cover title author rating rating my rating notes Down arrow read added
 
Bastard Tongues: A Trailblazing Linguist Finds Clues to Our Common Humanity in the World's Lowliest Languages
3.78
really liked it
Notes are private!
May 09, 2008
May 01, 2008
 
By Hook or By Crook: A Journey in Search of English
3.61
liked it
Notes are private!
Jul 11, 2008
Jul 11, 2008
 
Righting the Mother Tongue: From Olde English to Email, the Tangled Story of English Spelling
3.53
liked it
Notes are private!
Nov 07, 2008
Oct 29, 2008
 
I Love it When You Talk Retro: Hoochie Coochie, Double Whammy, Drop a Dime, and the Forgotten Origins of American Speech
3.43
it was ok
Notes are private!
Apr 18, 2009
Apr 18, 2009
 
In the Land of Invented Languages: Esperanto Rock Stars, Klingon Poets, Loglan Lovers, and the Mad Dreamers Who Tried to Build a Perfect Language
4.08
really liked it
Notes are private!
May 29, 2009
May 23, 2009
 
Wordwatching: Breaking into the Dictionary: It's His Word Against Theirs
3.47
liked it
Notes are private!
Aug 21, 2010
Aug 16, 2010
 
The English is Coming!
3.08
liked it
Notes are private!
Oct 05, 2010
Sep 18, 2010
 
The Pun Also Rises: How the Humble Pun Revolutionized Language, Changed History, and Made Wordplay More Than Some Antics
3.67
really liked it
Notes are private!
Feb 04, 2011
Feb 04, 2011
 
Is That a Fish in Your Ear?: Translation and the Meaning of Everything
3.76
really liked it
Notes are private!
Oct 30, 2011
Oct 16, 2011
 
Trip of the Tongue: Cross-Country Travels in Search of America's Languages
3.35
really liked it
Notes are private!
Apr 21, 2012
Apr 21, 2012
 
Found in Translation: How Language Shapes Our Lives and Transforms the World
3.82
really liked it
Notes are private!
Oct 16, 2012
Oct 13, 2012
 
The Story of Ain't: America, Its Language, and the Most Controversial Dictionary Ever Published
3.10
it was ok
Notes are private!
Nov 27, 2012
Nov 27, 2012
 
The Language of Food - A Linguist Reads the Menu
3.67
really liked it
Notes are private!
not set
Dec 01, 2014
 
That Should Be a Word: A Language Lover’s Guide to Choregasms, Povertunity, Brattling, and 250 Other Much-Needed Terms for the Modern World
3.54
liked it
Notes are private!
not set
Apr 30, 2015
 
From Skedaddle to Selfie: Words of the Generations
3.61
really liked it
Notes are private!
not set
Oct 25, 2015
 
Lingo: Around Europe in Sixty Languages
3.86
really liked it
Notes are private!
Dec 11, 2015
Dec 11, 2015
 
Mother Tongue: My Family's Globe-Trotting Quest to Dream in Mandarin, Laugh in Arabic, and Sing  in Spanish
3.91
really liked it
Notes are private!
May 19, 2016
May 19, 2016
 
When in French: Love in a Second Language
3.51
really liked it
Notes are private!
Oct 04, 2016
Jun 16, 2016
 
The African Svelte: Orthographic Mistakes and Miss Spellings That Often Make Sense
3.29
really liked it
Notes are private!
Oct 24, 2016
Oct 24, 2016
 
Speaking American: How Y'all, Youse, and You Guys Talk: A Visual Guide
4.12
it was amazing
Notes are private!
Oct 25, 2016
Oct 25, 2016
 
What the F: What Swearing Reveals About Our Language, Our Brains, and Ourselves
3.68
really liked it
Notes are private!
Oct 26, 2016
Oct 26, 2016
 
The Bonjour Effect: The Secret Codes of French Conversation Revealed
3.91
really liked it
Notes are private!
Nov 13, 2016
Nov 13, 2016
 
Away with Words: An Irreverent Tour Through the World of Pun Competitions
3.68
really liked it
Notes are private!
Jan 14, 2017
Jan 14, 2017
 
Schadenfreude, A Love Story: Me, the Germans, and 20 Years of Attempted Transformations, Unfortunate Miscommunications, and Humiliating Situations That Only They Have Words For
3.79
really liked it
Notes are private!
Feb 09, 2017
not set
Feb 09, 2017
 
Wordplay: Arranged & Deranged Wit
3.71
liked it
Notes are private!
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
 
Swearing Is Good for You: The Amazing Science of Bad Language
4.00
really liked it
Notes are private!
not set
Sep 12, 2017
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'language' »