cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Poppy War
4.22
it was amazing
“But I warn you, little warrior. The price of power is pain.”

Holy hell, what did I just read??

➽ A fantasy military school
➽ A rich world based on mod
...more
May 21, 2018
May 15, 2018
 
Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)
4.15
did not like it
“I'm sure I'll feel much more grateful when I find a guy who thinks complex wiring in a girl is a turn-on.”

In this, my third attempt to read Cinder,
...more
Jul 14, 2015
Nov 02, 2011
 
The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer (Mara Dyer, #1)
4.08
did not like it
Warning: this review contains flashing gifs and foul language.


I've spent two years avoiding this book. I remember in 2011 when I stumbled across that
...more
Jul 13, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
 
After You (Me Before You, #2)
3.70
it was ok
2 1/2 stars. It's hard to have to say this, but it's not completely unexpected either. When I finally gave in to the hype and read Me Before You a cou ...more
Sep 07, 2015
Jun 07, 2015
 
Winter (The Lunar Chronicles, #4)
4.48
really liked it
“She was prettier than a bouquet of roses and crazier than a headless chicken. Fitting in was not an option.”

And... I've finished! *sob*

The last few
...more
Mar 02, 2016
Nov 05, 2014
 
Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)
4.46
really liked it
“Have you given any thought to your wedding vows?” Kai snorted.
“Delete anything that has to do with love, respect, or joy, and I’ll sign on the dott
...more
Feb 23, 2016
Dec 18, 2013
 
Fire and Fury: Inside the Trump White House
3.50
it was ok
Spoiler: Donald Trump is incompetent and misogynistic. Surprise!

Well, I couldn’t help myself, could I? This book is causing such a stir that I just ha
...more
Jan 07, 2018
Jan 07, 2018
 
Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark, #1)
3.75
it was ok
1 1/2 stars. Just.... soooo sloooowwww.

Let's be honest, I actually liked Divergent for what it was - a fast-paced, exciting YA adventure that demanded
...more
Dec 08, 2016
Sep 28, 2015
 
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons, #1)
4.11
really liked it
“Sister in battle,” murmured Diana, “I am shield and blade to you.”
“And friend.”
“And always your friend.”

Wonder Woman has gotten quite the makeover
...more
Jun 30, 2017
Apr 03, 2016
 
Scarlet (The Lunar Chronicles, #2)
4.30
really liked it
“She did not know that the wolf was a wicked sort of animal, and she was not afraid of him.”

3 1/2 stars. I do not know that this is actually an amaz
...more
Feb 13, 2016
Dec 21, 2013
 
I'll Give You the Sun
4.14
it was ok
This book should be called I'll Give You Death by Artistic Metaphor. It seems like I'm in the minority on this one, but I did not like the writing sty ...more
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
 
The Kiss Quotient (The Kiss Quotient, #1)
4.26
really liked it
4 1/2 stars. Well, this book. I'm not even sure where to start. I guess I'll begin with an overview.

The Kiss Quotient is a seriously sexy, fun book th
...more
Apr 30, 2018
Apr 24, 2018
 
The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)
4.06
it was ok
Quirky loner girl meets privileged rich boy(s). Forbidden love and angst ensue.



I seem to have this habit. For the past couple of years, I've mostly be
...more
Sep 21, 2014
Sep 05, 2014
 
Sharp Objects
3.93
really liked it
“The face you give the world tells the world how to treat you.”

There is something deeply unhealthy about this book. It's in the characters, in the s
...more
Jul 10, 2012
Jun 29, 2012
 
The Power
3.90
liked it
It doesn’t matter that she shouldn’t, that she never would. What matters is that she could, if she wanted.

TW: rape.

Ooh, this is a toughie. I have a
...more
Oct 21, 2016
Oct 17, 2016
 
The Handmaid's Tale
4.08
it was amazing

There are only a small handful of books that have affected me in a REALLY personal way. In a way that I always try to put into words and always, ultim
...more
Nov 17, 2008
Dec 05, 2010
 
What We Saw
4.11
it was amazing
“You think what happened to Stacey was fair game. It was boys being boys. Just a trashy girl learning the hard way what can happen when she drinks to
...more
Sep 04, 2015
May 09, 2015
 
Born a Crime: Stories From a South African Childhood
4.42
it was amazing
This was fantastic.

Born a Crime, at over six months, is the longest library hold I've ever waited for. Normally, if I hadn't already lost interest by
...more
Jan 23, 2018
Jan 20, 2018
 
Dark Places
3.92
it was amazing
“I have a meanness inside me, real as an organ. Slit me at my belly and it might slide out, meaty and dark, drop on the floor so you could stomp on i
...more
Jul 31, 2012
Jun 29, 2012
 
November 9
4.39
did not like it
“Why would a girl care to find herself when she’ll never be able to make herself feel as good as a guy can?”

I've said this before, but I'll say it a
...more
Nov 13, 2015
Nov 10, 2015
 
The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1)
4.08
really liked it
“If aliens ever visit us, I think the outcome would be much as when Christopher Columbus first landed in America, which didn't turn out very well for
...more
Mar 19, 2013
Mar 01, 2013
 
The Last Star (The 5th Wave, #3)
3.63
it was ok
His eyes drank me in. Oh, the Evanness of it all, how he gulps down my presence like a guy stumbling upon an oasis in the desert.

What happened to th
...more
May 26, 2016
Mar 19, 2013
 
Tiger's Curse (The Tiger Saga, #1)
4.07
did not like it
If I had to describe Tiger's Curse in one word, that word would be embarrassing. I'm not joking.

Have you ever been in the company of one of those peo
...more
Nov 03, 2015
Sep 10, 2015
 
The Underground Railroad
4.03
it was ok
This is my first read by Colson Whitehead and it makes me think his style may not be to my tastes.

It's personal preference, I'm sure. There are some b
...more
Aug 25, 2016
Jul 26, 2016
 
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking
4.05
really liked it
“There's zero correlation between being the best talker and having the best ideas.”

I read this book for the same reason most people read this book:
...more
Jun 10, 2015
Dec 22, 2013
 
Pachinko
4.26
it was amazing
History has failed us, but no matter.

Look, I get it. A lot of people won't be interested in this book because they have no idea what pachinko means
...more
Sep 06, 2017
Feb 09, 2017
 
Vicious (Villains, #1)
4.27
it was amazing
"Plenty of humans were monstrous, and plenty of monsters knew how to play at being human."

I actually received an 100-page preview of Vicious a few mon
...more
Jul 12, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
 
The Trespasser (Dublin Murder Squad #6)
3.96
it was amazing
Tana French is just fantastic.

You know, I actually have very little author loyalty. By that I mean I can easily dislike a book by an author I have pre
...more
Jul 20, 2016
Jan 12, 2016
 
The Star-Touched Queen (The Star-Touched Queen, #1)
3.57
it was ok
“I want to share whole worlds with you and write your name in the stars.”
“I want to measure eternity with your laughter.”

I want to know what the fuc
...more
Apr 29, 2016
Jan 07, 2016
 
I Am Pilgrim (Pilgrim, #1)
4.24
did not like it
Okay, I just can't do it. I cannot go any further.

I am giving up around the halfway point - which is arguably very generous for a 600-page book - beca
...more
May 22, 2016
May 15, 2016
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 167 168