The Wise Man's Fear (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #2)
4.57
it was amazing
I'm constantly amazed at how Rothfuss has taken what is basically the standard fantasy formula and turned it into something fresh, lyrical, and unpred ...more
Oct 20, 2011
Nov 09, 2011
 
The Mists of Avalon (Avalon, #1)
4.12
it was ok
I read this partly because it seems to always be lauded as the seminal feminist fantasy, yet for most of the book there is little feminism to recommen ...more
Mar 09, 2012
Nov 09, 2011
 
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)
4.12
liked it
Though most of the fantasy books that came out in the 2000s were tagged as "for fans of Harry Potter", CITY OF BONES unsurprisingly merits that name, ...more
Apr 15, 2012
Nov 09, 2011
 
Naamah's Blessing (Naamah Trilogy, #3)
4.19
liked it
Much as I love Jacqueline Carey, this was definitely her weakest for me. Basically for two reasons, it failed to deliver. The premise set up seemed to ...more
not set
Sep 16, 2011
 
Bridget Jones's Diary (Bridget Jones, #1)
3.75
did not like it
Reading this 16 years after it came out is certainly an interesting thing -- Bridget Jones's Diary is the prototypical blog, and the fact that there a ...more
Mar 15, 2012
Nov 19, 2011
 
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)
3.67
did not like it
I read this to see what all the hype was about. Still not sure I understand. Found it very repetitive ('lip biting', 'eye rolling', 'inner goddess'(?) ...more
Sep 14, 2012
Sep 12, 2012
 
Arrows of the Queen (Heralds of Valdemar, #1)
4.16
liked it
I feel that if I had found this book when I was younger I would have loved it with the burning of a thousand suns. Given that this is not the case, I ...more
Apr 29, 2012
Sep 16, 2011
 
The Elements of Scrum
3.93
really liked it
Well-organized and concise, a straight-forward approach to scrum (and agile) methodologies.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
 
The Dragonbone Chair (Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn, #1)
3.95
liked it
Williams has a definite flair for language which makes this an above-average fantasy. Pacing, though, prevents this from being a favorite: the first p ...more
Feb 12, 2012
Nov 15, 2011
 
People of the Wolf (North America's Forgotten Past, #1)
3.88
did not like it
So hard to get through -- the slogging pace, lack of interesting characters -- it's very easy to rag on Jean Auel for her Clan of the Cave Bear series ...more
May 17, 2012
Nov 15, 2011
 
Eats, Shoots & Leaves: The Zero Tolerance Approach to Punctuation
3.86
it was ok
The book is interesting when it talks about the history of punctuation. However, the author's technophobia is extremely grating. To be fair, she proba ...more
May 30, 2012
Sep 16, 2011
 
The White Goddess: A Historical Grammar of Poetic Myth, Amended and Enlarged Edition
4.02
it was ok
Hard to gauge this one -- in many cases it seems like Graves is talking out of his ear, and so many of his logical jumps are muddled and hard to follo ...more
Sep 24, 2012
Nov 09, 2011
 
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #1)
4.21
liked it
This book made me laugh more than any book I've read in a while. This was probably not intentional, but the over-the-top "this shit be whack, yo" vamp ...more
Apr 25, 2012
Nov 19, 2011
 
Queenmaker: A Novel of King David's Queen
3.82
really liked it
Loved the writing and the worldbuilding, only thing that prevented a 5-star was that David was a bit too much of an unscrupulous jerk for me to take a ...more
Nov 13, 2012
May 21, 2012
 
The Darkness That Comes Before (The Prince of Nothing, #1)
3.78
did not like it
After the 30-page prologue I was skeptical. Another chapter in with nothing but confusing names and little sign of a plot just clinched it.
Jul 17, 2012
Dec 29, 2011
 
The Devil Wears Prada (The Devil Wears Prada, #1)
3.70
liked it
Enjoyable and entertaining. The writing was good enough to make me feel anxiety. On the other hand, the writing made me feel anxiety.
May 24, 2012
Sep 16, 2011
 
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks
3.82
really liked it
This is what chick-lit should aspire to be: fresh and feminist, also funny.
Apr 10, 2012
Sep 16, 2011
 
Coraline
4.03
liked it
Delightfully spooky. Loved the cleverness of the heroine.
Mar 17, 2012
Sep 16, 2011
 
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, #1)
3.96
liked it
Only one word for this: cracktastic.
Jan 23, 2012
Sep 16, 2011
 
The Cloud Roads (Books of the Raksura, #1)
3.96
None
not set
Jul 06, 2015
 
Neverwhere
4.18
liked it
None
not set
Sep 16, 2011
 
Songs of Innocence and of Experience
4.11
liked it
None
Aug 16, 2012
Nov 19, 2011
 
Catherine, Called Birdy
3.70
liked it
None
not set
Sep 16, 2011
 
The Norse Myths
4.20
really liked it
None
Jul 27, 2012
Dec 29, 2011
 
The Agricola and The Germania
3.98
liked it
None
May 13, 2013
May 10, 2013
 
Scott Pilgrim, Volume 1: Scott Pilgrim's Precious Little Life
4.18
did not like it
None
May 11, 2012
Sep 16, 2011
 
Where the Sidewalk Ends
4.29
liked it
None
not set
Nov 19, 2011
 
The Giving Tree
4.38
really liked it
None
not set
Nov 09, 2011
 
Marked (House of Night, #1)
3.79
liked it
None
not set
Sep 16, 2011
 
Peach Cobbler Murder (Hannah Swensen, #7)
3.91
it was ok
None
Apr 11, 2016
Apr 06, 2016
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 31 32