Jason's Reviews > Mein Kampf

Mein Kampf by Adolf Hitler
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
10378
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: trolling-goodreads

This author is such a dick. I'm not even going to read it!
603 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Mein Kampf.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 20, 2013 – Started Reading
September 20, 2013 – Shelved
September 20, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 201-250 of 251 (251 new)


message 201: by Derrolyn (new)

Derrolyn Anderson With this kind of spontaneous publicity...

Things are going to start happening now!


message 202: by Jason (new) - rated it 1 star

Jason This article discusses that concept and the comments link it to Peter Drucker, but I can't find a cite.

1. WaPo? For this? Jesus wept. But if Ezra Klein talks about it, then I'm gonna brag.
2. "Dick" got censored? Shit.
3. The author is a smart writer, and it's a nuanced piece. But I gotta admit that I get rankled a little bit at how the "middle ground" will be to point out that hey-the-internet-gets-uncivil-so-we-can-understand-why-there's-a-need-for-some-constraints. (Petri is, as noted, far more nuanced in her assessment. But.....still....)

I said it above, I'll say it again: creating broader policy constraints to address relatively anomalous problems that you already have the tools to address is a fool's game*. It may seem like you're covering your ass with a broad principle, and giving yourself more room to manage and minimize the problem. But you usually end up pissing off those who behave, who now feel "caught" by the new rules, and you usually add nothing to your arsenal for resolving the problems.

*Didn't Euripides say that?


message 203: by Kazza (new)

Kazza Some readers have no shame. The author can't defend himself - one ball and all!! :P


message 204: by MJ (new) - added it

MJ Nicholls 444 likes for a one-line review? Hmm, reminds me of Nuremberg . . .


message 205: by Traveller (last edited Sep 24, 2013 02:19AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Traveller Dude, you gonna cry when this author and his cronies come after you.... ;)


message 206: by Yolande (last edited Sep 24, 2013 08:22AM) (new)

Yolande Some of the comments of the WP article say that the reviewers complaining about the new policy are all trolls and are just out to demonize authors. Haha that is so funny. I suspect the change is a result of some authors who have no sense of humour and take themselves way too seriously.

Hitler was a demonic author. Flag that!


Lobstergirl Mike wrote: "*Didn't Euripides say that? "

No it was Digger Phelps.


message 208: by M'rella (new)

M'rella I can't flag this review. It contains profanity and per GR rules "Please do not flag reviews that contain profanity or are simply negative reviews of the book." it's legit.


message 209: by Serena (last edited Sep 25, 2013 06:30AM) (new)

Serena Yates Mammarella wrote: "I can't flag this review. It contains profanity and per GR rules "Please do not flag reviews that contain profanity or are simply negative reviews of the book." it's legit."

ROFL!!!! Darn. you're actually right! I'll have to unflag it now. *grin*


message 210: by M'rella (last edited Sep 25, 2013 06:42AM) (new)

M'rella Lesson learned: if you don't like certain authors, make sure to use your swears if you want to keep the reviews. 'Cause it makes it totally cool with GR


message 211: by Derek (new) - rated it 1 star

Derek Where's the unflag link?


message 212: by Patrick (new)

Patrick Shitler actually killed his niece after continually raping her....


message 213: by Jane (new) - rated it 1 star

Jane Patrick wrote: "Shitler actually killed his niece after continually raping her...."

*sigh* - What a guy!


[Name Redacted] Mammarella wrote: "Lesson learned: if you don't like certain authors, make sure to use your swears if you want to keep the reviews. 'Cause it makes it totally cool with GR"

GENIUS!


message 215: by Agnieszka (new)

Agnieszka Wearing corduroy pants , having one ball and stupid
mustache is no basis for writing.


message 216: by M'rella (last edited Sep 26, 2013 11:11AM) (new)

M'rella Agnieszka wrote: "Wearing corduroy pants , having one ball and stupid
mustache is no basis for writing."


No, but hypergraphia is :D
Can be associated with temporal lobe changes and hypomania and mania. Shame on you, mocking a sick person's mustache :P


message 217: by Jason (new) - rated it 1 star

Jason A pleasant glade. A rainbow over the Black Forest, with a stag looking magisterial on a crag. Good point, Hugh. If they did that, I'd change my rating to a 5.

Hey--nice use of Seconds as an avatar! (Right? If I got that wrong, I'm going to look really stupid here. I'm going to look really stupid here, again.)


message 218: by M'rella (new)

M'rella People, you're awful! You are going to drive him to suicide! tsk-tsk *shakes head*

Oh, wait! Did bad "Mein Kampf" ratings made him commit suicide in the first place? Poor sensitive soul! Took his whole entire family with him and a family dog, too (wasn't there also something about harming animals by bad reviews in the new amendment to GR policy?) tsk again

And now you're abusing fruit.... where is the world going?


message 219: by Chris (new)

Chris We haven't abused vegtables yet.


message 220: by Baba (new)

Baba  I'd say "dick" doesn't even begin to cover it!!!!!
Gosh, I love it and this thread is funny too!


message 221: by M'rella (last edited Sep 28, 2013 03:34PM) (new)

M'rella Look at these covers. Fun stuff :D

My Fight: How to squeeze someone's the balls. Illustrated edition.



My Fight: How to apply eyeliner and hair products.



My Fight: I am sick and tired of your bullying!


(what's in his mouth? are those teeth? looks like shark teeth *snicker*)
****
Death Note has nothing on ME!
( I didn't know he was a mangaka, too! ;))



message 222: by M'rella (last edited Sep 28, 2013 05:06PM) (new)

M'rella Hugh wrote: "the swastika-in-the-hair look is not fetching."

That's author bashing! \:◘|


Traveller This author had syphilis, took drugs and had fake balls. Do not read anything he wrote! Boycott his books!
Feel free to flag my comment.


message 224: by Carlos (new)

Carlos Deidre wrote: "This comment thread.. I think I'm going to frame it."

Me too! You stole my idea. I have had It since High School.


message 225: by Jonathan (new)

Jonathan Terrington I love that this review stayed here and yet a couple of smaller reviews trolling get wiped off. How fascinating :P


message 226: by Jason (last edited Oct 11, 2013 05:03AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Jason I'm very curious. This one got a drive-by mention in the Washington Post.... so, despite being an obvious and crude challenge to the rules, it may be safe. But we'll see.

Manny's is far smarter, so I kind of doubt it would get removed. Mine is childish, and has no redeeming value.


message 227: by Traveller (last edited Oct 11, 2013 07:42AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Traveller Yes, to be honest, I suspect the reason that this one is still up, is that it made it to the news. Now, imagine if it does get deleted; this whole thing might just make it to the news again.

..and re Manny's reviews a few people have screenshotted them. In fact, I'm starting to screenshot my own reviews and threads that mention the authors, and that talks about more than the book itself, like this one (complete with snarky remark by an apparent member of the "should only be about the book" police)
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
and ones like these:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...

https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...


message 228: by Alfaniel (new) - added it

Alfaniel Aldavan Mike wrote: "
Manny's is far smarter, so I kind of doubt it would get removed. Mine is childish, and has no redeeming value. "


I'm not sure this is a criterion. (LOL)
Paul's review of Logic was cool and well written, albeit off-topic by treating the GR issues and the only relation with Logic was that he recommended it to GR employees in charge of removals... :)


message 229: by Jason (new) - rated it 1 star

Jason Alfaniel wrote: "Mike wrote: "
Manny's is far smarter, so I kind of doubt it would get removed. Mine is childish, and has no redeeming value. "

I'm not sure this is a ..."


I just threw one up in the spirit of Paul's, "reviewing" a book about Irony.


message 230: by Christian (new) - added it

Christian Cazares Then you shouldn't rate it. Although I sure hope I can agree with your 1 star rate once I actually read this bullshit


message 231: by [deleted user] (new)

Christian wrote: "Then you shouldn't rate it. Although I sure hope I can agree with your 1 star rate once I actually read this bullshit"

I've seen a lot of humorless point-missing on Goodreads, but this is certainly the most recent.


message 232: by Jason (new)

Jason HAHAAHAHHA wowwwww. That was awesome!


C is for **censored** Christian wrote: "Then you shouldn't rate it. Although I sure hope I can agree with your 1 star rate once I actually read this bullshit"

Either the sarcasm font is missing or someone is being willfully obtuse.


message 234: by S. (new)

S. J. I just want all of you to know that you're killing me over here. I'm choking I'm laughing so hard. As per message 49, I liked the review but it was meant for all of you.
Thank you.


message 235: by Deval (new)

Deval deaddddddd


message 236: by Juli Pennock (new)

Juli Pennock Might be my favorite review, EVER!


message 237: by Kiril (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kiril Wow, what an impressive argument you have there for your one-star rating. How come you rate a book that you have not even read? So many morons these days...


Susanna - Censored by GoodReads This review is a censorship protest, Kiril.


message 239: by Jason (new)

Jason Kiril wrote: "So many morons these days..."

I couldn't agree more, Kiril.


message 240: by M'rella (new)

M'rella Kiril wrote: "Wow, what an impressive argument you have there for your one-star rating. How come you rate a book that you have not even read? So many morons these days..."

What book?
Make no mistake, this is a personal attack on the author.


message 241: by Kiril (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kiril Mammarella wrote:
What book?
Make no mistake, this is a personal attack on the author."


It is, indeed. But then again, Goodreads is about rating books and not about rating the author's life choices. In my honest opinion, it is not right to come here and downvote books because of the antipathy you feel towards the author, and especially when you have not even made the effort to go through his work.

Not that I am a fan of Hitler and not that I approve of the way his ideology destroyed millions of lives, but I found it interesting to read since it provided me with the opportunity to answer some key questions about Hitler's personality, his convictions and why he did what he did.

And for those who may accuse me of being a Nazi (which I am not, but anyway) - just for the record, communism killed much more people than nazism did (the people of my country have experienced it first-hand) and still the Communist Manifesto has a rating of almost 4 stars. But you know what the difference is - you will not find even 20% as much negative comments about the authors and poor ratings of the book by haters who barely made the effort to learn the title.


message 242: by karen (new)

karen good lord.

this review is like a time capsule of something that was happening in the goodreads community at a certain moment in time. if you weren't there, you won't understand it, and to take it as seriously as you are appearing to is missing the spirit.


message 243: by Jason (new) - rated it 1 star

Jason Kiril, I missed your impassioned defense!

I appreciate it. Would it be okay if I said "Hitler was such a dick, and this book proves it"?


message 244: by Jason (new)

Jason Nice.


message 245: by Jason (new)

Jason Oh, wait. Wrong review.


message 247: by Susana (new)

Susana And the review lives! Sad to say the author didn't...on second thought I'm not.


message 248: by Clyde (new)

Clyde List He was also a loser, from the very beginning. Historians are beginning to understand that Joseph Stalin created him.


message 249: by Clyde (new)

Clyde List According to former Soviet military planner, Viktor Suvolov, Stalin could have crushed Hitler's army any time he wished.. until the Fall of 1941 when H turned on him. The rest of the story is like watching two alligators in a swamp!


message 250: by Clyde (new)

Clyde List 1941. Fun year.


back to top