cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Let's Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir
3.90
really liked it
This is the first book in which I've ever read the WHOLE introduction, epilogue, author bio and even the pull quotes on the back cover. Because as I k ...more
Mar 21, 2012
Mar 19, 2012
 
Devil in the Details: Scenes from an Obsessive Girlhood
3.55
liked it
It's...okay. Once you get past how weird little Jenny was, praying six hours a day with a kleenex on her head and making imaginary cosmetics from her ...more
not set
Apr 03, 2007
 
The Sirens of Titan
4.16
it was amazing

Vonnegut takes the reader through an emotional space-coaster ride as he convinces us life is full of good and bad luck, life is meaningless, God is in
...more
not set
Apr 03, 2007
 
The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous & Broke
3.90
it was amazing
I know it sounds like a total snoozefest, and to be honest I wasn't really thinking I was going to love this book either. But it caught my eye at the ...more
not set
Apr 03, 2007
 
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
3.97
it was amazing
Maybe it's not best to compare, but I enjoyed this book more than Everything Is Illuminated. I liked both books, but Oskar Schell was just a more love ...more
not set
Apr 03, 2007
 
The White Tiger
3.71
really liked it
Recommended for fans of Richard Wright, Yann Martel or Khaled Hosseini...

It seems from other reviews that this book is enjoyed mostly by non-Indian pe
...more
Jan 24, 2009
Jan 04, 2009
 
The Bus Driver Who Wanted To Be God
4.05
liked it
It was very different. Here's a quick like/ dislike breakdown though, in case anyone is interested:

dislikes:
1. Some of the stories just ended abruptl
...more
not set
Apr 03, 2007
 
The Handmaid's Tale
4.06
it was amazing
**spoiler alert** It took me a while to get into this novel, but once I locked in, I was entranced, horrified and invested. Offred's memories of "the ...more
Jan 23, 2015
Jun 27, 2009
 
The Kite Runner
4.25
it was amazing
There is nothing about this book I didn't like. It was moving, thought-provoking, and engrossing. It wasn't what I would call "action-packed", but I w ...more
not set
Apr 03, 2007
 
Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body
4.45
really liked it
I finally got around to reading Roxane Gay after having her books on my to-read list for years. I'm glad. I will read Bad Feminist sooner than later. ...more
Jul 07, 2017
Jun 14, 2017
 
Possible Side Effects
3.97
liked it
Possible Side Effects shows us more than anything that Burroughs is living a happy, successful life. While still haunted by demons from his perilous c ...more
not set
Apr 03, 2007
 
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts 1 & 2 (Harry Potter, #8)
3.76
liked it
I read the book in just over one sitting, so it was an enjoyable read. I quickly settled into the world of Hogwarts again and I enjoyed a new generati ...more
Aug 20, 2016
Aug 20, 2016
 
Born to Run
4.18
it was ok
Theee stars feels generous but two feels stingy.

Springsteen is a lyrical writer, but self-consciously so. He tried much harder than necessary. There
...more
Apr 2017
Jan 12, 2017
 
A Changed Man: A Novel
3.33
did not like it
Summary: A Neo-Nazi named Vincent Nolan wants to turn around and "save guys like [him] from becoming guys like [him]" by helping World Brotherhood Wat ...more
not set
Apr 03, 2007
 
We Should All Be Feminists
4.47
really liked it
I had a male colleague tell me, "I agree with everything said, and it seems so obvious I didn't understand why it would need to be written."

I believe
...more
Jan 06, 2017
Dec 30, 2016
 
Anna Karenina
4.02
liked it
This is my third foray into Tolstoy, after The Kreutzer Sonata and Resurrection, and probably my least favorite. Although it was impressive the way we ...more
Jan 20, 2009
Apr 03, 2007
 
Why Not Me?
3.89
really liked it
This book delivered what I expected and wanted from it: A quick, light read wherein I get to see a glimpse of the life of a talented writer and actres ...more
Nov 23, 2015
Sep 21, 2015
 
Snowden
3.72
it was ok
I was glad to see a Graphic Novel take on the Snowden story, as a way to draw people in who might not otherwise be interested enough to learn about th ...more
Jan 2016
Feb 12, 2016
 
The Brightworking
3.43
it was ok
The Brightstone Saga is a forthcoming fantasy trilogy from Enslow Publishers. The Brightworking was a relatively light story that was easily digestibl ...more
Aug 14, 2012
Aug 12, 2012
 
Here
4.16
it was amazing
Think about the spot where you are sitting or standing right now. Who or what was here last week? Last year? 100 years ago? What will be here 100 year ...more
Jan 28, 2016
Jan 28, 2016
 
Between the World and Me
4.40
it was amazing
Ta-Nehisi Coates writes lyrical, powerful essays in the form of letters to his teenage son about the harsh realities of being a black boy and a black ...more
Mar 20, 2017
Jan 27, 2016
 
The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie
3.76
liked it
A colleague passed this book onto me sort of as a joke because of the tragic character in this book that shares my name. It was a weird book. I'm not ...more
Feb 10, 2015
Jan 24, 2015
 
Don't Get Too Comfortable: The Indignities of Coach Class, The Torments of Low Thread Count, The Never-Ending Quest for Artisanal Olive Oil, and Other First World Problems
3.72
really liked it
I had heard David Rakoff on This American Life and in interviews on some other podcasts, but until after his death, I had never read his work myself. ...more
Sep 08, 2012
Sep 13, 2012
 
Norwegian Wood
4.02
liked it
This is the first Murakami book I've ever read, loaned to me by a co-worker who seems to have pretty similar taste in literature. She was reluctant to ...more
Feb 27, 2009
Feb 11, 2009
 
With Their Eyes: September 11th: The View from a High School at Ground Zero
3.68
really liked it
I am soon going to be completing a school library practicum at Stuyvesant High School, in Manhattan. This book is a collection of monologues written a ...more
Nov 30, 2011
Nov 05, 2011
 
Outlander (Outlander, #1)
4.20
it was ok
Diana Gabaldon does what this novel/ series is intended to do really well. It's not my usual fare, and it just wasn't for me! I made it about 3/4 of t ...more
Jun 16, 2013
Apr 02, 2013
 
Someone Could Get Hurt: A Memoir of Twenty-First-Century Parenthood
3.89
it was amazing
This book gets 5 stars for relatability, honesty, and out-loud laughs. It's not all laughs, which is appropriate because some parts of parenting are t ...more
Jul 09, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
 
The Book Thief
4.36
it was amazing
I found myself repeatedly shocked that this is a YA novel. Don't let the "YA" tag prevent you from reading this book.

I got to know and love a lot of
...more
Jul 12, 2009
Feb 11, 2009
 
This Side of Paradise
3.68
it was amazing
True, Fitzgerald only writes about one thing it seems: the frailty of the wealthy class, and the fear of losing wealth. But to me he seems the predece ...more
not set
Apr 03, 2007
 
The Opposite of Loneliness: Essays and Stories
3.82
really liked it
More like 3.5 stars, but I'm rounding up.

I came to this book fairly skeptical, (Does Keegan get to be published and celebrated only because she died
...more
Jan 27, 2016
Oct 21, 2015
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 29 30