Amy | Foxy Blogs's Reviews > Lover Unleashed

Lover Unleashed by J.R. Ward
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9955253
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2014-books, 5-stars-2014, forbidden, library2go, summer-2014-5-stars, august-2014
Recommended to Amy | Foxy Blogs by: Beverly

Ms. Ward sure knows how to write forbidden romance and the proof is in this series. For those who haven't read any books from this series keep in mind these vampires always have insta love. Insta-love is something I hate but for some reason it doesn't bother me in this series. Go figure.

How do you eat an elephant? One bit at a time. This series is a beast. I started at the end of April working my way through it. Spending each weekend reading one book from this series with my book twin, Bev. We've spent a lot of time bonding over the Triple D threat -> deliciously descriptive dongs.

I love that we got glimpses of Qhuinn and Blay. When Bev and I started reading these books I informed her that I'm not a m/m reader and I will most likely skip book 11. FORGET THAT...I'm jonesing for their book now. One more book before we FINALLY get their love story.

I wasn't sure if I'd like Manny and Payne's love story since Manny wasn't one of the brothers but instead a human. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this book. Overall, for the series, I've given all the books at least 4 stars even though some books I really didn't care for (Butch, Phury and Rehv) because there were other stories going on within the book that brought the rating up for me. Had it just been the main story the book would have gotten a lower rating.

FORBIDDEN ROMANCE -> 'After all, you can't help who you fall for.'

description

Cheat sheet for the brotherhood :
Wrath: last pure-blood vampire in existence. Dark Lover(#1) The King (#12) {Wrath & Beth}
♥Beth♥: is (view spoiler) daughter. She's Wrath's shellan (wife) and is half-breed. She has a pet- kitty named, Boo.

Rhage: is the strongest and most beautiful of the Brothers. Nicknamed "Hollywood." Lover Eternal (#2) {Rhage & Mary}
♥Mary♥: when she meet Rhage she works at a legal office and volunteers for suicide hotline. She's Rhage's shellan. She has (view spoiler).

Zsadist: has a twin, Phury. Described as "ruined, not broken." Lover Awakened (#3) {Zsadist & Bella}
♥Bella♥: is Mary's neighbor. She has a friendship with Mary and John. Rehvenge is her older brother. She's Zsadist's shellan.

Butch/Dhestroyer: is the only human male ever to be allowed within the Brotherhood. Nickname "Cop." Lover Revealed (#4) {Butch & Marissa}
♥Marissa♥: is beautiful and has spent 300 years servicing the king with her blood. Sort of the King's shellan (there was nothing intimate between them). Unwanted. Finally becomes Butch's shellan.

Vishous: is the smartest Brother, and the one who is specially gifted/cursed. Lover Unbound (#5) {Vishous & Jane}
♥Jane♥: human surgeon who becomes the brotherhood's private surgeon.

Phury: Zsadist's twin brother and loyal to his brother. Lover Enshrined (#6) {Phury & Cormia}
♥Cormia♥: Chosen.

Rehvenge: brother-in-law to Zsadist. He's half symphath and owner of a night club. Drug lord and pimp. Lover Avenged (#7) {Rehvenge & Ehlena}
♥Ehlena♥: a nurse at Haver's clinic. Later works with Ehlena as a nurse for the brotherhood.

John Matthew/Tehrror: is (view spoiler)Lover Mine (#8){JM & Xhex}
♥Xhex♥: a symphath assassin.

Dr. Manuel "Manny" Manello: is Chief of Surgery at St. Francis Hospital. Orthopedic surgeon. Lover Unleashed (#9){Manny & Payne}
♥Payne♥: V's twin and daughter of the Scribe Virgin and the Bloodletter.

Tohrment: best friends with Darius and JM's pseudo dad Lover Reborn (#10)
♥Wellsie♥: is Tohrment's shellan. She has a special place in her heart for John. (view spoiler).

Qhuinn: has mismatched eyes. Color-blind. Lover at Last (#11)

Blaylock/"Blay": gentlemanLover at Last (#11)

SERIES:
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1) by J.R. Ward Lover Eternal (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #2) by J.R. Ward Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #3) by J.R. Ward Lover Revealed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #4) by J.R. Ward Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #5) by J.R. Ward Lover Enshrined (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #6) by J.R. Ward Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #7) by J.R. Ward Lover Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #8) by J.R. Ward Lover Unleashed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #9) by J.R. Ward Lover Reborn (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #10) by J.R. Ward Lover at Last (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #11) by J.R. Ward The King (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #12) by J.R. Ward The Shadows (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #13) by J.R. Ward
To find out when The Shadows will be released and if there will be more books in the series click here.

Novellas:
Father Mine (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #6.5) by J.R. Ward
(#6.5)
26 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Lover Unleashed.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 30, 2014 – Started Reading
July 30, 2014 – Shelved
July 30, 2014 –
5.0% "'Candance was one of those Manhattan social types who was nothing but a pimp away from being a prostitute...'\n \n description\n \n Ms. Ward has some of the best descriptions"
July 30, 2014 –
27.0% "'After filing the request under Bitch, Please in his head'\n \n description"
July 30, 2014 –
37.0% ""I'm her doctor. You brought me here to assess her clinically-"\n "Don't be ridiculous."\n "Then why the f*ck am I here?"\n For precise the reason I hate you!"\n \n description"
July 31, 2014 –
42.0% ""Oh, God...how could you?"\n "Right back at you."\n \n description \n \n UH OH! TROUBLE IN PARADISE"
July 31, 2014 –
56.0% ""I'm in love ...with someone else." \n \n description \n \n FINALLY HE ADMITS IT!!"
August 1, 2014 –
82.0% ""I think we're dating now. I got you naked. You wore a damn corset. And don't get me started about the sponge bath afterward."\n \n description\n \n LOL....I love Butch and V"
August 1, 2014 –
100.0% "I finished!!! \n \n description"
August 1, 2014 – Shelved as: 2014-books
August 1, 2014 – Shelved as: 5-stars-2014
August 1, 2014 – Shelved as: forbidden
August 1, 2014 – Shelved as: library2go
August 1, 2014 – Shelved as: summer-2014-5-stars
August 1, 2014 – Shelved as: august-2014
August 1, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-37 of 37 (37 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Sammy (last edited Jul 30, 2014 11:18PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Sammy Loves Books I Love this series so much. Glad to see that you are still enjoying it!! Looking forward to see what you think of this one.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Thanks. So far I'm really enjoying this book. ❤️


message 3: by Patrycja (new) - added it

Patrycja Great review!!


ღFloღ the coffee addict OMG, the visuals are prefect. Awesome review!!


Christy My favorite thing about this book.... We got a lot of my man V! Hope you like it babe! x


Amy | Foxy Blogs Patrycja wrote: "Great review!!"

Thank you, Patrycja


Amy | Foxy Blogs ღFloღ wrote: "OMG, the visuals are prefect. Awesome review!!"

Ha ha!!! thanks! xoxo


Amy | Foxy Blogs Christy wrote: "My favorite thing about this book.... We got a lot of my man V! Hope you like it babe! x"

OMG, C!!! that line from Butch about him and V dating was PRICELESS!!! loved it!!! I'm almost to Q&B book


MELISSA *Mel Reader* Great review Amy! So glad you enjoyed! & lol, I wanted Qhuinn & Blay's book so bad I skipped ahead. You will LOVE their book!!!:D


Beverly Awesome review GA! I love Triple D!! I think Washington Monument was my favorite though...bahahahaha!


Katy Loves Romance ❤️ Awesome review Foxy :))


Amy | Foxy Blogs MELISSA wrote: "Great review Amy! So glad you enjoyed! & lol, I wanted Qhuinn & Blay's book so bad I skipped ahead. You will LOVE their book!!!:D"

EEEEKKK!!! I'm so excited for them, Melissa! Which I can't believe I'm even admitting that. LOL
Thanks!! :)


Amy | Foxy Blogs Bev **Read Like A Champion** wrote: "Awesome review GA! I love Triple D!! I think Washington Monument was my favorite though...bahahahaha!"

LOL!! I'm still thinking of it being the girth of Marissa's wrist. o.O dayum.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Katy Aka Mrs Jake Spears wrote: "Awesome review Foxy :))"

Thank you, Katy!!! Have fun when you read this one. :)


message 15: by Kim (new)

Kim Bailey Triple D ... bahahahaha!!! Love it!


Lady Vigilante (Feifei) Wonderful review Amy!! One day I will get to this series :D


Christy LOVE your review! And the 5 star rating!!! I am so excited for you to read Qhinn and Blay!!! I might do a re-read when you read... love that book so much x


Amy | Foxy Blogs Kim B wrote: "Triple D ... bahahahaha!!! Love it!"

Kim..., your type of book, huh?!!! lmao


Amy | Foxy Blogs Lady Vigilante (Feifei) wrote: "Wonderful review Amy!! One day I will get to this series :D"

Feifei, thank you! ♥
One day!!! my motto for most books!!! LOL


Amy | Foxy Blogs Christy wrote: "LOVE your review! And the 5 star rating!!! I am so excited for you to read Qhinn and Blay!!! I might do a re-read when you read... love that book so much x"


Awe, thank you, C!!! I hope you do join me!!! I can't wait!!!


Sammy Loves Books Wonderful review Ms Foxy ;o))


Amy | Foxy Blogs Sammy wrote: "Wonderful review Ms Foxy ;o))"

Thank you, Sammy!!! How'd you like the rest of the books in the series?


Sammy Loves Books I LOVED books 1-5. They were Amazing. #6 was… a disaster as far as Phury's love story, but there were other cool things going on in the book that made it enjoyable.

I LOVED JM's book. Tohrment's book, Book 10, pissed me off but redeemed itself in the final chapter, Lol. You will want to hit Tohr over the head with a bat a few times. Promise. And then you finally get Blay and Qhuinn ;oD *squee* Needless to say this is one of my favorite paranormal series.


Amy | Foxy Blogs I agree with how you felt about the books...Phury's book was a mess. Meh

I start Book 10 and I know what you mean...he's (view spoiler). And Qhuinn is breaking my heart. I feel so bad for him.
I'm not even a quarter of a way through yet.


Sammy Loves Books Amy (Foxy) wrote: "I agree with how you felt about the books...Phury's book was a mess. Meh

I start Book 10 and I know what you mean...he's [spoilers removed]. And Qhuinn is breaking my heart. I feel so bad for h..."


It all works out in the end, (view spoiler)


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Great review, Amy xxx


Shannie's ⭐️Lookin' 4 My Next BBF⭐️ Man......you had me at Triple D!! LMFAO!! Awesome review Foxy!! xo


message 28: by Jen (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jen Wonderful review Amy! So glad you are enjoying this series xo


message 29: by Mysza (new)

Mysza Fab review Amy!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Great review, Amy xxx"

Thank you, Jxxx! ♥
do you think you'll get back on the bandwagon and catch up?


Amy | Foxy Blogs Shannie⭐️this Whore Loves BIG C##KS⭐️ wrote: "Man......you had me at Triple D!! LMFAO!! Awesome review Foxy!! xo"

RIGHT?!!! It's right up your alley! Thanks, Shannie


Amy | Foxy Blogs Jen wrote: "Wonderful review Amy! So glad you are enjoying this series xo"

Thanks, Jen!!! I've been watching my online library site for the next books to get dropped into my account. So, excited to read them. I imagine next year there will be a huge buddy read for The Shadows!


Amy | Foxy Blogs Mysza wrote: "Fab review Amy!"

Thank you, Mysza


Crazy for Books (Stephanie) Ooh.... A 5 star book. I really must read this series. Lovely review, Amy.


Amy | Foxy Blogs Crazy for Books (Stephanie) wrote: "Ooh.... A 5 star book. I really must read this series. Lovely review, Amy."

Thank you, Stephanie
This is a huge series and still growing!! Have fun


Patty Belongs To Kellan~Jesse~Lautner~Miller~Jack~Racer~Rafe~Liam~Prince Nicholas~Hayes~Simon~Gianluca & Archer Lovely review Amy!!
I enjoyed Payne's book too!
You are almost up to date!!
xoxoxo


Amy | Foxy Blogs Patty❤️❤️Belongs To❤️Kellan Kyle❤️AND❤️Jesse Ward❤️❤️ wrote: "Lovely review Amy!!
I enjoyed Payne's book too!
You are almost up to date!!
xoxoxo"


Thanks, Patty!! I'm getting excited that I'll be all caught up until she comes out with a new one.


back to top