bookshelves

all (1779)
« 1 3 4 »

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Angelus (The Human Genus, #1)
3.89
really liked it

Mary C. Moore takes you on a charming, one-of-a-kind journey into an intriguing world of sapiens, demons, angels and half-breeds in this contemporary
...more
not set
Sep 26, 2012
 
Torso
3.89
really liked it


This chilling, noir-inflected true American crime tale concerning Cleveland's so-called "Torso Murders" (because that's usually what was found) is pre
...more
Jan 2009
Apr 08, 2012
 
Monsters of the Sea
4.02
really liked it

"Monsters of the Sea" is for those with a great curiosity about the mysterious creatures that lurk beneath the surface of the sea that humans have som
...more
not set
Apr 10, 2012
 
Afraid
3.90
really liked it

Full blown, all-out, balls-to-the-wall terror!

There were many, many times throughout reading this suspense story that my mouth dropped open in horror,
...more
not set
Jan 19, 2013
 
The Scarecrow Walks at Midnight (Goosebumps, #20)
3.68
liked it


"They won't obey me!" -- Reading that line gave me chills!

When two children spend a summer vacation on their grandparent's farm where the corn is grow
...more
Jan 2010
Jun 04, 2012
 
Real Wolfmen: True Encounters in Modern America
4.05
really liked it

It moves like a shadow through the dark woods, and as the moon emerges from between the clouds, it reveals the creature in the center of the clearing.
...more
Jun 20, 2013
Dec 04, 2012
 
Frozen Frights Volume 1
3.00
liked it

Performances were a GREAT delivery, the production and effects were well done, as well, but the writing itself somewhat lacked in the "scary" departme
...more
Jan 05, 2014
Jan 02, 2014
 
Monsters of Texas
4.27
really liked it

When most people think of Texas, there's usually some certain stereotypes that come along with it — besides the notion of cowboys, there's the clichés
...more
Dec 26, 2012
Apr 19, 2012
 
Bitten (Lauren Westlake Mysteries)
3.61
it was ok

Mostly, I admire people who have the courage to publish their writings, exposing themselves to the world that includes criticism and rejection.

The aut
...more
Jan 05, 2013
Dec 26, 2012
 
Containment
3.35
really liked it


Though quite redolent of Alien, this zombie story set in space was a fast, but enjoyable read, especially, if you love space horror fiction.

There is
...more
Dec 2007
Apr 17, 2012
 
Bury Me Deep and Other Southern Folk Songs
4.00
really liked it

Bury Me Deep and Other Southern Folk Songs is the second Josh Reynolds book I've read and definitely won't be the last!

It's an anthology of Southern-F
...more
Jan 22, 2013
Dec 12, 2012
 
The Wrong Night In Texas
4.00
really liked it

STAY OUT OF THE WOODS!

Something isn’t right in Texas, and I'm not talking about the politics and slight educations.

In Woodville, Texas Pop. 781, a ser
...more
Apr 2010
Apr 08, 2012
 
I'm Gonna Tell: ...an Offbeat Tale of Survival
4.20
really liked it

In the starring role of 'Sarah' in George Romero's 1985 classic "Day of the Dead", Lori Cardille played the first strong female lead I had ever seen i
...more
May 23, 2012
May 08, 2012
 
Sea Monsters: Prehistoric Creatures of the Deep
4.14
really liked it

My then 7 year old little brother was on a serious sea monster kick
after visiting the awesome Onion Creek Mosasaur exhibit at the Texas Memorial Muse
...more
not set
Apr 10, 2012
 
Wet Work
3.65
it was amazing


Society collapses when the tail end of an aberrant comet emits radiation that infects the living and refreshes the dead.

Read this when I was 17 after
...more
Jul 1993
Apr 09, 2012
 
Batman: The Killing Joke
4.36
it was amazing

Sympathy for The Joker.

What can i say about this extraordinary story that hasn't been said already in the other hundreds upon hundreds of reviews it h
...more
not set
Apr 08, 2012
 
Scarecrow
3.50
did not like it

It was tempting to put this book down from the very beginning, or at least after one of the worst (and completely pointless) sex scenes I have ever re
...more
Jan 05, 2013
Jun 04, 2012
 
Journal of a Ghosthunter: In Search of the Undead from Ireland to Transylvania
4.27
it was amazing


Being a lifelong taphophile, i've spent a lot of my free time in cemeteries. Wandering down worn cemetery paths, admiring cemetery architecture, explo
...more
not set
Apr 17, 2012
 
Escape from Innsmouth (Call of Cthulhu RPG)
4.17
really liked it

Something fishy this way comes.

Anyone who has read Lovecraft’s popular “Shadow Over Innsmouth” story will know that the once prosperous New England to
...more
Aug 12, 2014
May 15, 2014
 
John Dies at the End (John Dies at the End, #1)
3.92
did not like it

After finally picking up John Dies at the End at the overpowering staunch kvetching of friends and others who enjoyed this story so much, some going s
...more
not set
May 28, 2013
 
Breakdown Motel
3.12
it was ok


1.5 Stars

The author's note pretty much sums up the themes in this abduction/slavery story, to be clear, this is definitely **extremely explicit** Non-
...more
May 16, 2012
May 15, 2012
 
Witch's Canyon (Supernatural, #2)
3.95
liked it

Shapeshifting ghosts, a 40 year-old curse, brutal attacks, murder and mayhem.

Witch's Canyon (Supernatural #2) is an original story, but only an okay h
...more
Jun 20, 2012
May 27, 2012
 
In Search of Ogopogo
4.43
really liked it

Author/Researcher Arlene Gaal is clearly passionate and dedicated to tracking the many sightings of the famous cryptid lake monster Ogopogo of British
...more
Jun 03, 2012
Apr 19, 2012
 
A Pirate's Heart
4.00
really liked it

I must admit, I have never been into romance novels - one thing I can't stand is shmoopy, fluffy romance. Don't get me wrong, I loves me a heated shme
...more
Jun 20, 2012
May 14, 2012
 
Arkham Woods
3.08
really liked it

Lovecraftian horror manga (non japanese) with some attractive and visually disturbing art (Jhomar Soriano) lay within this story of supernatural night
...more
Jan 2010
Apr 08, 2012
 
Island Life
3.39
did not like it


It was by sheer force of will that I actually finished Island Life and it has sadly become one of my worst kindle buys.

To be fair, I realise that some
...more
May 08, 2012
Apr 08, 2012
 
Origin
3.77
liked it
3.5 stars, actually.

The premise was fascinating - The U.S. government, while under President Teddy Roosevelt, finds a sleeping demon complete with clo
...more
not set
Apr 08, 2012
 
Wake the Dead
4.00
really liked it

I blame Josh Reynolds.

Though I've been a fan of modern occult detectives (John Constantine, Harry Dresden) I had never been a big modern pulp enthusi
...more
Dec 26, 2012
Oct 16, 2012
 
Aliens: Fast Track to Heaven
2.94
did not like it


I'm sorry, is this a joke?

Out of fear that my review may run longer than the content of this entire book, i aim to keep it succinct.

Lots of problems w
...more
May 22, 2012
May 08, 2012
 
Star Wars Adventures: Boba Fett and the Ship of Fear
3.52
it was amazing


An enjoyable Boba Fett adventure that can be appreciated by ALL ages with no prerequisite needed on any backstory other than the SW movies, really. Bu
...more
Sep 2011
Apr 08, 2012
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 29 30