Amy | Foxy Blogs's Reviews > Lover at Last

Lover at Last by J.R. Ward
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9955253
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: 2014-books, august-2014, library2go
Recommended to Amy | Foxy Blogs by: Beverly

Bev and I have made it to book 11!!! Only one more book to go until we are all caught up. Since we made it this far I think we earned our Daggerized names->
Bhev & Fhoxy

When I originally found out that LOVER AT LAST was a m/m book I had told Bhev that I would skip this book because it's not a genre I read. But as I watched Qhuinn & Blay's story unfold throughout all the books I began anticipating this one. While I enjoyed Team QB and Layla's story I didn't really care for the other side stories happening in this book. I think if this 600 page book would have focused more on those three vampires I would have easily given this book 5 stars but that wasn't the case. Also QB had communication issues which could have easily been solved had they JUST talked with each other.

I think Sam Smith's song "Stay With Me" was written for QB.

Guess it's true
I'm not good
At a one night stand
But I still need love
Cos I'm just a man
These nights never seem to go to plan
I don't want you to leave
Will you hold my hand

Oh won't you
Stay with me
Cos you're
All I need
This ain't love
It's clear to see
But darling
Stay with me

Why am I so emotional?
No it's not a good look
Gain some self control
Deep down I know this never works
But you can lay with me
So it doesn't hurt
Love, after all, was universal.

description

Cheat sheet for the brotherhood :
Wrath: last pure-blood vampire in existence. Dark Lover(#1) The King (#12) {Wrath & Beth}
♥Beth♥: is (view spoiler) daughter. She's Wrath's shellan (wife) and is half-breed. She has a pet- kitty named, Boo.

Rhage: is the strongest and most beautiful of the Brothers. Nicknamed "Hollywood." Lover Eternal (#2) {Rhage & Mary}
♥Mary♥: when she meet Rhage she works at a legal office and volunteers for suicide hotline. She's Rhage's shellan. She has (view spoiler).

Zsadist: has a twin, Phury. Described as "ruined, not broken." Lover Awakened (#3) {Zsadist & Bella}
♥Bella♥: is Mary's neighbor. She has a friendship with Mary and John. Rehvenge is her older brother. She's Zsadist's shellan.

Butch/Dhestroyer: is the only human male ever to be allowed within the Brotherhood. Nickname "Cop." Lover Revealed (#4) {Butch & Marissa}
♥Marissa♥: is beautiful and has spent 300 years servicing the king with her blood. Sort of the King's shellan (there was nothing intimate between them). Unwanted. Finally becomes Butch's shellan.

Vishous: is the smartest Brother, and the one who is specially gifted/cursed. Lover Unbound (#5) {Vishous & Jane}
♥Jane♥: human surgeon who becomes the brotherhood's private surgeon.

Phury: Zsadist's twin brother and loyal to his brother. Lover Enshrined (#6) {Phury & Cormia}
♥Cormia♥: Chosen.

Rehvenge: brother-in-law to Zsadist. He's half symphath and owner of a night club. Drug lord and pimp. Lover Avenged (#7) {Rehvenge & Ehlena}
♥Ehlena♥: a nurse at Haver's clinic. Later works with Ehlena as a nurse for the brotherhood.

John Matthew/Tehrror: is mute and (view spoiler)Lover Mine (#8){JM & Xhex}
♥Xhex♥: a symphath assassin.

Dr. Manuel "Manny" Manello: is Chief of Surgery at St. Francis Hospital. Orthopedic surgeon. Lover Unleashed (#9){Manny & Payne}
♥Payne♥: V's twin and daughter of the Scribe Virgin and the Bloodletter.

Tohrment: best friends with Darius and JM's pseudo dad Lover Reborn (#10){Tohrment & Autumn}
(view spoiler).
♥No'One "Autumn"♥: Xhex's mom and a house servant. (view spoiler)
*Lassiter*: an angel to help set Tohr free from what is holding him back from moving on. Also a fan of reality TV.

Qhuinn: has mismatched eyes. Color-blind. Lover at Last (#11)

Blaylock/"Blay": gentlemanLover at Last (#11)

SERIES:
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1) by J.R. Ward Lover Eternal (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #2) by J.R. Ward Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #3) by J.R. Ward Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #4) by J.R. Ward Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #5) by J.R. Ward Lover Enshrined (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #6) by J.R. Ward Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #7) by J.R. Ward Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #8) by J.R. Ward Lover Unleashed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #9) by J.R. Ward Lover Reborn (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #10) by J.R. Ward Lover at Last (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #11) by J.R. Ward The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #12) by J.R. Ward The Shadows (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #13) by J.R. Ward
To find out when The Shadows will be released and if there will be more books in the series click here.

Novellas:
Father Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #6.5) by J.R. Ward
(#6.5)

Foxy Blogs

28 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Lover at Last.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 3, 2014 – Shelved
August 3, 2014 – Shelved as: to-read
August 20, 2014 – Started Reading
August 20, 2014 –
1.0% "YAY!!! Finally made it to this book.\n \n description"
August 21, 2014 –
29.0% ""Eight's a good number. A lucky number." \n \n description \n \n Yay, Qhuinn"
August 23, 2014 –
60.0% ""Your family is right here. Waiting for you...and we love you." \n \n description"
August 24, 2014 –
67.0% "With Qhuinn looking at him like that, he couldn't remember his own name. Blaysox? Blacklock? Blabberfox?\n \n description"
August 24, 2014 – Shelved as: 2014-books
August 24, 2014 – Shelved as: august-2014
August 24, 2014 – Shelved as: library2go
August 24, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-39 of 39 (39 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Lol, Enjoy! Love your over view of the characters xx


Rachel Reads Ravenously Qhuinn and Blay!

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Lol, Enjoy! Love your over view of the characters xx"

Thanks, Jxxx!!! It's needed with this long series. LOL


Amy | Foxy Blogs Rachel (Reads Ravenously) wrote: "Qhuinn and Blay!

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D"


Yay for Team QB, Rachel! I just wish the rest of the side stories had not been such a big part of this book. lol


message 5: by Renee (new)

Renee Awwwwe, Foxy Blogs!! Oh and great review! ;)


Rachel Reads Ravenously Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Rachel (Reads Ravenously) wrote: "
Yay for Team QB, Rachel! I just wish the rest of the side stories had not been such a big part of this book. lol"


That was actually my biggest issue with this book. I don't read a lot of the "bad guy" parts, so I felt like I read only half of the book.

Fab review friend! :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Renee wrote: "Awwwwe, Foxy Blogs!! Oh and great review! ;)"

Thanks, sweetie!!! *muah*


Amy | Foxy Blogs Rachel (Reads Ravenously) wrote: "That was actually my bigge..."

ME too...(I skim the "bad guy" parts)...unless they deal with Brotherhood otherwise I get a glazed over look when I read those parts. LOL I'm learning most people do the same as us. :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Excellent review Amy! = DD


Christy Fabulous review, Foxy! I would have loved if 100% of the book would have been Qhuinn and Blay but JR writes a ton of side stories in all the books lol! The King is the same way x


message 11: by Eliza (new)

Eliza Fantastic review hun!xo


message 12: by Jennifer (new)

Jennifer Kyle Congratulations and great review xx


message 13: by Mysza (new)

Mysza Awesome review Amy!


MELISSA *Mel Reader* Fabulous review Fhoxy! ;))xo


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ Wonderful review Fhoxy!! xo


Amy | Foxy Blogs SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Excellent review Amy! = DD"

Thank you, SueBee!!!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Christy wrote: "Fabulous review, Foxy! I would have loved if 100% of the book would have been Qhuinn and Blay but JR writes a ton of side stories in all the books lol! The King is the same way x"

Thank you, Christy!!! I know. :( I just wished this had of been more of their story. After 10 books about them I just needed MORE of JUST them. LOL


Amy | Foxy Blogs Eliza wrote: "Fantastic review hun!xo"

Thank you, Eliza! ♥ I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel with this series.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jennifer wrote: "Congratulations and great review xx"

Thanks, Jennifer!! feels weird to be almost caught up. If I had your super reading powers I would have been done a long time ago. xo


Amy | Foxy Blogs Mysza wrote: "Awesome review Amy!"

Thanks, Mysza!!! :) ♥


Amy | Foxy Blogs MELISSA wrote: "Fabulous review Fhoxy! ;))xo"

LOL! Thanks, Melissa!!! Fhoxy!!! ♥


message 22: by Savvina (new)

Savvina loooooveee your review,oh and this picture is.....seriously no words

ps.you give me the courage to continue reading this series,thank you Foxy ;-)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Shannie⭐️this Whore Loves BIG C##KS⭐️ wrote: "Wonderful review Fhoxy!! xo"

Thank you, Shannie!!! Thanks for using my daggerized name-> Fhoxy!!! It's like badge of honor


Amy | Foxy Blogs ♔Savvina♔-♔Hufflepuff Girl♔ wrote: "loooooveee your review,oh and this picture is.....seriously no words

ps.you give me the courage to continue reading this series,thank you Foxy ;-)"


Thanks, Savvina!!! Hang in there! Some books are better than others.
I love that family portrait!! (L-R: Z, Phury, Torh, King, Rhage, V, Butch). I wish I was creator of this piece of artwork but I'm not. ♥


message 25: by Savvina (new)

Savvina this artwork is seriously a masterpiece♥
btw I finished the second book,tonight I will start the third one,good luck to me ^_^


Amy | Foxy Blogs ♔Savvina♔-♔Hufflepuff Girl♔ wrote: "this artwork is seriously a masterpiece♥
btw I finished the second book,tonight I will start the third one,good luck to me ^_^"


YAY!!! I'll go look at your review!! :)

AND book 3 is really good! Ms. Ward nailed it with that book. Probably one of my favorite books of the series.


message 27: by Savvina (new)

Savvina Don't get too excited I was tired when I wrote it :(
anyway I am TOO excited for Z' story,he truly deserves a happy ending after all he went trough.I always liked him ^_^


Amy | Foxy Blogs ♔Savvina♔-♔Hufflepuff Girl♔ wrote: "Don't get too excited I was tired when I wrote it :(
anyway I am TOO excited for Z' story,he truly deserves a happy ending after all he went trough.I always liked him ^_^"


I loved your emotional review!! :) ♥
Enjoy Z. His story will capture your heart.


message 29: by Savvina (new)

Savvina thanks ♥


Beverly Awesome review Fhoxy! I love our BDB names!! xoxo


Amy | Foxy Blogs Bev - This GW is Team GoaH wrote: "Awesome review Fhoxy! I love our BDB names!! xoxo"

Ha ha!!! thanks! ♥


Amanda~ Shameless ~ I have been hearing about this series for months! Glad you girls are almost done!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Amanda~ Shameless ~ wrote: "I have been hearing about this series for months! Glad you girls are almost done!"

Thank you, Amanda! ♥ It's a beast of a series (long series and all the books are around 500 pages). o.O
I check them out from the library. The first book was written about 10 years ago so your library might have them.


Amanda~ Shameless ~ Amy (Foxy) wrote: "Amanda~ Shameless ~ wrote: "I have been hearing about this series for months! Glad you girls are almost done!"

Thank you, Amanda! ♥ It's a beast of a series (long series and all the books are arou..."


I am not sure I am up for that, I just started school again. I may when I get done. :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Amanda~ Shameless ~ wrote: "I am not sure I am up for that, I just started school again. I may when I get done. :)
"


Good luck with school this year! Yea, best to wait. They've been around for a long time and they'll be around long after you are done with school. Plus the author isn't done writing books for this series. So, I'll be old and grey and still reading about vampires later in life. LOL


Crazy for Books (Stephanie) Great review, Amy.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Crazy for Books (Stephanie) wrote: "Great review, Amy."

Thank you, Stephanie! ♥


Patty Belongs To Kellan~Jesse~Lautner~Miller~Jack~Racer~Rafe~Liam~Prince Nicholas~Hayes~Simon~Gianluca & Archer Great review Foxy!!
This one was a little tough for me, being that it had m/m in it and that is just not my thing.
Definitely not one of my favorites in the series!
xoxoxo


Amy | Foxy Blogs Patty❤️❤️Belongs To❤️Kellan Kyle❤️AND❤️Jesse Ward❤️❤️ wrote: "Great review Foxy!!
This one was a little tough for me, being that it had m/m in it and that is just not my thing.
Definitely not one of my favorites in the series!
xoxoxo"



Thanks, Patty!
Yea...I didn't think I'd read it when I started this series but watching their relationship grow over six or seven books I couldn't resit seeing how it all ended. :)


back to top