cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Beatles: The Biography
4.14
really liked it
Good info on the pre-stardom Liverpool/Hamburg stuff; after that, it's pretty hard to come up with info that hasn't been written a zillion times befor ...more
Dec 2005
Apr 25, 2007
 
Blood Meridian, or the Evening Redness in the West
4.18
it was amazing
Way better than I expected. I hate westerns, but this doesn't fit in to that category, really, except for the setting. Although basically the whole bo ...more
Feb 2007
Apr 25, 2007
 
The Amalgamation Polka
3.46
liked it
I might revise my rating on further reflection, but he is possibly my favorite modern author, and I went in with expectations the book didn't meet. No ...more
Nov 2007
Nov 07, 2007
 
Lipstick Traces: A Secret History of the Twentieth Century
3.97
it was amazing
Maybe my favorite book. Links the punk rock movement to Dada and Situationism and other lesser-known philosophical/artistic movements of the 20th cent ...more
Jan 1993
Apr 25, 2007
 
The God Delusion
3.89
really liked it
As an atheist, even I find some of Dawkins's anti-religious screeds grating, but that doesn't mean he's wrong, or that the case he presents won't hold ...more
Mar 2007
Apr 25, 2007
 
The Postman Always Rings Twice
3.81
liked it
I had to read something (comparatively) light after 600 pages of Gravity's Rainbow, so I chose this, which I've probably read before but don't remembe ...more
Sep 2007
Oct 03, 2007
 
The Fortress of Solitude
3.87
liked it
If it would have stayed with the evocations of a childhood/adolescence in Brooklyn in the 70s/80s, this would have been 5 stars (even with the superhe ...more
Apr 2007
Apr 25, 2007
 
The Brooklyn Follies
3.82
it was ok
Kinda shitty, actually. Maybe I was expecting more after having read The New York Trilogy, but this was almost like a beach read. If it was a movie (a ...more
Jan 2007
Apr 25, 2007
 
The Book of Revelation
3.61
really liked it
A book about obsession, sexual and otherwise. Actually, it's mostly about sex, but what isn't? Sex as power, sex as punishment, sex as identity and it ...more
Mar 2007
Apr 25, 2007
 
How Late it Was, How Late
3.57
liked it
Not bad for a book that dedicates 25 pages to a guy walking home. But it's still a book that dedicates 25 pages to a guy walking home.
Apr 19, 2010
Mar 11, 2010
 
Absurdistan
3.29
it was ok
Wow, this one sucked. Maybe I'm just going to have to embrace my inner snob fully and stop reading anything that's been on the NY Times Fiction Bestse ...more
Jun 2007
Apr 29, 2007
 
Divided Kingdom
3.55
really liked it
Dystopian fiction that skirts the edge of sci-fi, but not enough to make it suck. As with all Thomson's books, the ambiguity level is high. The least ...more
Mar 2007
Apr 25, 2007
 
The Firm
3.93
did not like it
I just remembered I actually read this heaving pile of dung at some point in my life. I'm not ashamed to admit it. Well, I'm kind of ashamed to admit ...more
Mar 1992
Jul 24, 2007
 
Ulysses
3.74
really liked it
Yeah, I actually read this thing. Tried it once years ago and couldn't get into it, but the second time around I found it much more welcoming. Worth t ...more
Oct 2000
Apr 25, 2007
 
The Replacements: All Over But the Shouting: An Oral History
3.80
really liked it
Definitely not an ass-kiss job, and just as often depressing as it is inspirational, this is a perfect portrait of one of my all-time favorite bands.
Nov 2007
Nov 05, 2007
 
Armed Forces
3.38
really liked it
The author wants to be Greil Marcus a little too much, but still, the book told me a lot I didn't know, which is rare.
Oct 2007
Nov 05, 2007
 
Don Quixote
3.86
liked it
Better than I'd expected it to be, but still - didn't they have editors in Cervantes' day? Could have used some trimming.
Nov 2006
Apr 25, 2007
 
Secret Rendezvous
3.64
really liked it
Fucking weird. For fans of Kafka and Beckett. I liked it much more than most people would, I'd wager.
Aug 2004
Apr 25, 2007
 
The Catcher in the Rye
3.79
it was amazing
Look, if you don't like this book, you've been middle-aged and reactionary since you were in grade school.
Jun 1986
Apr 25, 2007
 
I'll Fix You
0.00
Another 50s juvenile delinquent novel from the flea market. I salute you, you poor, misunderstood youth.
Aug 2007
Aug 05, 2007
 
Shalimar the Clown
3.86
it was ok
This is the 4th Rushdie book I started and couldn't finish. At this point, I'm placing the blame on him.
Dec 19, 2009
Jan 29, 2009
 
Going Native
3.58
it was amazing
Disturbing as hell. Definitely not for everyone, and likely not for most anyone at all. I loved it.
Jan 1995
Apr 25, 2007
 
Europe Central
3.90
really liked it
Worth reading, though I wouldn't imagine most people would be willing to slog through it.
Dec 2006
Apr 25, 2007
 
Gun, with Occasional Music
3.77
really liked it
As close to sci-fi as I'm willing to go. More of a noir mystery set in the future.
Mar 2004
Apr 25, 2007
 
What Is Your Dangerous Idea? : Today's Leading Thinkers on the Unthinkable
3.71
liked it
Great idea - if the essays were a bit more in-depth, I would have rated it a 4.
Jun 2007
Jul 15, 2007
 
The Young Punks
2.33
50s juvenile delinquent paperback I got at the flea market. Awesome!
Aug 2007
Aug 05, 2007
 
The Shroud of the Thwacker
3.19
liked it
Stupid, but the good kind of stupid.
Nov 2006
Apr 25, 2007
 
Gravity's Rainbow
4.03
liked it
I'll write a real review later.
Jul 2007
Jul 15, 2007
 
Heart of Darkness
3.42
it was amazing
None
Feb 1988
Apr 27, 2007
 
Spider
3.78
really liked it
None
Dec 2000
Apr 25, 2007
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7