cover title author rating rating my rating review Up arrow read added
 
The Sisters of Sinai: How Two Lady Adventurers Discovered the Hidden Gospels
3.99
it was ok
None
Aug 14, 2010
Aug 14, 2010
 
Women Without Men: A Novel of Modern Iran
3.58
liked it
None
Dec 2012
Nov 29, 2012
 
Pagan's Vows (Pagan Chronicles, #3)
3.98
liked it
None
Mar 08, 2009
Mar 06, 2009
 
The Towers of Trebizond
3.69
really liked it
None
Oct 05, 2015
Jan 08, 2013
 
Persepolis 2: The Story of a Return (Persepolis, #2)
4.24
really liked it
Just as good as the first part...
Jan 2009
Mar 25, 2009
 
Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood (Persepolis, #1)
4.24
really liked it
Beautiful, funny, and sad - a perfect graphic novel.
Apr 02, 2009
Mar 25, 2009
 
Defenders of the Faith: Charles V, Suleyman the Magnificent, and the Battle for Europe, 1520-1536
3.95
it was ok
Readable popular history on an interesting topic, but no footnotes and terrible, unhelpful maps.
Jun 22, 2017
Mar 08, 2013
 
Pagan's Scribe (Pagan Chronicles, #4)
3.88
really liked it
Sooo good - love Isidore, love the history, cried at the end, wanted much much more of these characters.
Mar 09, 2009
Mar 06, 2009
 
Pagan in Exile (Pagan Chronicles, #2)
3.91
it was ok
Not quite as enjoyable for me as the first Pagan book, but still a really enjoyable book with great characters.
Mar 06, 2009
Mar 06, 2009
 
A Short History of Byzantium
4.09
liked it
A great introductory read on the Byzantines. It definitely felt like a short history of great men of the empire, and I would have liked more backgroun ...more
Sep 18, 2016
Mar 25, 2016
 
Pagan's Crusade (Pagan Chronicles, #1)
3.74
liked it
Pagan is a fantastic character and this is a super enjoyable book. I've read it before but couldn't resist re-reading it when I noticed my library had ...more
Mar 07, 2009
Mar 06, 2009
 
Inside Central Asia: A Political and Cultural History of Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz stan, Tajikistan, Turkey, and Iran
3.49
it was ok
I was looking for a general book about Central Asia. This book did give me a general overview of the region. However:

It is filled with spelling and gr
...more
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'middle-east' »