cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Extra Ordinary Life of Frank Derrick, Age 81
3.56
it was amazing
When I was in my twenties, I spent a considerable amount of time jumping up and down in fairly mindless fashion to the excitable rock-and-roll styling ...more
not set
Jun 24, 2014
 
The Detective and the Devil
4.12
it was amazing
I wrote this. It's the best book you'll ever read, apart from the three other books I wrote, which are also the best book you'll ever read.
not set
Mar 24, 2016
 
Total Chaos
3.86
really liked it
Wonderful book - think French Chandler, with jazz and pastis instead of big bands and hooch. Set in Marseilles in the 90s (I think), a racial melting ...more
not set
Mar 31, 2014
 
The Gospel of Loki
3.69
it was amazing
Look, I'm going to name-drop now. Deal with it.

I bought Joanne Harris's latest book, The Gospel of Loki, at its launch. Joanne signed it for me (look,
...more
Feb 19, 2014
Feb 19, 2014
 
Gillespie and I
3.81
it was amazing
I have just this minute finished this book.

It is beautiful. It is deft. It is as well-constructed as anything I have read. It is thrilling. It has no
...more
not set
May 21, 2014
 
Stoner
4.28
it was amazing
Review to follow. I don't how I can love a book which was just so relentlessly depressing. And yet. And yet.
not set
Jun 05, 2014
 
The Goldfinch
3.87
it was amazing
Astonishing. Beautiful. Precise. Intricate.

Read it.
not set
Feb 09, 2014
 
The Shadow-Line
3.74
it was amazing
None
not set
Sep 02, 2013
 
The English Monster
3.48
it was amazing
None
not set
Oct 23, 2014
 
The Son
3.98
it was amazing
None
not set
May 26, 2013
 
The Marlowe Papers
3.67
really liked it
None
Jun 18, 2013
May 26, 2013
 
Jack Glass
3.72
really liked it
None
not set
Sep 02, 2013
 
The Poisoned Island
3.62
it was amazing
None
not set
Oct 23, 2014
 
The Shining Girls
3.49
really liked it
None
not set
Sep 02, 2013
 
The House of Doctor Dee
3.38
it was amazing
None
not set
May 26, 2014
 
The Last Banquet
3.61
it was amazing
None
not set
Sep 02, 2013
 
War and Peace
4.11
it was amazing
None
Feb 09, 2014
May 26, 2013
 
The Black Prince
3.94
really liked it
None
Nov 04, 2013
Sep 02, 2013
 
Savage Magic
3.65
it was amazing
None
not set
Oct 23, 2014
 
Elijah's Mermaid
3.52
really liked it
None
not set
May 26, 2013
Rss infinite