bookshelves

all (1469)

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Wolves of the Calla (The Dark Tower, #5)
4.17
it was ok
It is as though Stephen King:
1. Took me out to an arid, deserted sepia-toned no-place
2. Lit a sputtering campfire that quickly faded to embers
3. Handc
...more
Mar 15, 2011
Mar 03, 2011
 
Cinderella Ate My Daughter: Dispatches from the Frontlines of the New Girlie-Girl Culture
3.65
it was ok
Here's the deal: The two stars - those are for me. To someone who has read a fair amount about children/gender and feminism in general, Orenstein does ...more
Apr 12, 2011
Mar 09, 2011
 
Darth Vader and Son
4.14
it was amazing
There are some people who will buy this book because they love Star Wars. And that's fine. I grew up in house with a Dad and a brother who loved Star ...more
Apr 27, 2012
Apr 26, 2012
 
Kristy's Great Idea (The Baby-Sitters Club, #1)
3.94
it was amazing
"The Baby-Sitters Club was a success. I, Kristin Amanda Thomas, had made it work." - Kristy, accepting the 1986 Mahatma Ghandi Award for Most Humble 1 ...more
Jul 07, 2011
Jul 07, 2011
 
Reading Women: How the Great Books of Feminism Changed My Life
3.68
liked it
Before I critique this book, I want to share a couple of things that I enjoyed about it, first.

1. Women's Colleges and Women's Studies Classrooms: I s
...more
Nov 14, 2011
Apr 05, 2011
 
Claudia and the Phantom Phone Calls (The Baby-Sitters Club, #2)
3.76
it was ok
"Well, I'm sorry. I'm sorry that I'm not up to trigonomulus, or whatever it is she does. We can't all be scholars." - Claudia, expressing frustration ...more
Jul 07, 2011
Jul 08, 2011
 
Native Tongue
4.01
liked it
This book had an amazing concept. It was full of amazing ideas (the creation of a secret language for an oppressed second class - women). But, it lack ...more
Aug 30, 2011
Jul 07, 2011
 
Rebel Angels (Gemma Doyle, #2)
3.97
really liked it
Why do I like Rebel Angels so much more than A Great And Terrible Beauty?

That's easy: Balls.

Not THOSE kinds of balls. These kinds:



Maybe because all t
...more
Mar 30, 2011
Mar 22, 2011
 
All-Star Superman: Volume 1
4.06
liked it
Look! Superman playing super-fetch with his super-dog! Aw!




Hey, guys. Guess what I read yesterday? Superman. Isn't that weird?

Well, it was "Buy 1 Grap
...more
Dec 28, 2011
Dec 28, 2011
 
The Ruby in the Smoke (Sally Lockhart Trilogy, #1)
3.75
really liked it
Philip Pullman might have the biggest pair of balls in YA Lit. In my first foray into Pullman's work, he killed God and encouraged teen sex to heal th ...more
Jan 04, 2012
Dec 13, 2011
 
A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, #1)
4.45
it was amazing

Does thought of elves and fair maidens traipsing through the forest annoy you?

Could you care less about the assembly and arrangement of leagues of Iro
...more
Jul 27, 2011
Jun 27, 2011
 
Moving Pictures
3.19
really liked it

Summary: "Moving Pictures is the story of the awkward and dangerous relationship between curator Ila Gardner and officer Rolf Hauptmann...set in World
...more
Dec 23, 2011
Mar 16, 2011
 
Where Angels Fear to Tread
3.61
liked it
Italy, Italy. People go there, I am told, to free themselves of the constraints of stuffy, modern life. To take part in its beauty, and really live. L ...more
Jul 07, 2011
Mar 07, 2011
 
Chew, Vol. 4: Flambé
4.15
it was amazing

Fans of Johnny the Homicidal Maniac and Invader Zim need to get on this. Foodies and the food-movement people need to get on this. Anyone who likes fu
...more
Dec 28, 2011
Dec 10, 2011
 
Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
3.80
it was amazing
I never thought that at the end of a 900-ish page novel, I would be so sad to close the book. Sure, this book is so big that it made my bus rides ridi ...more
Jan 24, 2012
Mar 29, 2011
 
Dark Places
3.92
it was amazing
I had low expectations of this book, which were mostly based on the synopsis ("Libby finds herself right back where she started – on the run from a ki ...more
Apr 25, 2011
Mar 07, 2011
 
Under the Banner of Heaven
3.98
liked it
This is the first Jon Krakauer book I have read, since I usually don't dig the non-fictions. It was... okay. I was intrigued, interested. And I ended ...more
Apr 26, 2011
Apr 15, 2011
 
The F-Word: Feminism in Jeopardy; Women, Politics, and the Future
3.45
it was ok
Allow me to paraphrase part of the book for you: "So, my friend and I were driving in her Prius to go check out the house she just bought with her fia ...more
Apr 05, 2011
Mar 09, 2011
 
The Stuff That Never Happened
3.63
really liked it
This book freaked me out: it was the first package that was delivered to me in my new apartment. The apartment I just moved into with my boyfriend. Wi ...more
Sep 16, 2011
Aug 01, 2011
 
Sand Queen
3.68
liked it
Helen Benedict's Sand Queen is an important book for a couple of reasons. First, (and to the best of my knowledge) Benedict's topic - the treatment of ...more
Sep 12, 2011
Jul 19, 2011
 
Raw Blue
3.70
it was amazing
**spoiler alert** This was a beautifully written book concerning a difficult subject. Well, *three cheers* to Kirsty Eagar because it has been a long ...more
Dec 31, 2011
Oct 11, 2011
 
Hidden Wives: A Novel
3.69
it was ok
**spoiler alert** PliggyLit

Hello! I have made an easy-to-use guide to choosing your Polygamist YA Lit. As you can see, all of the books on the list are ALMOST
...more
May 24, 2011
Mar 21, 2011
 
The Scorpio Races
4.08
really liked it
Killer horses! Death and blood! People dying as they compete in a deadly race! Were you expecting an action-flick? Because you might need to calm down ...more
Feb 08, 2012
Dec 23, 2011
 
Illegal
3.74
liked it
Overall, I liked this book. I liked that the book was a quick, interesting read - with short chapters, easily accessible language (the author even inc ...more
Apr 13, 2011
Mar 08, 2011
 
Hold Me Closer, Necromancer (Necromancer, #1)
3.94
really liked it
To describe a novel teeming with werewolves, shape-shifters, and other supernatural beings lurking in the shadows of our modern cities, playing by the ...more
Jun 2011
May 11, 2011
 
How the Mistakes Were Made
3.85
really liked it
This book came really close to being awesome - but, sadly, it got a tiny bit bogged down with a few "rock band" cliches. It also has the disadvantage ...more
Dec 31, 2011
Jul 06, 2011
 
Surrender
3.63
really liked it
Surrender was a sad, creepy book. Like, creeeepy. In some respects - and as the synopsis might have you believe - it is a book about a friendship that ...more
Apr 25, 2012
Apr 27, 2011
 
The Chosen One
3.85
liked it
**spoiler alert** PliggyLit

Hello! I have made an easy-to-use guide to choosing your Polygamist YA Lit. As you can see, all of the books on the list are ALMOST
...more
May 11, 2011
Apr 15, 2011
 
fathermothergod: My Journey Out of Christian Science
3.84
really liked it
What are these kooky-christians doing these days??? Churning fodder for great memoirs, that's what.

I love myself a good jesus-memoir. fathermothergod
...more
Dec 31, 2011
Apr 25, 2011
 
Fables, Vol. 5: The Mean Seasons
4.19
it was ok
...and this is where the otherwise amazing comic book/graphic novel series, Fables took the EPIC storyline it left off with in March Of The Wooden Sol ...more
not set
Mar 07, 2011
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 48 49