debbicat ☮~Traveling Sister's Reviews > Rebecca

Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
12436728
One of my favorites. Haunting and beautiful. Unforgettable.

Ahhhhhh Manderley. I can picture it so easily. Wish I could go there.

Rebecca is thought to be Du Maurier's most famous and well-considered novel. It was first published in 1938 and received Britain's National Book Award. It was made into a movie in 1940 and that won the Academy award for best motion picture.

UPDATE: April 25, 2016 Re-Read with the Reading for Pleasure Book Club. Large buddy read. Looking forward to the discussion with friends in the group.

HAS to be the BEST opening sentence there ever was...."LAST NIGHT I dreamt I went to Manderley again."

"I stood by the iron gate leading to the drive, and for a while I could not enter for the way was barred to me."...."Then, like all dreamers, I was possessed of a sudden with supernatural powers and passed like a spirit through the barrier before me."

I don't think anything in this genre will ever top this read for me. The suspense, the house...The House! The coast. The un-named heroine... Rebecca...the first wife...Ms. Danvers - creepy Ms. Danvers.

Anyone questioning if they should give this a go. if it's their cuppa tea...if it lives up to the hype...question no longer. It delivers! It will haunt you and make you think about things for a long time to come.

Fascinating, brilliant, haunting, suspenseful, engaging - completely filled with everything you expect and want in a good gothic. Read it on a rainy day, read it on the train, read it by the beach, read it in your own backyard....it matters not where - just read it. Then come back here and tell me you did not love it.

A fun little note: for it's time...Alfred Hitchcock was making a movie and there is this one thing that happens...just a tiny little thing (or is it?) that was so shocking, well, Hitchcock changed it in the movie bc he thought the public would be outraged. In this day and age, probably not so much. But, it is fun trivia. Now I bet ya wanna read it and watch the movie. :-) The movie is good too!
18 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Rebecca.
Sign In »

Quotes debbicat ☮~Traveling Sister Liked

Daphne du Maurier
“Last night I dreamt I went to Manderley again.”
Daphne Du Maurier, Rebecca

Daphne du Maurier
“I suppose sooner or later in the life of everyone comes a moment of trial. We all of us have our particular devil who rides us and torments us, and we must give battle in the end.”
Daphne Du Maurier, Rebecca

Daphne du Maurier
“If only there could be an invention that bottled up a memory, like scent. And it never faded, and it never got stale. And then, when one wanted it, the bottle could be uncorked, and it would be like living the moment all over again.”
Daphne du Maurier, Rebecca


Reading Progress

August 26, 2014 – Shelved
August 26, 2014 – Shelved as: gothic-mystery-romance
August 26, 2014 – Shelved as: top-10
April 25, 2016 – Started Reading
April 25, 2016 – Shelved as: abc-doom-challenge
April 25, 2016 – Shelved as: gothic
April 25, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016-reads
April 25, 2016 – Shelved as: buddy-read
April 25, 2016 –
page 1
0.27% "This is a re-read for me. Excited to be reading with a big group in The Reading for Pleasure Book Club."
April 25, 2016 – Shelved as: used-bookstore-finds-treasures
April 25, 2016 – Shelved as: on-my-own-bookshelf
April 26, 2016 –
page 47
12.5%
April 26, 2016 –
page 47
12.5%
April 28, 2016 –
page 82
21.81%
April 29, 2016 –
page 119
31.65%
April 29, 2016 –
page 142
37.77% "Ch 13. I really don't want to put this down."
April 30, 2016 –
page 180
47.87%
May 7, 2016 –
page 269
71.54% "It's amazing what changes when you know you are loved."
May 14, 2016 –
page 282
75.0%
May 16, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-15 of 15 (15 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* I love Gothic fiction and this book seems really good. Did you like it a lot?


debbicat ☮~Traveling Sister It's one of my favorites!!! I think you'd like it. You should come over and join us on the gothic book club.


Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* I would love too but I didn't see any link to join. How do I join the group?


debbicat ☮~Traveling Sister K. Awesome. You will like it. Hang on and I'll send you an invite. I would enjoy seeing your posts.


Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* I went under these 2 groups but I don't see any join link to join. I've tried awhile ago and could never figure out how to join it. I don't see a link any where lol!


Mary Beth *Traveling Sister* Yeah! I figured it out Thanks so much!


Sara One of my favorites as well...almost anything she writes is wonderful. As first lines go, this is one book that implants its opener in your head and, for me, just that first line is enough to make you want to go on.


Lori Oooh! I loved this book too, Debbie! And Sara put it so well, you are hooked from the very first line of this book!


debbicat ☮~Traveling Sister Lori wrote: "Oooh! I loved this book too, Debbie! And Sara put it so well, you are hooked from the very first line of this book!"

Yes you are!!!!!!!!!


debbicat ☮~Traveling Sister Sara wrote: "One of my favorites as well...almost anything she writes is wonderful. As first lines go, this is one book that implants its opener in your head and, for me, just that first line is enough to make ..."

Yep!!


❀Julie Love this review, Debbie! My reading interest took a 180 after reading this book! I have read it twice (so unlike me) but have yet to see the movie...now I'm curious!


debbicat ☮~Traveling Sister ❀Julie wrote: "Love this review, Debbie! My reading interest took a 180 after reading this book! I have read it twice (so unlike me) but have yet to see the movie...now I'm curious!"

That is so funny, Julie! I think it is on you tube. You will have to watch in parts. It's pretty cool! Curious is good in this case!


message 14: by Kaya (new)

Kaya Purdie Don't know how I missed this one in all my literary travels but after your review, it has risen in my "to read" list.


debbicat ☮~Traveling Sister Kaya wrote: "Don't know how I missed this one in all my literary travels but after your review, it has risen in my "to read" list."

Good! I think everyone should read it. It is on my top 10 favorites list. I'd love to hear what you think when you get to it. I have so many reasons that I like it. We can discuss it once you've read. I have read it twice. Younger me and older me. Older me enjoyed it the most. But that is how it is often times, don't you think?


back to top