cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
Dept. of Speculation
it was amazing
I underlined basically the entire novel.
May 22, 2013
May 21, 2013
The Lowland
it was amazing
Wow. Jhumpa Lahiri's THE LOWLAND is a big novel with the power of her best short stories.

It follows the life of Subhash Mitra as he grows up in Calcu
Jan 17, 2013
Jan 24, 2013
The Night Circus
it was amazing
THE NIGHT CIRCUS is magical realism at its most fun. The major storyline pits two young magicians (and two schools of thought) in a mysterious battle ...more
May 27, 2011
May 29, 2011
The Circle
it was amazing
THE CIRCLE is a fever dream of a novel about an individual at a tech behemoth, about the sinister undertones of our best intentions, and about the con ...more
Aug 16, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
City on Fire
it was amazing
This book is spectacular.

The plot is famously long so I'll avoid a summary. What I will say is it's fantastic and addictive: two murders early in the
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
it was amazing
Trying to describe how awesome this novel is only turns me into a stuttering fool. It's amazing. Please read it.
Jan 20, 2016
Jan 20, 2016
it was amazing
DUST opens with a brilliant, charismatic hero running for his life through the streets of Nairobi. He's chased down, shot, and killed by the police. A ...more
Mar 07, 2014
Feb 10, 2014
The Other Language
it was amazing
The first story in THE OTHER LANGUAGE took me by surprise and completely blew me away. The beauty and grace and urgency of each moment captures a life ...more
Oct 2013
Sep 11, 2013
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two (Harry Potter, #8)
really liked it
Really only 3 stars, but if they keep writing them I'll keep reading them and I don't want to discourage that with a low rating.
Aug 11, 2016
Aug 11, 2016
it was amazing
Dang what a ride. This is a smart, fast, exciting heist novel for the Lee Child fan looking for more substance.
Dec 09, 2012
Dec 03, 2012
Gods Without Men
it was amazing
One of the best novels I've read in years.

More tk.
Sep 23, 2011
Sep 15, 2011
The Children Act
it was amazing
Safe money to win the Booker.
Jun 10, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
Seating Arrangements
really liked it
Maggie Shipstead's excellent SEATING ARRANGEMENTS is much darker than you'd expect for something packaged as a summer read. It's both a summer romp an ...more
Jun 2012
May 25, 2012
The Woman Upstairs
it was amazing
This book will win laurels as a novel and as a manifesto. The characters seem more alive than they did in EMPEROR'S CHILDREN, and the plot more drivin ...more
Oct 09, 2012
Sep 14, 2012
Station Eleven
it was amazing
STATION ELEVEN is that rare book you can recommend to any type of reader and be confident you've given them their new favorite.
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Super Sad True Love Story
really liked it
“Only spoiled white people could let something so good get so bad,” a character Verbals in Gary Shteyngart’s dystopian novel, SUPER SAD TRUE LOVE STOR ...more
Aug 07, 2010
Jul 22, 2010
Vaclav and Lena
really liked it
Vaclav & Lena is a book to (forgive the word) cherish. It's all the secrets we keep growing up; it's what it's like to be a kid alone; what it's l ...more
Jun 06, 2011
May 30, 2011
The Sense of an Ending
it was amazing
What I loved about Barnes's SENSE OF AN ENDING, was the author's unreal ability to tell a lifetime's worth of story in a few stray thoughts.

One typica
Nov 06, 2011
Oct 15, 2011
it was ok
This is not a novel, but I judge it as one because that's what Bolano called it. (I assume he wrote it before giving up on being a poet?) ANTWERP is i ...more
Nov 15, 2010
Nov 13, 2010
The Girl in the Spider's Web (Millennium, #4)
it was amazing
Fantastic follow-up to the trilogy. So much fun to read.
Sep 03, 2015
Aug 15, 2015
The Tiger's Wife
it was amazing
Part mystery and part fable, the part you'll really remember is the story of the girl and her grandfather. Animals become a metaphor for life and love ...more
Jan 02, 2011
Dec 30, 2010
My Fathers' Ghost Is Climbing in the Rain
really liked it
This is an excellent novel for fans of Bolano or Marias. Philosophical, experimental, but still emotional and plot driven. I hope the rest of his work ...more
Oct 13, 2012
Oct 09, 2012
The Lake Shore Limited
really liked it
What a fantastic book! Sue Miller's THE LAKE SHORE LIMITED was an unlikely choice for me, given the author's reputation. But then I read Ron Charles c ...more
May 24, 2010
Apr 27, 2010
Heroes of the Frontier
it was amazing
Such a smart, fun, funny story about a woman on the lam with her two (fantastically told) children.
Aug 2016
Aug 01, 2016
The Age of Miracles
really liked it
THE AGE OF MIRACLES is a moving book that snuck its way into my dreams. I fell in love with the characters. I am proud to have this book on my shelf.

Aug 15, 2012
Aug 06, 2012
Love Me Back
liked it
Unrelenting. This is mostly a good thing. 3.5 stars rounded up.
Mar 15, 2014
Mar 20, 2014
How to Be Both
it was amazing
Aug 25, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
The Skating Rink
really liked it
Bolano is my hero.
Dec 26, 2010
Dec 15, 2010
The Flame Alphabet
it was amazing
Marcus has, as his editor says, "this wild imagination and such matter of fact prose." It makes what could be a wild science fiction book with a page- ...more
Oct 06, 2011
Sep 30, 2011
In Between Days
really liked it
Andrew Porter can write the American family in a way few other can. He has a sympathy and understanding of his characters--even as he puts them throug ...more
Jun 27, 2012
Jun 10, 2012
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11