ღFloღ the coffee addict's Reviews > How We Deal with Gravity

How We Deal with Gravity by Ginger Scott
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7643503
4 I'm actually crying a little STARS



That was beautiful. Literally the first thing I thought after finishing the book. I'm so glad I picked this one up even if it isn't my usual kind of read.
How we deal with Gravity was very emotional, educational and so very sweet.

“If I could do it again….” he pauses, his eyes unmistakably on me now. “I would definitely kiss the girl in the closet.”


This is Avery and Mason's story. It's about a beautiful little boy, a talented and yet struggling musician and a strong young woman who carries the weight of the world on her shoulders.



Avery Abbot always had a crush on Mason, the sexy musician who always orbited around her world, playing at her father’s club and occasionally sleeping in her house when he was struggling with his mother’s boyfriends. She used to love him...until she became chairman of Team We-Hate-Mason. Pssssst...Don’t tell anyone...but she has some good reason, too.

But a lot of things have changed since she last put eyes on him. Avery is twenty-five years old now, struggling to take two courses at school each semester, working at her father’s club, but most importantly she is trying to understand, nurture and support her four year old autistic son, Max.

”I carry Max with me, even when we’re physically apart. It’s the worry—constant, painful, without remedy.”


Her husband left the day they found out Max had autism and she was left to pick up the pieces, with a little help of her father and best friend. Avery is a strong mama-bear character; she loves her son above all and would do anything for him. I loved her so very much, how she manages to deal with the challenges life has given her is beautiful and encouraging to read.

But most of all I loved to see her with Mason and how he changes the way she lives and makes her think about what she wants and needs. After all there is only so much you can do for others before you burn out.



Mason Street is a musician. A few years ago his band scored a deal for a tour and some possible recording later. But it all fell through...well they blew it. So here he is again, back home where it all started, trying to figure out what he wants, who he is and who he wants to be. And to do so he has to face some very harsh truths about his life, his choices and the people he hurt.

”Because I have to go back to the beginning and see if I can get shit right this time around. And I’m pretty sure it all starts with Avery Abbot.”


Mason is -despite his failures- a warm hearted and very kind human being. He has grown up and is prepared to makes some adult decisions and seeing him interact with Max and trying to make up with Avery is a joy to read and made me smile from ear to ear.

Ugh, he really is a sweetheart.

”Max is always telling me about gravity, and how it pulls two masses together. Gravity. That’s what I’m feeling right now. I’m sure I’m flushed, and despite Dusty’s being filled beyond fire code, I can’t hear the crowd. I’m completely locked to Mason, his eyes squared to mine and he’s the only thing I see.”


Mason and Avery are the cutest. Ok, this book is cheesy and the drama that naturally occurs is predictable and not very original, but to hell with that...I LOVED IT!



How we deal with Gravity is a well written and very lovely book if you are into some sweet romance and want to read about a quite marvellous kid who is not like the others, but to be honest he is a bit more special than the rest of us. I have to confess I even cried a little in the end. *sniffs*

I give it 4 Stars because especially in the middle there were some parts that dragged on, but once Ms. Scott got the ball rolling I was hooked and couldn't stop reading. The second reason why there are no 5 Stars is because I love my books with a little edge. Now this is purely a personal preference and should not discourage you from reading this book.

Looking forward to read some more Ginger Scott books. :D

**ARC kindly provided by the publisher via Net-Galley in exchange for an honest review




28 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read How We Deal with Gravity.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 27, 2014 – Shelved
September 3, 2014 – Started Reading
September 6, 2014 –
8.0% "I'm loving it so far...but need to read something else for a minute...;D"
September 7, 2014 –
24.0% "this is such a sweet read...I feel like I've fallen into a bowl of sugar and I'm not sure if I like it or love it?!\n \n "
September 8, 2014 –
35.0% ""If I win, I get to kiss you. Like I was supposed to a decade ago."\n \n Oh, you sly bastard. Avery, let the man win!!!\n Also, I'm a bit bored and I need something fun to happen. ;D\n \n "
September 8, 2014 –
48.0% ""I know tonight isn't the night for anything more than kissing. But holy fuck, was that some kiss."\n \n "
September 8, 2014 –
100.0% "That was beautiful. Review comes tomorrow...it's 3am and I need sleep.\n \n \n \n GOOD NIGHT!!"
September 8, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 50 (50 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Saffron (new) - added it

Saffron Yay!! Happy reading sweets!! :DDD


Jasmine OOH! Enjoy hun! ♥ Keen to see how it goes for you :D


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Enjoy Flo! = DD


message 4: by Irida (new)

Irida Enjoy Flo :)


ღFloღ the coffee addict Thanks Ladies! It's a bit of a cheesy one with hardly any edge, but I like it. :D


* Meli Mel * Beautiful review, Flo!! <3


Jasmine AWH so glad you loved this one babe! ♥♥ Fab review as always, Flo! :D


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Wonderful review, Flo♥


J *deep in the heart of Texas* Wonderful review Flo!!!


message 10: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Wonderful review, Flo :)


Arianna✦❋SteamyReadsBlog❋✦ Fantastic review, Flo!<3


message 12: by Anja (new)

Anja Beautiful review, Flo! ❤


message 13: by Irida (new)

Irida Beautiful review dear and also the graphics :)


message 14: by Karéz (new)

Karéz Wonderful review, Flo xx


message 15: by S.M. (new)

S.M. West Great review, Flo! xo


ღFloღ the coffee addict Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Beautiful review, Flo!! <3"

Thanks, Meli!! <33


ღFloღ the coffee addict Jasmine wrote: "AWH so glad you loved this one babe! ♥♥ Fab review as always, Flo! :D"

Thanks, sweetie. I really enjoyed it. :D


ღFloღ the coffee addict Christine The Dark Romance Junkie *Mafia Princess* wrote: "Wonderful review, Flo♥"

Thanks, babe!! xx


ღFloღ the coffee addict J *I did it all for the nookie.The book nookie* wrote: "Wonderful review Flo!!!"

Thanks, J!! xoxo


ღFloღ the coffee addict Pam wrote: "Wonderful review, Flo :)"

Thank you so much, Pam!! :D


ღFloღ the coffee addict Arianna wrote: "Fantastic review, Flo!<3"

Thanks, hun!! :D


ღFloღ the coffee addict Anja wrote: "Beautiful review, Flo! ❤"

Thank you so much, Anja!! :D


ღFloღ the coffee addict Irida wrote: "Beautiful review dear and also the graphics :)"

Thanks, babe!! xoxo


ღFloღ the coffee addict Karéz wrote: "Wonderful review, Flo xx"

Thanks, hun!! <33


ღFloღ the coffee addict Suzanne wrote: "Great review, Flo! xo"

Thanks, sweetheart!! :D xx


Mysza Beautiful review Flo! I loved this one too!


message 27: by Jessi (new) - added it

Jessi Fabulous review Flo! :)


message 28: by Lola (new)

Lola Very beautiful review! Good job :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Fantastic review Flo! = ))


Beverly Awesome review Flo, I have this one to read, too, you have made me excited to start it!


ღFloღ the coffee addict Mysza wrote: "Beautiful review Flo! I loved this one too!"

Thank you so much, babe!! :D


ღFloღ the coffee addict Jessi wrote: "Fabulous review Flo! :)"

Thanks, Jessi!! xoxo


ღFloღ the coffee addict Lola wrote: "Very beautiful review! Good job :)"

Thank you, Lola!! :D


ღFloღ the coffee addict SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Fantastic review Flo! = ))"

Thank you so much, Sue!! xx


ღFloღ the coffee addict Penelope wrote: "Lovely review, Flo! ♥"

Thanks, Pen!! <33


ღFloღ the coffee addict Beverly wrote: "Awesome review Flo, I have this one to read, too, you have made me excited to start it!"

YAY, I'm glad I could encourage you. :D My job here is done. LOL


♥Sharon♥ Beautiful review Flo. I'm glad you enjoyed it. xo


message 40: by Christy (new) - added it

Christy Beautiful review, sweetie! xo


message 41: by Saffron (new) - added it

Saffron Amazing review friend! I am dying to read this... :)) Kinda scared about the dragging parts but whatever, everyone is loving it so will read this soon...


ღFloღ the coffee addict ♥Sharon♥ wrote: "Beautiful review Flo. I'm glad you enjoyed it. xo"

Thanks, Sharon!! xx


ღFloღ the coffee addict Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳ wrote: "Amazing review, Flo!"

Thanks, Alex!! <33


ღFloღ the coffee addict Christy wrote: "Beautiful review, sweetie! xo"

Thank you so much, hun!! :D


ღFloღ the coffee addict Supreet wrote: "Amazing review friend! I am dying to read this... :)) Kinda scared about the dragging parts but whatever, everyone is loving it so will read this soon..."

Oh, I hope you enjoy it. Don't worry about the dragging parts, maybe it's just me. LOL. Thanks!!


message 46: by Brandi (new)

Brandi Amazing review...


~ Stéphanie ~ Tied up in Romance ~ Wonderful review babe =D


ღFloღ the coffee addict Brandi wrote: "Amazing review..."

Thanks, Brandi!! xx


ღFloღ the coffee addict ~ Stéphanie ~ wrote: "Wonderful review babe =D"

Thank you so much, dear! ;D


Taylor I hope you don't take this personally but your wording in your review upset me a little. You refer to max as "autistic", the politically correct way to refer to him would be boy with autism. It is person first language. He is a boy before he has autism. It is like saying "cancer boy" instead of "boy with cancer". Again, I am not saying this to be mean, I am a special education teacher who works with students with low functioning autism and it hurts me when I heard them referred to as just "autistic". Just trying to spread a little awareness :)


back to top