Skyler Autumn's Reviews > The Hating Game

The Hating Game by Sally  Thorne
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
12859342
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: loath, not-worth-the-hype

1 Stars

Warning I'm about to swear a whole fucking lot!

I am so pissed at this book and at all the people who got this book a average 4.24 rating on Goodreads. How!?! Is the author bribing people? Has she held your loved ones hostage!?

The novel follows the relationship of Lucy and Josh rivals in life and the "workplace." I put workplace in brackets because the two leads rarely do anything but stare at each other and play immature games in the same vain as 2 year old boy pulling the hair of a girl he has a crush on. YET, they some how are up for a major promotion. Can I work here? Seems like there is a lot of drinking on the job. One day during a team building paintball day Lucy feels ill and Josh show his "sensitivity" by taking care of her. I put sensitivity in brackets because I'm tired of women giving men a fucking award for showing basic human decency.

Other then the annoying cliche story there is a odd amount of nice guy bashing in this book. What a weird bloody stance to take Sally Thorne. Lucy is used as the barometer of why nice is a bad thing to be since her people pleasing tendencies cause people to walk all over her. I'm sorry Sally Thorne you are mistaking insecure weakness for kindness. At one point Josh tries to gain the readers sympathy by mentioning how upset he gets when people comment on how handsome he is because he's always used for his looks and then left because he has a bad personality? You mean you won the genetic lottery and the one thing you are capable of changing is what turns people away. NOBODY FEELS SORRY FOR YOU, YOU LUNATIC!

Being an asshole needs to stop being the male leads characteristics in romances. Do you know what? Kindness is hella hot. Nice is the new sexy. Give me Peeta and Ron Weasley over moody vampires and sadistic lovers any day!!

And WHY is everyone so fucking stunning all the time. He is basically inhumanly gorgeous and she's looks like a disney princess. Then disney princess gets all, no one will ever love me all my friends are books. It's like fuck off. You'll be fine. Also, if you didn't know this yet from reading this horrendous book. Apparently Lucy is so tiny. I don't know if the author has a concussion but I as reader don't so please stop mentioning her fucking height to me every two paragraphs. I'm not a moron.

Also, so much sex and making out in this book!!! Such filler for the lack of story. It reads like an instruction manual. My hand pulls his hair, he thrusts... so on. It's like ya ya I know how sex works. Skip ahead.

The good news is this book pulls itself together in the end and makes your girl hearts swoon.... I'm fuck kidding the ending wraps this shit up so quickly you almost think you missed a chapter. In the end love is declared, jobs are saved and you find out that the handsome guy is actually a stalker hoarding your garbage and painting his room the colour of your eyes. I thought then the novel was going to take a cool twist and become like You by Caroline Kepnes and Josh was going to murder Lucy but no she lived and he lived and the world is now a darker place for that.

This book likes to play with the notion that there is a thin line between love and hate and the two can easily be misconstrued. I'll have to disagree with you there because there's no confusion here I absolutely hate this fucking book.
329 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Hating Game.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 3, 2017 – Shelved
August 3, 2017 – Shelved as: to-read
September 17, 2017 –
page 25
6.51% "I'm not loving it so far. It's that whole hate-love trope but the hate is so ridiculous and childish. Who expels this much energy on another person? Or I might just be void of any form of passion, what can I say I'm lazy."
September 18, 2017 – Started Reading
September 19, 2017 – Shelved as: loath
September 19, 2017 – Finished Reading
February 19, 2018 – Shelved as: not-worth-the-hype

Comments Showing 51-95 of 95 (95 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 51: by Zara (new) - added it

Zara I tried finishing this book for two months. But in the end it's in my DNF pile. The whole time the female lead was screaming her head off about her pet peeves (aka: Josh's every day shit) and how he looked so fuckable at the same time made me retch.

Would you really label that as hate to love? No. Oh, and don't forget how every time a woman comes along, the female lead dives into this huge pit of insecurity and blames everything on Josh and her 'un-attractiveness' that Josh oh so loves to go wax poetic over.

You gotta be fucking kidding me that this book got high ratings for the main lead's unhealthy relationship.

Also, if someone Lucy to be dense, nope, goodbye.


message 52: by Gina (new) - rated it 2 stars

Gina I thought the banter was funny initially but Lucy's immature whining and high schoolish neurotic fretting is getting on my NERVES. The audio really emphasizes the whiny BS. Tell me it gets better before I DNF......


Skyler Autumn Gina wrote: "I thought the banter was funny initially but Lucy's immature whining and high schoolish neurotic fretting is getting on my NERVES. The audio really emphasizes the whiny BS. Tell me it gets better b..."

I think from my review you and I both know it does not. DNF the sucker : P


message 54: by Gina (new) - rated it 2 stars

Gina Totally agree. I wavered between 1-2 stars because I hated juvenike, immature temoer-tantrum-throwing Lucy AND wanted to throat punch her a million freaking times. I've seen more mature characters in YA novels set in high school. I can't believe it got such stellar reviews. Barf.


message 55: by Ana (new) - rated it 1 star

Ana Paula thank you for writting everything i think of this book in a way i couldnt do it myself, why this book is so loved when it is so awful will remain a mistery to me


Skyler Autumn Gina wrote: "Totally agree. I wavered between 1-2 stars because I hated juvenike, immature temoer-tantrum-throwing Lucy AND wanted to throat punch her a million freaking times. I've seen more mature characters ..."

Agreed. It is infuriating such an unbelievably juvenile book got such great reviews.


Skyler Autumn Ana wrote: "thank you for writting everything i think of this book in a way i couldnt do it myself, why this book is so loved when it is so awful will remain a mistery to me"

Thanks! Ya, I have never been so inspired to write a review before, this book infuriated me.


Simalova I only read 25% of this book and shut it down! I got extreme headaches from my excessive eye rolling at every page. I can't understand who these people with 4 and 5 star reviews are and what they want from life! I always think that people who give such shitty books 4 and 5 star reviews have NEVER read a good book in their lives!


message 59: by Skyler (last edited Jan 25, 2019 12:23PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Skyler Autumn Simalova wrote: "I only read 25% of this book and shut it down! I got extreme headaches from my excessive eye rolling at every page. I can't understand who these people with 4 and 5 star reviews are and what they w..."

Oh ya I'm thinking a majority of people loving her book fall into either the only read romance/YA category or are rocking a total of one book read a year. There is no way people are picking up books like Beartown by Backman and then going to this one thinking it is a work of art. Like 5 Stars people? really? COME ON!


Tesalonica wow! amazing review


Skyler Autumn Tesalonica wrote: "wow! amazing review"

Awe! Thanks : )


message 62: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Love your review. So f-ing funny.


message 63: by Rachel (new)

Rachel Love your review. So f-ing funny.


message 64: by P. (new) - rated it 1 star

P. Kirby Being an asshole needs to stop being the male leads characteristics in romances. Do you know what? Kindness is hella hot. Nice is the new sexy. Give me Peeta and Ron Weasley over moody vampires and sadistic lovers any day!!

Yay-yes! This. This review is so very awesome, I want to marry it and have its opinionated babies.


Moksha Jain I agree with your every point but maybe a little less harshly. 😂 The book was a waste of time, I absolutely agree.


Skyler Autumn Moksha wrote: "I agree with your every point but maybe a little less harshly. 😂 The book was a waste of time, I absolutely agree."

I will always believe things more harshly lol


Skyler Autumn P. wrote: "Being an asshole needs to stop being the male leads characteristics in romances. Do you know what? Kindness is hella hot. Nice is the new sexy. Give me Peeta and Ron Weasley over moody vampires and..."

Awe!! Thank you


message 68: by Erin (new)

Erin This book sounds shitty but your review is 5 star gold!


message 69: by Eileen (new) - added it

Eileen An I DNF this book at 55 percent in?? It has put me in a reading slump! All the silly behavior is making me feel pessimistic about the human race.


Skyler Autumn Erin wrote: "This book sounds shitty but your review is 5 star gold!"

Awe! Thanks : )


Skyler Autumn Eileen wrote: "An I DNF this book at 55 percent in?? It has put me in a reading slump! All the silly behavior is making me feel pessimistic about the human race."

lol ya this book upset me just cause I couldn't believe women were swooning over this romance, we need to stop glamourizing this toxic shit.


shannon I was expecting more of a Lizzy Bennet/Mr. Darcy thing and...nope. I don't even need to write a review because you already put it so well :)


message 73: by Marialyce (new)

Marialyce "Nice" male bashing has become a thing.....and yes, I am sick of it too!


Skyler Autumn shannon wrote: "I was expecting more of a Lizzy Bennet/Mr. Darcy thing and...nope. I don't even need to write a review because you already put it so well :)"

Glad to help : )


Skyler Autumn Marialyce wrote: ""Nice" male bashing has become a thing.....and yes, I am sick of it too!"

I know. It's like how have we not got over this nonsense by now?


Denisa Parete LOL your review is sooo funny. I wish I could be that mean.


Skyler Autumn Denisa wrote: "LOL your review is sooo funny. I wish I could be that mean."

With great power comes great responsibility.


Danica I DNF halfway through and came to the reviews to see if I was the only one who was super disappointed. I agree 100%. It's crazy, so many people have put this in their top 5 romances for this year. I was trying to push through and find what they saw in this books. But nope, no more.


Skyler Autumn Danica wrote: "I DNF halfway through and came to the reviews to see if I was the only one who was super disappointed. I agree 100%. It's crazy, so many people have put this in their top 5 romances for this year. ..."

I know its amazing there is not more 1 star reviews like mine on this book. I honestly am so shocked that this book blew up but we do live in a world where After and 50 Shades of Grey have been made into a movies.


Morgan I couldnt have said it better myself!This is one of my most hated books of all time. I hated Lucy with a passion. She was the most annoying character I've ever came across and acts like a 5 year old.


message 81: by Erin (new) - added it

Erin I didn’t hate this book, but I also cannot disagree with your review 🤣


Skyler Autumn Erin wrote: "I didn’t hate this book, but I also cannot disagree with your review 🤣"

lol : P


message 83: by Erin (new)

Erin Densley I feel the exact same way! I am astonished at all the praise! Also why would an executive assistant with very little experience be up for a COO position in a large company?? Plus they would have been fired for inappropriate behaviour. Argh I’m annoyed at how worked up this stupid book has gotten me.


message 84: by Lu (new) - rated it 1 star

Lu Your review is beautiful!


Skyler Autumn Lu wrote: "Your review is beautiful!"

Thanks : )

Erin wrote: "I feel the exact same way! I am astonished at all the praise! Also why would an executive assistant with very little experience be up for a COO position in a large company?? Plus they would have be..."

I know the logic in this novel is absurd.


message 86: by Andi (new)

Andi Varga I haven't read the book yet, I dont know if I will. But this review is just hella passionate! I like it. I have the same problems with soo many books.


Skyler Autumn Skyler wrote: "Andi wrote: "I haven't read the book yet, I dont know if I will. But this review is just hella passionate! I like it. I have the same problems with soo many books."

lol Thanks! Ya 2017 Skyler felt a lot feels toward this read.



Solianne Rubattino I laughed sooo hard AHAHAHHAHAHAHA


message 89: by Devi (new) - rated it 2 stars

Devi Yulia Oh my God, I absolutely agree with your review!!! I literally couldn't stand reading this book until the end. I even had to skip several pages (mostly when it came to their making-out sessions), so I could finish reading it faster. I so don't get why this book is hella popular! I kinda hoped for more office fights or conflicts between Lucy and Josh, because hellooo that's the title, right? How the hell is this The Hating Game is the girl is horny all the time and the guy becomes suddenly predictable? How they could already kiss before it hadn't even reached the middle of the book? And who actually got the promotion??? Isn't it the goal of their competition? I was really disappointed with this book!


Skyler Autumn Solianne wrote: "I laughed sooo hard AHAHAHHAHAHAHA"

Always glad to make someone laugh : P


Skyler Autumn Devi wrote: "Oh my God, I absolutely agree with your review!!! I literally couldn't stand reading this book until the end. I even had to skip several pages (mostly when it came to their making-out sessions), so..."

So disappointed. Honestly I'm just shocked either one was up for a promotion lol. They didn't seem that on the ball.


Melissa (SweetMelissa) Your review is the best thing about this book!


Skyler Autumn Melissa (SweetMelissa) wrote: "Your review is the best thing about this book!"

lol awe thanks : )


message 94: by Angie (new)

Angie Wish I could have a shelf of favourite reviews 'cause this would be in it.


Skyler Autumn Angie wrote: "Wish I could have a shelf of favourite reviews 'cause this would be in it."

lol Amazing! Fave compliment. Thanks Girl : )


« previous 1 2 next »
back to top