Steph Sinclair's Reviews > Fifty Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4642710
Introducing an even more abusive and disturbing TWILIGHT! Now with whips and chains!


Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Fifty Shades of Shit


Haters, please exit stage left.

I'm not sure what possessed me to pick up Fifty Shades of Grey. I thought I might genuinely like it before I started, but all I was left with was one hell of a mindfuck. Whatever it was that brought on this knee jerk purchase seems to have mercifully left me with enough common sense to say I will not be continuing on with this series.

Recently I discovered one of my favorite publishers, Random House, has picked up Fifty Shades of Grey and made this statement:
"An orig­i­nal work, and said to us that James had war­ranted the books were, indeed orig­i­nal. Mes­sitte added she was “aware of the nar­ra­tive that [50 SHADES] started as dif­fer­ently titled piece of fic­tion, but that they were and are two dis­tinctly sep­a­rate pieces of work."

I'm sorry, but I'm going to have to call bull shit on that. Fifty Shades of Grey and Master of the Universe (the original fan fic) are essentially the same thing. The biggest difference being Edward and Bella's name being replaced with Christian and Anastasia respectively. And I would know this because I have both and while I was reading, I would occasionally switch back and forth between the two without difficulty. I'd go through and give you examples myself, but other people have done it already here and here. So if you must read this book, do yourself a solid and find the fan fic online. You even get the second book too!

I know some people claim this has no similarities to Twilight and got dammit, I'm allergic to all the bull shit. Do I really need to point this all out? Because it looks pretty obvious to me. The mannerisms of the characters are exactly the same. They even say similar things the original characters say. The whole "dazzle" line and Edward asking Bella to trust him. Her mother being remarried with the same inability to maneuver her way around a kitchen. Bella is still trying to save Edward from himself due to his troubled past. Edward still stalks and controls Bella, only now he gets to hit her when she gets out of line.


*facepalm* Shall I beat them both? Yes?

I struggled to come up with a proper review for this book and couldn't figure out why I was feeling rather uninspired to write one. And then I figured it out. I was left so disgusted by this book that I wanted to purge the memory of its existence from my mind. With a rusty nail. Every time I thought of the book my brain cells would go on strike, yelling obscenities at me.  Anyway, I thought Bella and Edward's relationship couldn't get anymore fucked up than Twilight. I stand corrected. If I were to describe FSoG in one sentence it would be this: Fifty Shades of Grey is like Twilight on steroids, high on ecstasy, in a dirty little corner. A very dirty corner. With badly written sex. Lots.

Sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex....oh......sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex...

Fifty Shades of Grey tells the story of the beautiful (but of course she doesn't know it), naive virgin, Anastasia Steal after she is suckered into interviewing the Greek god, Christian Grey. Of course, sparks fly and for some unknown reason he can't seem to stay away from this incredibly, unremarkable girl.  Ana discovers Christian is into BDSM and desires her as his submissive fuck buddy.

There are a myriad of problems with this novel, many of which ironically can be found in Twilight. Never saw that one coming! Christian/Edward is still a controlling bastard, only now he hides behind his BDSM practices to camouflage his abusive tendencies. However, Ana doesn't see it that way. She thinks of him as a broken person and it's her duty to fix him. Even when he says things like this:
"I want to hurt you. But not beyond anything you couldn't take."

Can you believe she let's him beat her after that? And please don't even bother to tell me that it's just BDSM. No, just fucking no. Ana is genuinely afraid of Christian and is never entirely comfortable with the "punishment" aspect of their relationship. But Christian just manipulates her with sex to continue the relationship. And that's what really gets me. I just have a hard time believing a virgin would somehow become a sex goddess overnight, because that is exactly what happens. When she first is introduced to his kinky lifestyle and tells him she is a virgin he immediately tells her he needs to handle that "situation" before they could continue. What?! Since when is your virginity a "situation?" But, that's not really the kicker. Oh, no, because that is when we are introduced to Ana's two best friends. Everyone say hi to:

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex....oh......sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex...

Anna's inner goddess, who always cheers her on when Christian wants sex or wants to punish her. She's also quite annoying, doing back flips at the mention of anything sexual related. Simmer down. Where did she come from exactly? Ana is in her twenties and has never felt the urge to have sex with anyone until Christian comes along with his whips and chains?!

And... Ana's sub-conscious, who hides behind couches when it comes time for her beating. When it comes to Ana having sex with Christian, well, her sub-conscious only has one thing to say,

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

So after the "situation" is handled, Ana has to sign a "contract" agreeing to his sexual demands and also outlining things she won't do. It was pretty pointless considering he still got what he wanted and she never signed the damn thing. He exploits her, stalks her and abuses her! She cries after sex. She is afraid of him being angry! Even when he is angry at something else, she thinks it's her. Her reasoning for allowing him to hit her as his therapy is because she's afraid to lose him. That is not a reason for agreeing to a BDSM lifestyle! In fact, that's not even really "consent!" These quotes just scream domestic abuse to me:
"Please don't be angry with me," I whisper.

"Please don't hit me," I whisper, pleading.
His brow furrows, his eyes widening. He blinks twice.
"I don't want you to spank me. Not here. Not now. Please don't."

Yeah, he's a real catch, that one. Barf. No, excuse me. That's not right. The barfing came when the little ass-wipe PULLED HER TAMPON OUT AND RAMMED HIMSELF INSIDE OF HER. OMFG. Yes, the caps were totally necessary because that was the most disgusting thing I have ever had the misfortune of reading. That is not sexy, that's foul.

Whenever Ana thinks about leaving him, he comes over to her apartment unannounced pounds into her (literally) and her inner goddess does a fucking happy dance, forgetting her urge to kick his sick ass to the curb. They fight, they breakup. They kiss, they sex up.

Sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex....oh......sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex...

Christian: "Do you still want me gone Ana?"

Inner goddess: *growl*

Sub-conscious: ...

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Dance, puppet. Dance.

The writing is a shitty mess too. I mean, if I had to sit and read Ana saying "Holy, shit!" or "Holy, Fuck!" or "Oh, my!" one more time, I was going to lose it. I wanted to take my red pen and have at this "book" so badly. It was the little things like Ana's roommate saying over and over, "You never cry Ana," and what do we find Ana always doing? Crying. I'm not sure where the hell the plot was. *smacks forehead* How silly of me! Didn't I mention this was a Twilight retelling? Why was I expecting a plot? And another example of poor writing: for these characters to be American, they sounded very British to me. They used phrases that Americans don't use.

And now I'm trying to figure out why this book is so popular. Why do so many women love this book? I get the appeal of the bondage even though it's not my usual cup of tea. Whips? Chains? Sounds exciting!

Sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex....oh......sexsexsexsexsexsexsexsexsex...

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Abuse? Not so much.

Fuck my life! Zero stars!

Eh, I'm off to read a good book now and possibly to bleach my brain.

More reviews at Cuddlebuggery Book Blog.
3160 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Fifty Shades of Grey.
Sign In »

Quotes Steph Liked

E.L. James
“- "Why don't you like to be touched?"
- "Because I'm fifty shades of fucked-up, Anastasia”
E.L. James, Fifty Shades of Grey


Reading Progress

October 18, 2011 – Shelved
October 18, 2011 – Shelved as: adult
March 11, 2012 – Shelved as: indies-are-rockstars
March 14, 2012 – Started Reading
March 14, 2012 –
14.0% "Who brushes their teeth with someone else's tooth brush and calls it "a thrill?" This is dumb. So dumb."
March 14, 2012 –
18.0% "What is the appropriate response to finding out a potential lover is a complete freaky sadist or masochist? I don't know. Maybe... Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos"
March 14, 2012 –
30.0% "This book has no plot. What is the point? Sex, sex, sex, sex, sex, sex, sex, annnnnnndddd seeeeeeexxxxxx!"
March 15, 2012 –
50.0% "So she fears him. Do NOT like."
March 15, 2012 –
55.0% "Okay, this relationship is borderline abuse. She's afraid of him hitting her and cries after sex. She's does not want him to hit her, but agrees because SHE IS AFRAID HE WILL DUMP HER. Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos"
March 16, 2012 –
77.0% "Is it just me, or does Ana never wear her own clothes?"
March 17, 2012 –
80.0% "WTH! Ana goes to Georgia to visit her mom and Christian has followed her. To another state. Creeper! Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos"
March 17, 2012 –
83.0% "Omg, did her really just do that?! The tampon!! What motherfuckery is this?! What has been read, cannot be unread. O.O Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos"
March 18, 2012 –
97.0% ""I want to hurt you. But not beyond anything you couldn't take." Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos"
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: 2012-reads
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: ahhhhh-my-eyes
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: all-the-wrong-choices
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: can-t-believe-i-finished
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: creepy-lover
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: didn-t-care-for-it
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: ebook
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: fell-for-the-hype
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: hated-it-with-a-firey-passion
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: heroines-i-want-to-shake
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: i-blame-twilight
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: kill-me-now
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: kill-it-with-fire
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: le-sigh
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: lots-of-fail-going-on-here
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: made-me-angry
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: no-just-no
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: not-for-me
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: ranty-review
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: rubbish
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: where-s-my-chocolate
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: why-the-hype
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: why-why-why-did-i-read-it
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: youve-got-to-be-kidding-me
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: bite-me-whip-me-chain-me
March 18, 2012 – Shelved as: abusive-boyfriends
March 18, 2012 – Finished Reading
March 24, 2012 – Shelved as: no-stars-for-you

Comments (showing 1167-1216)





message 1216: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair Alicia, I know. It's very depressing. I want to pretend this "book" doesn't exist, but the media won't allow that.

Amber J., lol! No problem. Those links were very eye opening.

Merary, OMG! You're right! I hate that song. I guess it works well with the review, lol.


message 1215: by Merary (new) - rated it 1 star

Merary Cakecakecakecakecake!!! X)


message 1214: by Rogier (new)

Rogier Merary wrote: "Cakecakecakecakecake!!! X)"

lol
everytime i see this book i misread the title lol
dirty shades of grey

i willl nevererverevereeverevereverev touch this book/i somenly pledge to all the good books and characers out there


message 1213: by MrsJoseph (new)

MrsJoseph Love the review!

Before putting yourself through the similarities torture, have you read this blog? One of the comments is a mini character analysis: http://jamigold.com/2012/03/when-does...


Alicia (is beyond tired of your *ish) Ugh, the media. They should be strung up too for having a hand in this fiasco.

Stephanie wrote: "Just think about all the movie studios putting together their presentations! Ugh."

Just the thought of that makes me want to say goodbye, cruel world.

Went to law school, didn't cheat at all. Graduated in May. Passed the bar without cheating. STILL no job.

New life lesson: CHEAT. A lot. And often.


Alicia (is beyond tired of your *ish) Merary wrote: "Cakecakecakecakecake!!! X)"

Now I want cake. And I have that whips and chains song in my head. Interesting combination...


Alicia (is beyond tired of your *ish) MrsJoseph wrote: "Love the review!

Before putting yourself through the similarities torture, have you read this blog? One of the comments is a mini character analysis: http://jamigold.com/2012/03/when-does......"


Thanks for that link!


message 1209: by Jenna (new)

Jenna I don't get why this book is so popular! From what you and others have said it sounds terrible. I was contemplating reading it to see what all the fuss was about and maybe to laugh at how bad it is but I don't think it's worth it.

In other news, I hate to say it but I think I've read a worse tampon sex scene then that - in Praise by Andrew McGahan - it scarred me for life.


message 1208: by Lisa (new)

Lisa This book sounds extremely disturbing. I need to bleach my brain after reading your review. I'd probably need a lobotomy after reading the book.


message 1207: by rameau (new) - added it

rameau Stephanie, thank you. That was very entertaining and your sacrifice won't be forgotten.

Alicia, I so want to know who else was in the bidding war. I suspect my reading list may lighten substantially in the future when I start to pay diligent attention to the publishers.


message 1206: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair @Merary, ahhhh... That song!

@MrsJoseph, I've seen that! It's just another example of how I don't understand how people don't see the simularities. She wrote the fan fic to mimic the characters and that's exactly what it does!

@Alicia, cheating is evidently the only way to win in life. *eyeroll*

@Belle, the book is popular because it have Twilight stamped all over it. The Twi-moms can't resist! And more Tampon scenes?! Dammit!

@Lisa, You know I've only given 2 books zero stars so far. That should speak for itself.


Alicia (is beyond tired of your *ish) rameau wrote: "Alicia, I so want to know who else was in the bidding war. I suspect my reading list may lighten substantially in the future when I start to pay diligent attention to the publishers."

Ugh, I'm scared. I already have to deal with St. Martin's and their Brady Bunch novels. I can't take much more.

Stephanie wrote: "She wrote the fan fic to mimic the characters and that's exactly what it does!"

That's why I think the people saying it's nothing like it are comprised of two types of people: 1)those that really don't understand what fan fiction is and how the writing process differs, and 2) apologists who wish it was okay.


Holly Noelle Smart review. I'd post this is in my bookstore if I could get away with it.

Then again, my coworkers and I have been putting up sheets of paper over Twilight that say 50 Shades of Grey. Our boss was unamused when she saw it.

I giggled.


message 1203: by Lyndi W. (new) - added it

Lyndi W. *hyperventilates* You... you used a Labyrinth gif. I'M GONNA MARRY YOU SOME DAY, STEPHANIE SINCLAIR!!


message 1202: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Stephanie wrote: "@Lisa, You know I've only given 2 books zero stars so far. That should speak for itself."

Now I'm curious. What was the other one? You've read so many that could potentially qualify.


message 1201: by Chicklitgirl (new)

Chicklitgirl wow, this book sounds so.bad.


Alicia (is beyond tired of your *ish) Chicklitgirl wrote: "wow, this book sounds so.bad."

She was being nice.


message 1199: by John (new) - rated it 1 star

John Egbert I wouldn't have read this anyway (I don't think ._.) but now I know -- okay I haven't really learned anything, your review was just awesome and hilarious to read XD


Lexxie (un)Conventional Bookworms This parody of FSoG is really, really funny, and since it's a parody, it's legal. And it's also FREE : http://www.evilreads.com/fifty-one-sh...

Loved your review, Stephanie! Not a book I want to read, I've read so many things about this lately it's making me sad. Yes, it's making me sad because there are authors out there who are working really hard at making up their own characters in their own world... then THIS kind of thing happens, it feels like a total rip-off.


message 1197: by Luxie (new) - rated it 1 star

Luxie Ryder Fab, funny and totally accurate review, Stephanie! Love the gifs :)


Anachronist Alicia wrote: "I hate when people say Twilight has a chaste message. I feel like they read an entirely different book than I did. Edward's concern for their ~virtue was brought up after he couldn't convince her t..."

Completely and totally agreed. Twilight is like porn light for teens, sending them horribly twisted messages about sex, marriage, dating and pretty much everything else.

If I were to describe FSoG in one sentence it would be this: Fifty Shades of Grey is like Twilight on steroids, high on ecstasy, in a dirty little corner. A very dirty corner. With badly written sex. Lots.

I loved that! It rocked!


Anachronist MrsJoseph wrote: "I need to create a "not in this lifetime" shelf just for this series."
I second that.


message 1194: by [deleted user] (new)

You wrote it! Painful remembering? Like swallowing vomit, right? I'm so grateful to you for keeping me away from these pits.

My favorite part, aka, The Perfect Sum: "Every time I thought of the book my brain cells would go on strike, yelling obscenities at me. Anyway, I thought Bella and Edward's relationship couldn't get anymore fucked up than Twilight. I stand corrected."


message 1193: by [deleted user] (new)

Noelle wrote: "Smart review. I'd post this is in my bookstore if I could get away with it.

Then again, my coworkers and I have been putting up sheets of paper over Twilight that say 50 Shades of Grey. Our boss w..."


Your co-workers rock. I'd buy from a bookstore like that


message 1192: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Great review, Stephanie! As for the book:

Yeesh.

Stuff like this doesn't just sell, it has major buzz and all that goes with it. Couple that with 'horribly twisted messages about sex, marriage, dating and pretty much everything else', your apt description of any such book. Now throw in the political/hate-radio atrocities toward women that we discussed earlier.

Yeesh. My sense of history is sending me very bad vibrations about all this. The big picture that I see is truly cause for alarm. As my wife said yesterday about the political outrage, the clock is being turned back to some of the worst abuses of centuries past.

I am all for fun and fantasy in their many forms, innocent or not-so, if they work for all those involved. But your review and others are all about something completely different - a downward spiral into a very dark and dangerous place, from which there may be no turning back. And the idea of authors selling a LOT of tickets to watch is, ummm, pathetic.

Thank you for your clarity, and the courage to focus the spotlight.


message 1191: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair @Alicia, they don't care or they were distracted by the tampon scene. Ugh.

@Lisa, the only other book I gave one star to was Starcrossed. I called it the worst book I've ever read, but Fifty Shits could easily be called the same. If you click the "No Stars For You!" shelf, you'll see it.

@Noelle, Thanks! You guys at your bookstore sound awesome. Lol.

@Lyndi, Hahaha! Kat Kennedy will be disappoint. Lol. You know we hav a crazy love affair going on.

@Chicklithirl, "bad" is an understatement. It's beyond words.

@Mello, you are wise! Learn from me! Lol.

@Linda, I love that parody. In fact, I think the next chapter is up and I need to go read it.

@Zanahoria, yes, it was exactly like swallowing vomit. Half the review had been written for a week. I just couldn't be bothered with it.

@Jim, I don't know how these things just keep getting published, but I have to remember its because people LIKE it so much. And that's the really disturbing part. People like it.


message 1190: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Oh. MY. GOD. (My snarky Inner Goddess squeaks!)
Let me just say a big old thank you for this review. I, too, cannot fathom why this piece of drivel is getting so much attention. And, bless you for taking the time to so eloquently point out that it is, indeed, Fifty Shades Of Shit. I couldn't devote even that much time to my review of it. Bless you!


message 1189: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Alicia wrote: " YAL Book Briefs wrote: "Seems like this one is a cross between Twilight and that old James Spader movie, Secretary. The combination of the two makes me shake my head."

Hahahaha, from my commenta..."


There were quite a few BDSM Twifics out there, and the majority MUCH BETTER than this.


message 1188: by Ceilidh (new) - rated it 1 star

Ceilidh Good stuff Steph! If I do say so myself, I cannot fathom how this became so popular. Surely someone needs to draw the line somewhere?



(Yes, that was reaching quite a bit. I just want more excuses to use these gifs).


message 1187: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Zanahoria (Taly) wrote: "That link... I can barely believe it. Please tell me it's the same author that just decided to change the names and publish it.
Still, Twilight fanfiction *grimace*"


It is, indeed. All she did was CHANGE THE NAMES and a few phrases throughout. I read a comparison article that shows that the 'published' work is 89% the same as the fan fiction piece. Thank goodness for whoever PDF'd the fic before it was pulled.


message 1186: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Stephanie wrote: "@Jim, I don't know how these things just keep getting published, but I have to remember its because people LIKE it so much. And that's the really disturbing part. People like it."

You are so right, Stephanie. That really is the scariest part.


message 1185: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Jim wrote: "Stephanie wrote: "@Jim, I don't know how these things just keep getting published, but I have to remember its because people LIKE it so much. And that's the really disturbing part. People like it."..."

I can't fathom it. Seriously. Even when it was still pre-yanked fanfic, I couldn't understand how or why so many people were drawn to it.


Taiyesha-Duchess of Indiana Well done. I recently saw a little pull out on the Today Show or Maybe GM America I cant remember. But, it featured this book a woman who loved the book and a psychiatrist. This book is just a horrible representation of relationships, and of women. No woman should ever put up with that. I could never read that book and like it...


message 1183: by Kim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kim Beaumont Even though I liked this book and gave it five stars, I agree with your comparison to Twilight. So many similarities. I think this book is a cross between Twilight and the movie Pretty Woman.


message 1182: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair @Molly, thanks! It was hard and involved lots of screaming at my computer and iPad ("I fucking hate this book!"), but somehow I found a way to write something about it.

@Ceilidh, hahaha! Those political gifs never get old!


message 1181: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Molly wrote: "I can't fathom it. Seriously. Even when it was still pre-yanked fanfic, I couldn't understand how or why so many people were drawn to it. "

Agreed! And this may not be a good analogy, but a fish that grabs a tempting morsel may not notice that it is bait... Or that it comes with a hook, line and sinker.

I haven't read or had any interest in the book, and I certainly wouldn't doubt the sincerity of those who love it. Read what you like, by all means, and say what you think about it!

But here is my problem. One thing leads to another, and the 'things' feed on each other. If readers will pay for and enjoy stories about women being degraded, well, there is plenty more where that came from. If the cash register rings, the authors will sing.


Cassi aka Snow White Haggard What bothers me most is that women are writing most of the books that degrade women. How do they feel okay about that?


message 1179: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair Jim wrote: "But here is my problem. One thing leads to another, and the 'things' feed on each other. If readers will pay for and enjoy stories about women being degraded, well, there is plenty more where that came from. If the cash register rings, the authors will sing."

That is worth repeating! Well said, Jim!


message 1178: by Molly (new) - rated it 1 star

Molly Jim wrote: "Molly wrote: "I can't fathom it. Seriously. Even when it was still pre-yanked fanfic, I couldn't understand how or why so many people were drawn to it. "

Agreed! And this may not be a good analogy..."


EXACTLY! And the author has actually said that she doesn't give a shit about anything other than the ... Wait for it... MONEY! That's what makes me the angriest about this. She's a money-grubbing piece of *fill in the blank* and it makes me wretch.


message 1177: by Steph (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair @Molly, yeah I saw that too. *sigh*


Katie(babs) Just like Bella does with Edward, Ana accepts Christian's faults and all. I lost it in Freed when Christian wants to beat the shit out of Ana because she dared to go out for drinks with Kate.

At least Edward would never, ever hurt Bella and told her to run far away as she could from him. Christian would tie Ana up and use her as his sex slave if she left him. And if she did leave him, he would shoot her then himself.


Katie(babs) Cassi aka Snow White wrote: "What bothers me most is that women are writing most of the books that degrade women. How do they feel okay about that?"

It's the WTFckery factor. Why do you think bodice rippers were so popular in the 70's and 80's? The hero would rape the heroine over and over until she fell in love with him and changed him for good with her Mary Sue virginal soul. Bah.


message 1174: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Hartman Cassi aka Snow White wrote: "What bothers me most is that women are writing most of the books that degrade women. How do they feel okay about that?"

Seriously. It makes no sense to me at all.


message 1173: by Larissa (new) - added it

Larissa I believe reviews like this saved me from not reading this book. Lmao I got recommended this book for my trip to Hawaii. So close to reading it. Now I feel like tossing it in the ocean while I'm in Hawaii. But probably shouldn't seeing as it's on my kobo :p thanks for the enlightening review.


message 1172: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Stephanie wrote: "That is worth repeating! Well said, Jim!"

Thanks, Stephanie!

Cassi aka Snow White wrote: "What bothers me most is that women are writing most of the books that degrade women. How do they feel okay about that?"

This is a really important point, Cassi. Please see below.

Molly wrote: "EXACTLY! And the author has actually said that she doesn't give a shit about anything other than the ... Wait for it... MONEY! That's what makes me the angriest about this. She's a money-grubbing piece of *fill in the blank* and it makes me wretch."

I didn't know that, Molly.. But it makes me wretch too.

To Cassi's point: I think if you look closely at interviews of some of these authors, you will find statements about how they are okay about it.

I will speculate - these are pure guesses:
1) I wanted to bring attention to how women are manipulated.
2) I wanted to show how manipulated women can fight back.
3) I wanted to express my sincere sympathy for all those women who are manipulated like (my character).
4) I set up a charity for women who are degraded, and 'a percentage' of the revenues (or my royalties) from the book are going to this charity.

And presto, change-o, it is all okay! Maybe even better than okay! Maybe it is even GREAT of me to have done this! Now if I could just get rid of those haters...


message 1171: by Steph (last edited Mar 25, 2012 09:31AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair Rachel wrote: "Cassi aka Snow White wrote: "What bothers me most is that women are writing most of the books that degrade women. How do they feel okay about that?"

Seriously. It makes no sense to me at all."


I don't either. We spend years trying to get equality and then we go and write fantasies about being stalked, beat, raped, manipulated, and everything in between. How can we ever expect change if those kinds of fantasies are on the forefront?


message 1170: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Stephanie wrote: "We spend years trying to get equality and then we go and write fantasies about being stalked, beat, raped, manipulated, and everything in between. How can we ever expect change if those kinds of fantasies are on the forefront?"

Perfectly stated, Stephanie (and Cassi and Rachel!). And very, very sad.


message 1169: by Steph (last edited Mar 25, 2012 09:37AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Steph Sinclair @Jim, and yet you see none of that mentioned in the synopsis or blub for the book. Because that's not what it's about, not until someone speaks up about the abusive nature of the relationship and the author is forced to come up with an ass-grab explanation. Those books are about true wuv. *eyeroll*


message 1168: by Jim (new) - added it

Jim Stephanie wrote: "@Jim, and yet you see none of that mentioned in the synopsis or blur for the book. Because that's not what it's about, not until someone speaks up about the abusive nature of the relationship and the author is forced to come up with an ass-grab explanation. Those books are about true wuv. *eyeroll*
"


Awesome points, Stephanie! And again I did not know that about the synopsis/blurb. That is even more pathetic than I thought!


message 1167: by M (new) - rated it 5 stars

M A Stephanie wrote: "We spend years trying to get equality and then we go and write fantasies about being stalked, beat, raped, manipulated, and everything in between. How can we ever expect change if those kinds of fantasies are on the forefront?"

I think it's important to remember that fantasies are exactly that. Fantasies.


back to top