cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Tintin in Tibet (Tintin, #20)
4.21
it was amazing
I've been a Tintin reader -- and Hergé fan -- since I can remember; for many years, The Adventures of Tintin were the only comics I read. Hergé's arti ...more
Jan 1977
Sep 21, 2007
 
ComicsTrips: A Journal of Travels Through Africa and Southeast Asia
3.50
it was amazing
Fate is the only way to describe it. When I took off for Asia -- a one-way flight from New York to Hong Kong -- the only comic I brought with me was C ...more
Sep 1992
Sep 23, 2007
 
Asiaddict
3.92
really liked it
This slim volume is an enjoyable, irreverent series of comics-style snapshots from Southeast Asia. Mats!? has a great art style, which harkens back to ...more
Feb 18, 2015
Feb 19, 2015
 
Woman Rebel: The Margaret Sanger Story
3.85
it was ok
I'm a HUGE fan of Bagge's work going back to his Hate days, and I love his wackadoo storytelling, but I found this book sub-par in its execution. The ...more
Nov 26, 2014
Nov 27, 2014
 
Wimbledon Green
3.87
really liked it
Supposedly taken from Seth's sketchbooks, the book is a lively, jaunty, hilarious read. As Seth notes, inspired by recent work from Dan Clowes, Chris ...more
Dec 2006
Sep 23, 2007
 
Darkroom: A Memoir in Black and White
4.04
really liked it
Lila Quintero Weaver’s Darkroom is an impressive debut work. A memoir in the vein of Alison Bechdel’s Fun Home and Howard Cruse’s Stuck Rubber Baby ...more
Jan 2012
Feb 27, 2017
 
Kings in Disguise: A Novel
3.83
really liked it
Powerful account of hobo life in the Great Depression, with two compelling characters. For a similar graphic novel, check out Rob Vollmar & Pablo ...more
Sep 2012
Mar 04, 2014
 
Shoplifter
3.36
liked it
I'd heard a lot of buzz about this book, so I was looking forward to reading it. First of all, the art is stunning -- beautifully framed, wonderful mo ...more
Jan 31, 2014
Jan 01, 2015
 
Bannock, Beans and Black Tea: Memories of a Prince Edward Island Childhood in the Great Depression
3.92
Rather than a vanity project for Canadian cartoonist Seth's dad, this is actually a fascinating portrait of a pioneer-type childhood. John Gallant gre ...more
Dec 2006
Sep 23, 2007
 
The Adventures of Herge: Creator of Tintin
3.90
really liked it
Odd book, very strangely organized -- not exactly chronological, more like select episodes from Hergé's life that seem haphazardly thrown together. Mu ...more
Jan 2014
Jan 03, 2014
 
How About Never—Is Never Good for You?: My Life in Cartoons
3.96
really liked it
Bob Mankoff does a great PowerPoint presentation that encompasses bits of his biography with his theories on humor, and how all that plays into his cu ...more
Sep 26, 2014
Sep 28, 2014
 
City of Glass
3.91
it was amazing
Paul Karasik and David Mazzuchelli's adaptation of Auster's novella is 138 pages of pure gold. Working from a nine-panel grid, City of Glass tells the ...more
Jan 1994
Sep 23, 2007
 
Black Sunday
3.59
liked it
Solid political thriller with well-developed characters. Depressingly, even though this book was published nearly 40 years ago, its portrayal of Arab- ...more
Apr 2012
Apr 24, 2012
 
Freddie and Me: A Coming-of-Age (Bohemian) Rhapsody
3.57
it was amazing
One of the few autobio graphic novels that justifies being labeled a "memoir." Dawson uses the British rock group Queen as a vehicle for discussing di ...more
Oct 10, 2008
Dec 22, 2008
 
San Francisco Giants: Where Have You Gone?
3.50
really liked it
I got Giants: Where Have You Gone? as a gift and really, really enjoyed it. Growing up as a Giants fan in the late 1970s/early 1980s, my era was that ...more
Jul 2005
Oct 01, 2007
 
Showcase Presents: The Atom, Vol. 1
3.43
liked it
This 500-page black-and-white reprint tome includes three issues of Showcase and 17 issues of The Atom's own title. All the stories are by Gardner Fox ...more
Jan 2008
May 25, 2008
 
Superman/Batman: Saga of the Super Sons
3.27
really liked it
As a kid, I loved Superman Jr. and Batman Jr. ("sons" of Superman and Batman, duh!), the titular heroes of the stories. Written by Bob Haney (with the ...more
Jan 31, 2008
Feb 06, 2008
 
Nine Lives: Death and Life in New Orleans
4.22
really liked it
Published in March of 2009 (right around Mardi Gras), in alternating, rigidly chronological chunks, the book follows a diverse group of New Orleanians ...more
Jun 06, 2009
Jun 04, 2009
 
Red Light Properties: Previously-Haunted Real Estate
3.35
really liked it
Dan's stories hold nothing back in terms of plunging the depths of human (or inhuman) behavior. His characters are most often profane, unattractive, a ...more
Dec 20, 2014
Feb 15, 2015
 
Funny Papers: A Novel
4.02
really liked it
The spirit of the book and its many memorable characters is infused with the joyful creative energy of the late 19th Century. I love books about that ...more
May 2005
Sep 21, 2007
 
The Castaways
3.55
liked it
I enjoyed this book. It seemed historically accurate, and the action & dialogue were used effectively to move the story along. Those who got somet ...more
Feb 28, 2014
Mar 01, 2014
 
The Big Hoax
4.02
liked it
This noir thriller features great black-and-white art by Domingo Mandrafina, and some very unusual writing flourishes which bring to mind both magical ...more
Jan 07, 2014
Jan 07, 2014
 
Too Cool to Be Forgotten
3.71
really liked it
The story of a man's journey back in time to relive high school, Too Cool is more than just a Back to the Future story. Issues of gender, morality, an ...more
Oct 18, 2008
Dec 22, 2008
 
Persimmon Cup
3.12
I'm confused...
Nov 15, 2014
Nov 15, 2014
 
Baby Bjornstrand
3.28
did not like it
WTF?!
Dec 21, 2014
Dec 21, 2014
 
Polar Bear Night
3.75
really liked it
This wonderful book follows a polar bear cub on a nighttime stroll through the Arctic. Steve Savage's geometric linocut illustrations perfectly mesh w ...more
Oct 2004
Feb 06, 2008
 
The Given Day (Coughlin #1)
4.03
really liked it
Engrossing story of Boston (and some other parts) at the end of the First World War. With a compelling, wide-ranging cast of characters, the book expl ...more
Sep 2011
Sep 08, 2011
 
Resuscitation of a Hanged Man
3.67
really liked it
A supremely odd and wonderful novel, and a great introduction to the aura of Provincetown, Mass.
Dec 1999
Oct 10, 2007
 
The Winds of War (The Henry Family, #1)
4.36
really liked it
With War and Remembrance, quite simply the definitive novel of World War II.
Jan 1993
Sep 21, 2007
 
War and Remembrance (The Henry Family, #2)
4.39
it was amazing
With The Winds of War, quite simply the definitive novel of World War II.
Jan 1993
Sep 21, 2007
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 15 16