cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Cryptonomicon
4.25
it was amazing
Over 900 pages and two weeks of solid reading later, I think this book is well worth the investment for anyone interested in math, World War II, crypt ...more
Jun 12, 2008
May 30, 2008
 
Straight from the Stacks
3.47
really liked it
The authors reviews several areas of librarianship: public, academic, school, special, and nontraditional. Each area has a descriptive overview of tha ...more
Jan 2008
Jan 27, 2008
 
Fahrenheit 451
3.98
it was amazing
A classic must-read for book lovers and thinkers
Jul 2006
Mar 23, 2008
 
The Weight of Glory
4.41
really liked it
Addresses:

The Weight of Glory (June 1941)

Learning in War-Time
p. 58 - "A man who has lived in many places is not likely to be deceived by the local err
...more
Jan 30, 2011
Nov 28, 2010
 
Welcome to Your Brain: Why You Lose Your Car Keys But Never Forget How To Drive and Other Puzzles of Everyday Behavior
3.70
liked it
Dewey - 612.82
This is a good book for those interested in the brain and how biology can affect psychology and vice versa. The authors give several gre
...more
May 24, 2008
May 12, 2008
 
The Pursuit of God
4.37
really liked it
Interesting quote:
"Every age has its own characteristics. Right now we are in an age of religious complexity. The simplicity which is in Christ is rar
...more
May 30, 2009
Feb 14, 2009
 
Soulless (Parasol Protectorate, #1)
3.91
liked it
fun, witty book - not something I would normally pick to read, but a co-worker suggested it and loaned me her copy
Sep 03, 2010
Sep 05, 2010
 
In the Heart of the Valley of Love
3.39
liked it
- read for the February Book-a-Month Challenge 2008
The setting is Los Angeles about 50 years in the future. The government rations water and gas. Poll
...more
Feb 2008
Mar 08, 2008
 
Handmade Soap (Country Living)
4.09
really liked it
easy to read, step-by-step process of soap making; many recipes for different types of soaps
Dec 19, 2010
Dec 21, 2010
 
A History of Modern Israel
3.38
liked it
I have to confess I actually just read the first few chapters and mostly skimmed the rest.
Dec 02, 2008
Nov 29, 2008
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 83 84