cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
White Tombs (John Santana, #1)
3.51
it was amazing
Patron Review:
Enjoyed the fast pace of this book. Also, the setting was familiar so I could relate a lot of the area. Will definitely read more of thi
...more
Jun 2013
Jul 24, 2013
 
Girl in the Shadows (Shadows, #2)
3.81
it was amazing
Patron Review:
Great.
Aug 2013
Aug 08, 2013
 
House Made of Dawn
3.68
it was amazing
Patron Review:

This Pulitzer Prize winning book delves into the life of a Native American named Abel, who served in World War II and returned home to t

...more
Aug 2014
Aug 26, 2014
 
The First of July
3.76
really liked it
Patron Review:

This book centers on the experience of four young men, on French and three British, who experience and participate in World War I from t
...more
Jul 2014
Aug 06, 2014
 
Nurture Shock: New Thinking About Children
4.04
really liked it
Patron Review:

Three words to describe this book: Provocative, Open-Mind, Parenting

[This book] dispelled some ideas on raising kids that had been previ
...more
Jun 24, 2016
Jun 24, 2016
 
Florence Gordon
3.67
really liked it
January 2016 selection for Page Turners book club. Average rating: 4 out of 5.

Discussion notes: This was a well done character study. Everyone in the
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2016
 
A Christmas Blizzard
2.94
liked it
December 2015 selection for Page Turners book club. Average rating: 2.5 of 5

Discussion notes: Once we figured out the comparisons to A Christmas Carol
...more
not set
Jan 08, 2016
 
The Daring Ladies of Lowell
3.60
really liked it
Patron Review:


this historical novel centers on the experiences of youth female mill workers in Lowell, MA in the 1830's, who shared the same dormitory
...more
Jul 2014
Aug 04, 2014
 
Murder Must Advertise  (Lord Peter Wimsey, #10)
4.21
it was amazing
Patron Review:

I haven't read a Dorothy Sayers mystery for 30 years at least. I had forgotten how interesting and well written they are and how they ca

...more
Aug 2014
Sep 04, 2014
 
Dust
3.74
it was amazing
Patron Review:

Dust is a powerful novel about post-colonial Kenya from the late 1960s to the early 21st century. It centers on the Oganda family, their
...more
Jul 2014
Aug 08, 2014
 
The Casual Vacancy
3.28
did not like it
Patron Review:

The Casual Vacancy is a novel about the small quaint community of Pagford in Britain's West Country, written by the author of the Harry
...more
Jul 2014
Aug 06, 2014
 
Minding My Mitochondria: How I Overcame Secondary Progressive Multiple Sclerosis (MS) and Got Out of My Wheelchair
4.25
liked it
Patron Review:

Very simply, this book digs into the causes of MS as the sub-cell level by a medical practitioner who wouldn't take no for an answer. He

...more
Aug 2014
Aug 23, 2014
 
Big Maria
4.00
liked it
Patron Review:

This book is one of the funniest books I have read for a long time. It tells the story of three men who are down-and-out and who join to

...more
Aug 2014
Sep 04, 2014
 
The Kingmaker's Daughter (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels, #4)
3.95
really liked it
Patron Review:

This book is an interesting combination of historical novel and historical fiction that illuminates the War of the Roses between the Hou

...more
Aug 2014
Aug 23, 2014
 
Year of Wonders
4.00
Patron Review:

This is a work of historical fiction that describes the nature and impact of the Black Plague on Eyam, a small village in the English re
...more
Jul 2014
Aug 06, 2014
 
Ashworth Hall (Charlotte & Thomas Pitt, #17)
3.90
really liked it
Patron Review:

This mystery is one of a series of Anne Perry's who-dunnits that features the Scotland Yard detective, Thomas Pitt, and his wife Charlot
...more
Aug 2014
Aug 23, 2014
 
A Delicate Truth
3.75
it was amazing
Patron Review:

This thriller centers on the shadowy role that private security agencies play in British foreign affairs in the post-9/11 war on terror.

...more
Aug 2014
Aug 26, 2014
 
Like Water for Chocolate
3.94
liked it
The PageTurners Book Club read and discussed Like Water for Chocolate by Laura Esquivel on Thursday, January 6. Five people attended. Most enjoyed the ...more
Jan 06, 2011
Mar 22, 2011
 
Hart's War
3.94
liked it
Page Turner's met in May to discuss Hart's Wary by John Katzenbach. Overall rating was 3.75
Member reviews:

3.5 of 5
The beginning was slow to start, but
...more
May 03, 2012
Jul 09, 2012
 
Let the Great World Spin
3.94
liked it
The PageTurners Book Club met on Thursday, February 3 to discuss this book. Six people attended the discussion. Most felt that it was a good book, but ...more
Feb 03, 2011
Mar 22, 2011
 
The King of Torts
3.67
it was amazing
Patron Review:

The King of Torts is a novel that centers around the rise of a young lawyer who gets sucked into the tort game because his own career an

...more
Aug 2014
Aug 23, 2014
 
False Mermaid (Nora Gavin #3)
3.83
it was ok
TheRLPL Book Discussion Group --Page Turners--read this for their March selection:

Comments and Ratings by members included:

2 stars
“I liked the setting
...more
Mar 03, 2011
Mar 22, 2011
 
She Walks in Beauty: A Woman's Journey Through Poems
4.01
really liked it
Page Turner's met July 12th to discuss Caroline Kennedy's She Walks in Beauty Overall Review was a 4 Rating out of possible 5.
Individual Reviews are a
...more
Jul 12, 2012
Jul 09, 2012
 
Northwest Angle (Cork O'Connor, #11)
4.16
really liked it
Patron Review:
Good, I love books written about places I know, like Minnesota or Wisconsin; it feels like you're there. A good book that makes you wish
...more
Jan 2013
Jul 12, 2013
 
The Taste of Salt
3.42
it was amazing
Patron Review:

Three words to describe this book: Engaging, Emotional, Therapeutic

For me, this book was definitely therapy. It brought more closure for
...more
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
 
Bitter Eden
3.87
really liked it
This book is a novel based on the experience of the author who was taken prisoner in North Africa and interned in Italian, then German POW camps for t ...more
Jul 2014
Aug 06, 2014
 
Nightflyer
4.03
really liked it
Patron Review:(SPOILER ALERT!!) Very emotional, intense & descriptive about a teenager bullied by others & his partner & how he gets back ...more
Jul 2013
Jul 29, 2013
 
Small Town Girl
3.97
really liked it
Patron Review:
Fun-Easy Reading-Have read her whole series of 22 books. Have one autographed by her as know her personally. She is from Stillwater, MN.
Aug 2013
Aug 07, 2013
 
Brush of Angel's Wings (Heaven On Earth #2)
4.37
really liked it
Patron Review:
Very good. Kept my interest all the way through. Loved the inspiration spiritual message in it.
Jan 2013
Jan 12, 2014
 
A Book
4.17
it was amazing
Patron Review:
A favorite- Excellent biography of an overworked, overambitious entertainer and movie mogul.
Jan 2013
Jul 03, 2013
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 21 22