priest hero. I'd really just go in blind to maximize your reading experience :D


message 27: by [deleted user] (new)

You made me curious, I love books with huge twists.


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Oana wrote: "You made me curious, I love books with huge twists."

Hehe! This was great! :)


message 29: by Ellie (new) - added it

Ellie Great review, Feifei! You got me really intrigued and I'm adding this to my TBR list right away :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "OMG! Feifei I love your review and I am dying over here.. [spoilers removed]"

LOL thanks Sue! [spoilers removed]"


Thanks Feifei!


message 31: by Mysza (new) - added it

Mysza Fantastic review Fei! Adding this one! xxx


message 32: by Ilze (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ilze Terrific review, Feifei! All you needed to say was that the book is about Priest and I am in ;D


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Awesome review, Babe!!! I can't wait to read this ♥♥


message 34: by Christy (new)

Christy Lovely review, doll! <3


~♡AB♡~ Sounds mighty interesting Feifei, great review :)


.Karéz. Awesome review, Feifei! so glad this was a 5 stars for you! :).


Lucinda - I JUST LOVE TO READ Great review Lady V!


Christie«SHBBblogger» Stunning review, Feifei!


message 39: by Baba (new)

Baba  Beautiful review, Feifei! Do you think I'd enjoy it?


message 40: by [deleted user] (new)

Lady V.

You have me in your clutches. I am going to read this in the days to come. I'll squeeze it in if I have to.


message 41: by Brandi (new) - added it

Brandi Terrific review, Feifei! Added it :)


*J* Too Many Books Too Little Time Awesome review friend! Consider me intrigued!! Can't wait to check this one out!


Val ⚓️ Shameless Non-Snowflake ⚓️ Intriguing review Feifei, I might have to check this one out!


Autumn Review I love this review!


Kirsten Kick ass review Feifei! I think you have me and everyone else intrigued! I loved that you were consumed by it the next day! So glad you didn't dnf! xo


✦❋Arianna✦❋ Awesome review, Feifei!:)<3


message 47: by Laylaw (new) - added it

Laylaw STUNNING review- You got me adding it to my TBR, awesome!


message 48: by Saffron (new)

Saffron Alright Feifei you are killing me here..I don't know how am I supposed to wait another 4 days to get my hands on this one...I am so freakin excited to read this and your gorgeous review did not help with my impatience...LOL! :D

Want this nowwww!


April You`ve sold me Feifei!!!! Such an intriging review :D


Nina Wonderful review dear! Definitely going in my tbr pile.


« previous 1 3
back to top