Melanie's Reviews > The Darkest Part of the Forest

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3030788
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: signed, favorites, read-in-2015, fae, fantasy, paranormal, young-adult, lgbtqiap, read-in-2019
Read 2 times. Last read September 16, 2019 to September 20, 2019.



[September 20th, 2019]:
The Darkest Part of the Forest is still a masterpiece in 2019, and I'm honestly overwhelmed with how much I love this story.

I read this for #FaerieAThon, which I cohosted with Jane, Kristin, & Alexa! ❤



[October 20th, 2015]:
“Once, there was a girl who vowed she would save everyone in the world, but forgot herself.”

This was such a whimsical and beautiful story about a sleepy little down named Fairfold, who has a pact with all the faeries that if the fae leave them alone, all the tourists are free game. But why would tourists want to visit this little town nestled in the forest? Oh, because a handsome horned fae boy is asleep in an unbreakable glass casket. Some visit because they do not believe in magic, some come because they do. Regardless of their beliefs or opinions, the tourists come.

The main character, Hazel, is a brave girl who tries to fight the evil fae with her brother. After a close scare, she makes a deal with the fae king of the forest for her brother to have his wish come true (view spoiler). She only had to trade seven years of her life that the king decides to take while she is asleep. So every night, Hazel does the king's bidding and wakes up in the morning, in her own bed, with no recollection on the night's events. Hazel is none the wiser, until the handsome horned fae boy is finally broken free of this glass casket.

One thing that kept sticking out to me was that there is a lot of "duos" in this book. For starters, it seems like each family has two children (Hazel/Ben, Jack/Carter, Severin/Sorrel). There are two side by side romances going on throughout the book (one f/m, one m/m). Both are wonderful, and leave you wanting more. Then a main story line is all about two powerful swords. Lastly, we are also given night Hazel verses day Hazel. There is lots of coupling and pairs throughout this impactful little story.

“We love until we do not. For us, love doesn't fade gradually. It snaps like a branch bent too far.”

I can't say too much more without giving away some amazing twists and turns, but this was such a good read. This is exactly the kind of fantasy book I like to read. This spoke to my heart and soul, and I enjoyed it immensely. Holly Black is such a wonderful writer, and her art of threading words together that will make you feel everything under the sun, is untouchable. I have loved and devoured everything she's ever written, and The Darkest Part of the Forest was no exception.

“I love like in the storybooks. I love you like in the ballads. I love you like a lightning bolt. I've loved you since the third month you came and spoke with me. I loved that you made me want to laugh. I loved the way you were kind and the way you would pause when you spoke, as though you were waiting for me to answer you. I love you and I am mocking no one when I kiss you, no one at all.”


I was also lucky enough to get this signed from B&N when it was first released this year.

Blog | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Youtube | Twitch
332 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Darkest Part of the Forest.
Sign In »

Quotes Melanie Liked

Holly Black
“We love until we do not. For us, love doesn't fade gradually. It snaps like a branch bent too far.”
Holly Black, The Darkest Part of the Forest


Reading Progress

September 6, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
September 6, 2014 – Shelved
February 13, 2015 – Shelved as: signed
October 20, 2015 – Started Reading
October 21, 2015 –
56.0% "This is so whimsical and beautiful. This book is exactly what I needed this month."
October 22, 2015 – Shelved as: favorites
October 22, 2015 – Finished Reading
November 17, 2015 – Shelved as: read-in-2015
November 17, 2015 – Shelved as: fae
January 7, 2016 – Shelved as: fantasy
January 7, 2016 – Shelved as: paranormal
February 9, 2016 – Shelved as: young-adult
March 5, 2016 – Shelved as: lgbtqiap
September 16, 2019 – Started Reading
September 19, 2019 – Shelved as: read-in-2019
September 20, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Navessa (new) - added it

Navessa Well, well, well. This looks awesome. Bumping it up on my TBR. Excellent review, Melanie ^_^


Melanie Navessa wrote: "Well, well, well. This looks awesome. Bumping it up on my TBR. Excellent review, Melanie ^_^"

Thanks, Cory. Your praise means so much to me. xo :]


Cillian Great review, Melanie. This is one of my most dear YA books. Funny you reviewed it, I was thinking about rereading it soon.
I loved that in this story (view spoiler). :D
All the feels...


Melanie Cillian wrote: "Great review, Melanie. This is one of my most dear YA books. Funny you reviewed it, I was thinking about rereading it soon.
I loved that in this story [spoilers removed]. :D
All the feels..."


Thank you so much, Cillian! Yeah, I just put in a request for an ARC of The Cruel Prince, and had to go back and reread this review older review (and fix an error)! I am so in love with Holly Black, it's not even funny! Ah, all the beautiful feels! <3 xo


Elle (ellexamines) I love this book so much


Melanie Elise wrote: "I love this book so much"

Right? Ahhh, it's everything! 💗


message 7: by Cillian (last edited May 06, 2017 11:06AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Cillian I just want to hug every user on this thread who loved this book so much and rampantly friend them all.
Sometimes, I grab this book from my shelf and cuddle it. No kidding.


Melanie Cillian wrote: "I just want to hug every user on this thread who loved this book so much and rampantly friend them all.
Sometimes, I grab this book from my shelf and cuddle it. No kidding."


Haha, I just love you, Cillian! Seriously, this book is everything. Seeing all these people get The Cruel Prince ARC just makes me want to reread this and cry and wait over and over until Jan 2018! ❤


Melanie Maddie wrote: "Stunning review, Lovely :D xo"

Thank you so very much, Maddie! You are too kind! ❤


Cindy S. Lovely review for a lovely book. This story was so refreshing and introduced me perfectly to magical realism I can't wait to pick up another book by Holly Black :)


Melanie Cindy S. wrote: "Lovely review for a lovely book. This story was so refreshing and introduced me perfectly to magical realism I can't wait to pick up another book by Holly Black :)"

Thank you, Cindy! I just finished The Cruel Prince last night, and not only is it my favorite Holly Black book, it is the best book I've read all year! 💗 xx


message 12: by Elle (new) - rated it 5 stars

Elle (ellexamines) GOD. THIS BOOK. MY FAVE.


Melanie Elise wrote: "GOD. THIS BOOK. MY FAVE."

THAT. WHISPER.

Lord, help me.

💗xx


message 14: by Sara (new) - rated it 4 stars

Sara Stevenson I read this for the first time this year, and I instantly fell in love with it. I’d already read TCP so I had an idea of what Holly Black’s writing style was like. But this book. Oh my pearls. 🖤


Michael Lee I love this book and this review AND your pictures!!!!!


back to top