Dismiss
Note: some of our members have reported that not all read dates are showing on this page. While we work on making sure they correctly display on this page, you can still view your dates on your review or on the book page.

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Heretic (Beyond the Wall, #1)
3.80
really liked it
This was good fun - for the reader, that is; the characters largely had a horrible time of it all. The author proclaims the TV show Firefly as his mai ...more
Dec 10, 2015
Dec 06, 2015
 
Contract of Defiance (Spectras Arise Trilogy, #1)
3.89
really liked it
Marvellous stuff. This is proper all-guns-blazing space opera in the vein of Firefly or Blake's 7, or maybe even Stars Wars, though thankfully it does ...more
Apr 16, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
 
Android Hunters (The Corli Saga, #1)
4.16
liked it
This book was an October 2015 pick for the Space Opera Fans group, having been nominated several times. It has lots of lovely five-star reviews. I fee ...more
Oct 26, 2015
Oct 03, 2015
 
The Navigator
4.00
liked it
This is a very interesting read, full of ideas and with a highly-unusual narrator figure to provide a god-like point of view. Other reviews have outli ...more
Apr 2012
Mar 05, 2012
 
Seers of Verde: The Legend Fulfilled
4.05
liked it
This a tricky review to write. Seers of Verde was selected as a group read in July 2016 by the Space Opera Fans group. This isn't space opera. Therefo ...more
Jul 15, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
 
Corbyn: The Strange Rebirth of Radical Politics
3.88
liked it
The background to the history of the Labour Party was interesting, but as an analysis of what is happening with the party today under Corbyn's leaders ...more
Sep 22, 2016
Sep 15, 2016
 
Brave New Girls: Tales of Girls and Gadgets
4.34
really liked it
I really liked this collection. The stories, though all science fiction, cover quite a lot of ground, from technological traumas on Earth to short sli ...more
Dec 02, 2015
Oct 03, 2015
 
Star Cruise: Marooned
3.73
really liked it
I enjoyed this. The sci-fi setting of a futuristic planet-hopping cruise for rich folk was very well imagined and innovative - the 'world building' wa ...more
Sep 10, 2015
Sep 06, 2015
 
Red Gone Bad
3.91
liked it
This is a rather mixed take on traditional fairy tales. The first sees Red seek a slice of the action after putting up with the boasts of her friends ...more
Jan 28, 2014
Jan 01, 2014
 
Hero (The Hero Rebellion #1)
3.96
liked it
I admit I'm the wrong side of 40 to be the target audience for this book, but YA sci-fi generally provides a good story so I thought I'd give it a go. ...more
Mar 14, 2016
Mar 03, 2016
 
Contract of Betrayal (Spectras Arise Trilogy, #2)
3.82
really liked it
This is an action-packed blast of a sequel which pretty much carries on in the same vein as the first. It's a good, solid sci-fi thriller. What I didn ...more
May 19, 2015
May 02, 2015
 
Telepathist
3.70
really liked it
I usually shy away from telepathy in sci-fi as, well, the notion just seems too fantastic. This book is the first I've read that offers an explanation ...more
Jan 20, 2017
Jan 14, 2017
 
Jethabel (Leviathan #1)
4.25
really liked it
I really liked this. The book blurb is deceptive: this is a story of survival, set upon a not-quite derelict alien spacecraft. And when I say alien, t ...more
Nov 23, 2013
Nov 20, 2013
 
Century Rain
3.91
it was amazing
This was the first Alastair Reynolds book I read and I thoroughly enjoyed it (enough for me to seek out his other works, anyway). The clever 'big dumb ...more
Jul 2011
Jan 07, 2012
 
The Chosen One (Sword of the Gods Saga, #1)
3.86
it was amazing
I read this many months ago and to my shame forgot to post a rating/review. This first volume is a little rough-and-ready at times, but I thoroughly e ...more
Mar 31, 2015
Jan 24, 2015
 
Conviction: A Spectras Arise Novella (Spectras Arise Trilogy Book 0)
4.04
really liked it
Good solid novella that nicely sets up the main trilogy. It reads like a grittier version of Firefly, so there's much to like! Probably best to read t ...more
Feb 16, 2016
Feb 23, 2016
 
The Szuiltan Alliance
3.00
really liked it
I've been searching for a decent indie space opera for a while and this is certainly one of the better ones. At heart, it is a political thriller, wit ...more
Aug 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
 
Seeing Red (Ambassador #1)
3.85
really liked it
I liked this a lot. It's more a political thriller than sci-fi, with alien cultures not overly 'alien'. I think the story would have worked just as we ...more
Oct 12, 2016
Sep 28, 2016
 
Pushing Ice
4.02
it was amazing
Wow. Every time I pick up an Alastair Reynolds book I am swept away into space-opera heaven. This one set up loads of misdirections - the prologue thr ...more
Aug 04, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
 
Take Back Tomorrow
3.81
liked it
I read this after it was nominated as the 'non-Fantasy book of the month' in the Goodreads Indie Book Club Group. It's an unusual take on a time-trave ...more
Oct 24, 2012
Oct 14, 2012
 
Dauntless (The Lost Fleet, #1)
3.94
liked it
An enjoyable romp in the 'military sci-fi' vein. The story was a bit predictable and the dialogue a little stilted at times, but there were some nice ...more
Oct 20, 2016
Oct 15, 2016
 
Contract of War (Spectras Arise Trilogy, #3)
4.02
really liked it
A good finale to this sci-fi trilogy. There's action aplenty, heroes and villains, spaceships, drama, subterfuge and even weird crab aliens (or did I ...more
Jun 03, 2015
May 02, 2015
 
Camera Obscura (The Bookman Histories, #2)
3.44
it was ok
Hmm... It had been a while since I'd read any 'steampunk' (I'm still not convinced the Toby Frost books qualify), my last proper encounter being the d ...more
Oct 2011
Jan 14, 2012
 
Like a Fiery Elephant: The Story of B.S. Johnson
4.16
it was amazing
This is best biography I've read to date. B.S. Johnson comes across as a man full of inner conflicts (even if he did come across as a bit arrogant at ...more
Sep 03, 2013
Apr 07, 2013
 
Dracula
3.98
really liked it
I first read this years ago, but couldn't remember a lot of it so picked it up again. What struck me was how much of the vampire legend was set down b ...more
Feb 24, 2016
Feb 19, 2016
 
Sub Rosa (Turnabout Tale, #1)
4.00
liked it
I liked it: this was a quick, light-hearted read. The modern touches to the traditional Beauty and the Beast storyline were nice (I liked the audio bo ...more
Dec 18, 2013
Dec 10, 2013
 
Sword of the Gods: The Dark Lord's Vessel (Sword of the Gods Saga, # 4)
4.73
it was amazing
Oh my word. More soap opera than sci-fi / fantasy, but all the better for it. This instalment is even more epic in scope than previous books - battles ...more
Nov 18, 2016
Nov 18, 2016
 
Who Needs Cleopatra?
3.70
really liked it
I first came across Steve Redwood when I was an editor of a small-press short story magazine, whereupon I quickly fell in love with his bizarre sense ...more
not set
Jan 11, 2012
 
American Gods (American Gods, #1)
4.11
really liked it
I feel a little guilty that this is the first Neil Gaiman novel I've read (apart from Good Omens, his collaboration with Terry Pratchett), despite lov ...more
Feb 22, 2012
Feb 03, 2012
 
Night of the Living Trekkies
3.89
really liked it
Marvellous! This delivers exactly what a reader wants from a zombie tale. As a work of literature, it delivers the goods in gory straightforward fashi ...more
Apr 23, 2015
Jan 17, 2012
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6