cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Potato Hack: Weight Loss Simplified
4.03
really liked it
Potato

Potato potato potato potatoes and more potato. Just eat potatoes. Potato potato potato. Quick read. Lots of references if you want the science.
Feb 12, 2017
not set
Feb 12, 2017
 
The Library at Mount Char
4.09
it was amazing
Omg, this is the best book I've read in awhile. I hope Scott Hawkins writes more books. ...more
Nov 26, 2020
Jan 21, 2016
Jan 18, 2016
 
Ninth House (Alex Stern, #1)
4.04
it was amazing
Ahhhhhhh! This was so gooood!
Feb 08, 2020
Sep 04, 2019
 
Counterpoint: A Memoir of Bach and Mourning
4.02
liked it
My favorite quote from the book,
"Grief is like the ether of the heavens, or the phlogiston of combustible bodies, a mysterious, intangible substance
...more
Apr 16, 2021
Dec 02, 2020
 
The Girls, Alone: Six Days in Estonia
3.41
really liked it
Pretty good little read

Nice little read. Nothing too exciting. Accessible language while still being descriptive and thoughtful. Curious about what he
...more
Oct 03, 2015
Oct 03, 2015
 
Little Bee
3.71
liked it
I thought it was good overall. I got tired of the excessive descriptions, especially during the end and action scenes. But then again, I am an impatie ...more
Feb 18, 2015
Feb 17, 2015
 
Sharp Objects
3.98
really liked it
Hm

Now I've read all three of her books. Some pretty disturbing and dark stuff. I'd have to say that gone girl has been my favorite.
...more
Jan 31, 2015
Jan 31, 2015
 
The City & The City
3.90
Okay

The mystery and possibilities of the book keep you reading but what ends up getting explains is very unsatisfying. Okay, overall.
not set
Aug 06, 2015
 
Dark Places
3.93
really liked it
No gone girl

This was pretty good. Kept the mystery going to the end. I liked gone girl better. Guess ill read sharp objects next.
Dec 27, 2014
Dec 26, 2014
 
The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up: The Japanese Art of Decluttering and Organizing (Magic Cleaning #1)
3.85
liked it
Ok

Interesting to see how the Japanese origins of the book really shine through it. Not a lot of meat to it- probably could be condensed to a long blog
...more
Jan 14, 2015
Jan 12, 2015
 
Holy Cow
3.35
really liked it
Lol

What a book!
Feb 04, 2015
Feb 04, 2015
 
The Happiness Project: Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning, Clean My Closets, Fight Right, Read Aristotle, and Generally Have More Fun
3.63
liked it
It was pretty good. I'd wanted to start my own happiness project during the first half, though by the end of the book, I felt underwhelmed. ...more
Feb 17, 2015
Feb 17, 2015
 
Catharsis (Awaken Online #1)
4.40
it was amazing
Awesome

Fast paced and interesting this book will keep you up to finish it all in one go. Can't wait to read book two.
...more
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
 
The Good Neighbor
3.36
liked it
Fine

It was a quick little read that did what I wanted- held my interest to knock it out in one sitting.
Oct 04, 2015
Oct 03, 2015
 
Daughters of the Red Light: Coming of Age in Mumbai's Brothels (DAWNS Global Humanitarian Storytelling Book 2)
3.39
liked it
Interesting

I knew this was a short single – but I guess I expected a little bit more from it. Not bad.
Oct 03, 2015
Oct 03, 2015
 
The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry
3.99
really liked it
I thought this was pretty good. Read through it quickly. Had a few nice twists.
Feb 15, 2015
Feb 15, 2015
 
Ready Player One (Ready Player One, #1)
4.24
really liked it
A gift from Vis. I loved it. Quick read, entertaining.
Jul 25, 2012
Jul 25, 2012
 
Beacon 23
3.91
really liked it
Good

Good good good. Enjoyed reading this. I thought it was just as well written as most of his other writing.
May 09, 2016
Apr 29, 2016
 
Sand Omnibus (Sand, #1-5)
3.97
really liked it
Liked it

Good for what it was. Not the depth or mystery of some of the other books, I'd say. Still enjoyable.
...more
Apr 27, 2016
Apr 16, 2016
 
The Pilgrimage
3.64
really liked it
I liked it.
Mar 03, 2015
Mar 03, 2015
 
The Recovering: Intoxication and Its Aftermath
3.99
really liked it
I liked the writing quite a bit. I did not enjoy how much she loved AA. Made me roll my eyes a bit. Whole thing could have stood to be edited down a b ...more
Aug 13, 2018
Jul 28, 2018
 
Tortured Souls: The Legend of Primordium
3.59
liked it
Odd
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 22, 2015
 
Wool Omnibus (Silo, #1)
4.20
it was amazing
Loved them!
not set
Jul 25, 2012
 
Once a Runner
4.07
it was amazing
Exciting

Even though I'm not a runner, this tale was enthralling! The descriptive prose was marvelous and enchanting. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
...more
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 03, 2015
 
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
3.89
liked it
Pretty good so far. Kind of heavy on the Spanish slang.
Jul 31, 2012
Jul 25, 2012
 
The Boys in the Boat: Nine Americans and Their Epic Quest for Gold at the 1936 Berlin Olympics
4.34
really liked it
Long and dry

Overall I enjoyed this book. I love memoirs but this story was not told in a very engaging manner. Still, found it interesting.
Jan 17, 2015
Dec 28, 2014
 
First Shift: Legacy (Shift, #1)
4.22
really liked it
Excellent prequel.
not set
Jul 25, 2012
 
Adultery
3.07
liked it
Meh

I think I expected a lot more from this author. The book seemed trite, formulaic and the ending was really meh.
Aug 08, 2015
May 27, 2015
 
The Windup Girl
3.74
it was amazing
Awesome

I really enjoyed this book. It was great to read something with a lot of originality. Two thumbs up.
Aug 03, 2015
May 27, 2015
 
The Perks of Being a Wallflower
4.21
liked it
Meh. For all the rave reviews, I thought it would be better.
Jan 2015
Jul 25, 2012
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 26 27