cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Columbine
4.26
really liked it
I know this book may not be for everyone but it was such an informative, compelling, and heartbreaking piece of work. It feels important.

As other rev
...more
Apr 2009
Mar 19, 2009
 
The Big Skinny: How I Changed My Fattitude
3.20
did not like it
Oh I had such an emotional response to this book.

Maybe the author feels happier with her life now that she is a "size 2 or 4" and is just gleeful at
...more
Mar 21, 2009
Mar 21, 2009
 
Push
3.82
liked it
I not sure exactly how to feel about this book. I did really enjoy the writing, and I think I could give it to some of my Street Lit fans. Unlike most ...more
Mar 03, 2009
Feb 17, 2009
 
The Eternal Smile: Three Stories
3.65
really liked it
The big follow up (of sorts) to Yang's Printz award (and National Book Award, and Eisner award...) winning American Born Chinese. The collaboration wi ...more
Apr 24, 2009
Apr 25, 2009
 
Old School
3.81
it was amazing
So this was beautifully written and set in my absolute favorite sort of boarding school setting, but what I REALLY loved about it was Wolff's ability ...more
Sep 11, 2009
Mar 23, 2009
 
The Holder of the World
3.53
liked it
Someone needs to reissue this with a better cover.

There is a staggering amount of plot in this book. Somehow it manages to combine puritan orphans, w
...more
May 08, 2009
Mar 25, 2009
 
On the Jellicoe Road
4.14
really liked it
I think that if I hadn't enjoyed Saving Francesca so much and if this book hadn't won the Printz, I would have put Jellicoe Road down around page 100. ...more
Apr 11, 2009
Jan 26, 2009
 
The Secret History
4.08
it was amazing
Let me preface this by saying that I could happily read any book set in a prep school or elite New England liberal arts schools. This is probably out ...more
Mar 23, 2009
Aug 25, 2008
 
Lush Life
3.69
liked it
3.5 stars really (why is it that the only half star I insist on declaring is the 3.5? Maybe because it marks the difference between pretty enjoyable a ...more
Apr 21, 2009
Dec 22, 2008
 
The Graveyard Book
4.12
really liked it
It took me a little bit to get into the audiobook version of this, despite Neil Gaiman himself narrating. It was very magical, and an eensy bit scary, ...more
Jan 02, 2009
Dec 19, 2008
 
If I Stay (If I Stay, #1)
3.96
it was amazing
At first glance this seems just like another good read alike for the Elsewhere, Before I Die, and Lovely Bones set - but this got to me despite the fa ...more
Apr 20, 2009
Apr 19, 2009
 
Little Children
3.61
liked it
Read this for the second time around for Genre X this month. I still like the very straightforward style and story, but I feel like there is nothing e ...more
Apr 05, 2009
not set
May 02, 2007
 
Bet Me
3.94
liked it
So I read this as part of my work genre study of romance - a genre I don't really ever read and generally don't enjoy. I picked up a Jennifer Crusie b ...more
Dec 14, 2009
Dec 06, 2009
 
Anansi Boys
4.01
really liked it
I listened to the audiobook, and I think that is the way to do this one if you can. The reader (Lenny Henry from that British comedy series Chef!) is ...more
Oct 14, 2009
Oct 11, 2009
 
The Unlikely Disciple: A Sinner's Semester at America's Holiest University
3.96
really liked it
Kevin Roose, 19 year old assistant to The Year of Living Biblically author AJ Jacobs, scored his own book deal. His assignment: take a semester out of ...more
May 15, 2009
May 04, 2009
 
This Full House (Make Lemonade, #3)
3.84
it was ok
I really wish I liked this more.

I loved the first two books in the trilogy so much - and then waited (and waited) for the third. All that anticipation
...more
Jun 14, 2009
Jun 13, 2009
 
Methland: The Death and Life of an American Small Town
3.67
liked it
So in some ways this was fascinating stuff - horrifying stories of drug induced paranoia and destruction, small town frustration at the ever changing ...more
Dec 05, 2009
Nov 24, 2009
 
The Witches of Eastwick (Eastwick #1)
3.29
really liked it
This wasn't at all what I was expecting. Updike's sequel The Widows of Eastwick was on quite a few 'Best of 2008' lists so I thought I should give the ...more
Jan 31, 2009
Jan 01, 2009
 
Bonjour tristesse
3.62
liked it
Written by a precocious French teenager in 1954, this is exactly the kind of thing that precocious teenagers should read. Its slight, creepy, and feel ...more
Mar 27, 2009
Mar 26, 2009
 
American Adulterer
3.05
it was ok
I've been a big fan of the fictional biography lately - I love Blonde by Joyce Carol Oates and I found American Wife compelling (if flawed). When Amer ...more
Jul 25, 2009
Jul 23, 2009
 
The Underneath
3.94
really liked it
Beautifully written and very original book in the tradition of Watership Down and Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH. Wish I had someone to read this al ...more
Jan 2009
Aug 06, 2008
 
The One Hundred: A Guide to the Pieces Every Stylish Woman Must Own
3.82
liked it
The Good: The focus here is how to build a wardrobe of stylish pieces that you can wear in to your 50s and beyond, and I totally appreciate that. Garc ...more
Sep 02, 2009
Jul 23, 2009
 
Black Juice
3.73
liked it
So strange and inventive. I started this totally in awe of the world Lanagan creates in her first short story, and then watched and she created a tota ...more
Feb 06, 2009
Feb 02, 2009
 
Alphas (Alphas, #1)
3.72
did not like it
omg - this is trite, commercial, and WEIRD. I've never actually read The Clique, but I thought I'd try these in anticipation of our upcoming 'Friends ...more
Dec 27, 2009
Dec 28, 2009
 
Heartsinger
3.44
liked it
Very short and bittersweet fairy tale translated from the Norwegian. The story follows Mee, the child of deaf parents who has a beautiful singing voic ...more
May 27, 2009
May 20, 2009
 
Wintergirls
3.98
really liked it
Well written and intelligently conceived. Seeing things from Lia's perspective was tough - especially since her illness made her judgement and story h ...more
May 05, 2009
Apr 30, 2009
 
Leviathan (Leviathan, #1)
3.91
it was ok
It pains me to say this, but I don't think I can finish this one. The writing is very clever and the WWI alternate history is well conceived. I think ...more
Dec 22, 2009
Dec 14, 2009
 
Thank You, Jeeves (Jeeves, #5)
4.26
it was ok
Its all so terribly charming but I just can't get in to it.

I'm trying to read 18 books from the 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list in 2009
...more
Feb 09, 2009
Feb 02, 2009
 
The Right Stuff
4.23
really liked it
I'm not really attracted to the subject matter of this book on its own - fighter pilots who became the first astronauts and the beginnings of the spac ...more
Mar 18, 2009
Feb 24, 2009
 
Lives of Girls and Women
4.00
really liked it
This book is lovely, lovely, lovely. Everything feels immediate and true and the coming of age stuff is totally on point. There are little bits of gro ...more
Sep 30, 2009
Sep 09, 2009
Rss infinite More books shelved as '2009' »
« previous 1 3 4