cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Fighting to the End: The Pakistan Army's Way of War
4.01
Carol Christine Fair, SB'91, AM'97, AM'97, PhD'04
Author

From the author: "Since Pakistan was founded in 1947, its army has dominated the state. The mil
...more
not set
Jun 10, 2014
 
The Undefeated Mind: On the Science of Constructing an Indestructible Self
3.95
Alex Lickerman, AB'88, MD'92
Author

Legions of self-help authors rightly urge personal development as the key to happiness, but they typically fail to f
...more
not set
Sep 12, 2012
 
Contrition
4.03
Maura Weiler, AM'93
Author

From our pages, May–June/15: "Everything changed for Dorie McKenna, the protagonist of Maura Weiler’s debut novel, when she m
...more
not set
Oct 06, 2014
 
The Fatal Gift of Beauty: The Trials of Amanda Knox
3.48
Nina Burleigh, AM'87
Author

"Foxy Knoxy,” the Italian and British media call her. Voted the 2009 Woman of the Year in an Italian television-news poll, A
...more
not set
Nov 03, 2011
 
A Thousand Miles to Freedom: My Escape from North Korea
3.84
David Tian, AB'14
Translator

From the translator: "Eunsun Kim was born in North Korea, one of the most secretive and oppressive countries in the modern
...more
not set
Feb 02, 2015
 
Dedicated to God: An Oral History of Cloistered Nuns
3.92
Abbie Reese, MFA'13
Author

From the author: "As a subculture, cloistered monastic nuns live hidden from public view by choice. Once a woman joins the cl
...more
not set
Dec 06, 2013
 
The Brunist Day of Wrath
4.20
Robert Coover, AM’65
Author

From our pages (Sept–Oct/14)—
The Brunist Day of Wrath is Robert Coover’s behemoth of a sequel to The Origin of the Brunists,
...more
not set
Apr 21, 2014
 
Secret Language of Color: Science, Nature, History, Culture, Beauty of Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, & Violet
4.10
Arielle Eckstut, AB’92
Coauthor

From our pages (Nov–Dec/13): "Joann Eckstut, a color consultant, and Arielle Eckstut, a member of the children’s committ
...more
not set
Oct 29, 2013
 
The Fates Will Find Their Way
3.17
Hannah Pittard, AB'01
Author

From our pages (Mar–Apr/11): "The Halloween disappearance of 16-year-old Nora Lindell launches Pittard’s first novel, a web
...more
not set
Jan 03, 2012
 
Each Day to Me a Joy
5.00
Amy Azen, AB'50
Author

From the author: "Each Day to Me a Joy is a collection of poetry and plays about one woman’s commentary on spirituality, everyday
...more
not set
Mar 21, 2017
 
Gaining Currency: The Rise of the Renminbi
4.08
Eswar Prasad, PhD'92
Author

From the author: "China’s currency, the renminbi (RMB), has taken the world by storm. The RMB
is well on its way to becoming
...more
not set
Nov 28, 2016
 
The Boy Who Would Be a Helicopter
4.08
Vivian Gussin Paley, PhB’47
Author

Read the adaptation published in our Jan–Feb/12 issue:
http://mag.uchicago.edu/education-soc...

How does a teacher begi
...more
not set
Jan 10, 2012
 
After Leo Strauss: New Directions in Platonic Political Philosophy
4.25
Tucker Landy, AM'81, PhD'87
Author

From the author: "This book proposes a post-Straussian reading of Plato to advance a reconciliation of ancient and mo
...more
not set
Apr 25, 2014
 
America, But Better: The Canada Party Manifesto
3.82
Chris Cannon, AM'03
Author

From our pages (Sept–Oct/12): "The Canada Party, comprised of Brian Calvert and Chris Cannon, has announced its candidacy for
...more
not set
Jun 14, 2012
 
Mrs. Queen Takes the Train
3.57
William Kuhn, AB'79
Author

From our pages (Nov–Dec/12): "In his novel, William Kuhn conjures a modern adventure for Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth, a monar
...more
not set
Nov 06, 2012
 
Precarious Japan
3.70
Anne Allison, AM'80, PhD'86
Author

From our pages (Mar–Apr/14): "Until the collapse of Japan's economic bubble in 1991, most Japanese men were able to s
...more
not set
Nov 01, 2013
 
The Scottish Gaelic Tattoo Handbook: Authentic Words and Phrases in the Celtic Language of Scotland
4.43
Emily McEwan, AM'98, PhD'03
Author

From the author: "Gaelic specialist Emily McEwan provides information on to how to choose an appropriate tattoo in th
...more
not set
Jun 09, 2016
 
Empire of Imagination: Gary Gygax and the Birth of Dungeons & Dragons
3.63
Michael Witwer, MLA'13
Author

From the author: "The life story of Gary Gygax, godfather of all fantasy adventure games, has been told only in bits and p
...more
not set
Oct 13, 2015
 
Rattleman: Book Three of the Gates of Inland
0.00
John Rosegrant, AB'72
Author

From the author: "At the end of Book 2 of The Gates of Inland, Dan and his Changeling girlfriend Maggie barely escaped the
...more
not set
May 18, 2016
 
The Islamic-Byzantine Frontier: Interaction and Exchange Among Muslim and Christian Communities
5.00
Alexander A. Eger, AM'02, PhD'08
Author

From the author: "The retreat of the Byzantine army from Syria in around 650 CE, in advance of the approaching A
...more
not set
Sep 30, 2016
 
The Last Generation
4.10
Ben Robertson, MBA'01
Author

From the author: "A teenage girl embarks on the journey of a lifetime in Ben Robertson’s epic young adult novel, The Last G
...more
not set
Sep 29, 2014
 
If You Weren't Looking For It: The Seminary Co-op Bookstore
2.00
Jasmine Kwong, AB'06, MBA'16
Coauthor

From the coauthor: "A fully illustrated look at the past and future of the beloved Hyde Park bookstore. The Semina
...more
not set
Jul 25, 2017
 
Paper Knowledge: Toward a Media History of Documents
3.68
Lisa Gitelman, AB'83
Author

From the publisher: "Paper Knowledge is a remarkable book about the mundane: the library card, the promissory note, the movi
...more
not set
Mar 06, 2014
 
Struggling for the Soul of Our Country
0.00
Preston M. Browning, PhD'69
Author

From the author: "Struggling for the Soul of Our Country is a book in search of answers: what does it mean to struggl
...more
not set
Jun 09, 2016
 
A Poem and a Picture
5.00
Pamela Goodwin, MBA'80
Author

From the author: "A Poem and a Picture is about the love of life, with poems that shift between emotional, physical, and c
...more
not set
Jan 03, 2014
 
Literary Theory and Criticism: An Introduction
4.08
Anne Stevens, AB'93
Author

From the author: "Literary Theory and Criticism: An Introduction provides an accessible overview of major figures and movemen
...more
not set
Jul 10, 2015
 
Olio
4.66
Tyehimba Jess, AB'91
Author

From the editors: "Poet Tyehimba Jess’s second collection mixes sonnet, song, and narrative to chronicle the experiences of
...more
not set
Oct 17, 2016
 
Our Revolution: A Future to Believe In
4.31
Bernie Sanders, AB'64
Author

From our pages (Nov/16): "Following his presidential run, Vermont senator Bernie Sanders gives an inside look at the campai
...more
not set
Oct 17, 2016
 
Crimes of Cunning: A Comedy of Personal and Political Transformation in the Deteriorating American Workplace.
5.00
Tony Mayo, AB'77, MBA'78
Author

From the author: "Fast-paced, funny, and smart. This novel puts you into the world of a young MBA striving to succeed at
...more
not set
Oct 13, 2015
 
A Fitting Place
4.15
Mary Gottschalk, AB'66
Author

From the author: "In the wake of her husband’s desertion, Lindsey Chandler is caught up in a rebound romance that reprises
...more
not set
May 01, 2014
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 41 42