cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Nethergrim (The Nethergrim, #1)
3.80
really liked it
This series opener has the feel of classic fantasy, yet it still comes across as fresh. Plenty of scary action and extremely likable young heroes.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
 
Frostborn (Thrones & Bones, #1)
3.86
really liked it
This wonderful fantasy steeped in Norse mythology is by a Birmingham author! Highly recommended for fans of Rick Riordan, J.R.R. Tolkien, and John Fla ...more
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
 
Orphan Island
3.72
really liked it
This is the perfect read for anyone on the cusp of leaving childhood . . . whether they want to or not.
Nov 19, 2017
Nov 20, 2017
 
Nightborn (Thrones & Bones, #2)
4.12
really liked it
Another action-packed excursion into the world of Thrones & Bones! Written by local author!
Sep 28, 2015
Mar 24, 2015
 
The Map to Everywhere (Map to Everywhere, #1)
4.06
it was amazing
THIS WAS SO MUCH FUN! Adventure, humor, magic, rats with two tails and six legs!
Feb 09, 2015
Jul 25, 2014
 
Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle, #1)
3.88
really liked it
An Alabama homecoming queen/SGA president/ruler of her high school kingdom gets pulled into something straight out of a fantasy movie. She gets awesom ...more
May 12, 2014
May 12, 2014
 
The Accidental Keyhand (The Ninja Librarians #1)
3.64
really liked it
Yes, I'm particularly partial to this one because it shows librarians in an awesome, booty-kicking light. But anyone who likes stories about kids bein ...more
May 05, 2014
May 05, 2014
 
Ophelia and the Marvelous Boy
3.88
it was amazing
Yes, I loved Disney's Frozen. But I love this modern retelling of The Snow Queen fairytale even more. I know Frozen fans are now gasping in disbelief. ...more
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
 
The Gauntlet
3.84
really liked it
12 is a milestone age. Especially if it gets you sucked inside a board game you may not escape from. This excellent title from the new Salaam Reads im ...more
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
 
The Secret Files of Fairday Morrow (Fairday Morrow, #1)
4.14
really liked it
For amateur sleuths who like a little magic in their mysteries. Good rec for fans of The Books of Elsewhere series by Jacqueline West.
Jan 2016
Jan 04, 2016
 
Back on the Map
4.15
really liked it
“Oh, how I wish Penny Porter from Back on the Map would come to my town with her indomitable spirit and contagious creativity!" I completely agree wit ...more
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
 
Bull
3.83
really liked it
The Greek myth of the Minotaur is presented by seven voices . . . in rap. I recommend listening to the audiobook.
Jan 26, 2018
Jan 30, 2018
 
The Stone Heart (The Nameless City, #2)
4.20
really liked it
Changes are coming to the City, but not everyone is eager to see it. Alliances will shift, and blood will be shed.
Jun 17, 2017
Jun 19, 2017
 
The Wonderling
3.86
liked it
A gentle, modern-day nod to the children's books of old, layering the known, the unknown and the magical. [from Shelf Awareness Pro]
Nov 16, 2017
Nov 13, 2017
 
Prisoner of Ice and Snow (Prisoner of Ice and Snow, #1)
3.94
really liked it
This powerful testament to sisterhood is set in the bowels of a prison in a kingdom of ice. Chilling.
Sep 10, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
 
The Goblin's Puzzle: The Adventures of a Boy With No Name and Two Girls Called Alice
3.90
really liked it
This fantasy has it all -- dragons and quests and . . . logic puzzles?
Dec 12, 2016
Dec 12, 2016
 
The Water and the Wild (The Water and the Wild, #1)
4.17
really liked it
This is a must-read debut for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia.
Nov 05, 2015
Nov 02, 2015
 
Unmade (The Lynburn Legacy, #3)
3.89
really liked it
Kinda hate to see this series end.
Jun 09, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
 
Fortune Falls
3.85
really liked it
Think YOU are unlucky? Think again.
Mar 19, 2016
Mar 18, 2016
 
The Wrath and the Dawn (The Wrath and the Dawn, #1)
4.18
really liked it
"Lush" is the perfect descriptor for this love story inspired by A Thousand and One Nights. It will be SO HARD to wait for the next book!
Jun 23, 2015
Jun 22, 2015
 
The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart (Tales from the Chocolate Heart, #1)
4.33
really liked it
Chocolate is all powerful. It even holds sway over dragons. Shocked? Me neither.
Nov 15, 2017
Nov 07, 2017
 
Oddity
4.26
really liked it
This is definitely odd. And a delight.
Jan 21, 2018
Jan 22, 2018
 
The Island of Dr. Libris
3.76
really liked it
This is a celebration of the imagination . . . and books, of course! The audiobook is excellent.
Sep 24, 2015
Sep 19, 2015
 
Wildwood Dancing (Wildwood, #1)
4.09
it was amazing
Throughout the book, the author reminds us that we only have one life and that our life is what we make of it. She reminds us that when we are present ...more
Sep 28, 2009
Sep 28, 2009
 
27 Magic Words
4.09
really liked it
Words are transformative. Avanti!
Feb 11, 2017
Feb 14, 2017
 
The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper (Pixie Piper #1)
3.89
really liked it
There is power in poetry. You'll never look at Mother Goose the same way again.
Oct 17, 2016
Oct 18, 2016
 
Untold (The Lynburn Legacy, #2)
3.93
really liked it
This is book 2 in The Lynburn Legacy series, a modern and magical twist on both the gothic romance and girl detective genres. It definitely gets your ...more
Apr 11, 2014
Apr 11, 2014
 
In Other Lands
4.41
really liked it
Took me a bit to get into the rhythm of this story, but I'm glad I stuck it out. The snarkiest bisexual teenager EVER has crossed into the Other Lands ...more
Oct 06, 2017
Jun 07, 2017
 
Hour of the Bees
4.18
it was amazing
Magical realism in the New Mexican desert -- perfect for readers with deep roots or wanderlust.
Apr 05, 2016
Apr 04, 2016
 
The False Princess
3.80
really liked it
Princess and heir to the throne of Thorvaldor, Nalia's led a privileged life at court. Everything changes when it's revealed, that she is a false prin ...more
Mar 29, 2011
Mar 30, 2011
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'fantasy' »
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11