cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Stress Test: Reflections on Financial Crises
4.03
it was ok
Say "least-worst", "Saint Augustine", or "moral hazard fundamentalist" one more time. I dare you. I double dare you.
May 08, 2017
May 08, 2017
 
Chronicles: On Our Troubled Times
3.67
liked it
Not bad for a bit of a cheap reheat of a bunch of newspaper columns. I wish op ed pieces here were of the same quality.
May 24, 2016
May 24, 2016
 
Perfecting Sound Forever: An Aural History of Recorded Music
4.15
really liked it
Now I know why I like listening to some albums more than others on my new stereo, and why vinyl lovers are both right and wrong.
May 16, 2010
May 15, 2010
 
Rework
3.94
really liked it
Lots of good points, some fluff. Not much on top of what you'd learn from their blog, but nice to have it all in one spot.
Mar 29, 2010
Mar 29, 2010
 
The Personal MBA: Master the Art of Business
4.05
liked it
A decent overview of a lot of business concepts. Some chapters dip a bit into "self help" style and suck a bit.
Apr 08, 2012
Apr 09, 2012
 
The Goal: A Process of Ongoing Improvement
4.03
really liked it
Such clunky and "inhuman" dialogue (compared to Ayn Rand though it's fluid and believable) but really illuminating.
Nov 12, 2013
Nov 11, 2013
 
Fail-Safe Investing: Lifelong Financial Security in 30 Minutes
3.94
liked it
Seems reasonably solid. The author does let his libertarian streak shine through in a few chapters though - ugh.
Jan 03, 2011
Jan 02, 2011
 
101 Things I Learned in Film School
3.82
liked it
Not quite as good as the rest in the series, but a nice overview of the rough components of films and filmmaking.
Nov 09, 2010
Nov 09, 2010
 
Labyrinths:  Selected Stories and Other Writings
4.46
really liked it
Just scrapes a 4 for some moments of awesomeness. A bit uneven though, I wasn't feeling it all throughout.
May 24, 2012
May 24, 2012
 
Atlas of Maritime History
3.75
really liked it
It had me at "Moreover, since maritime history is an aspect of economic and political history..."
Feb 29, 2016
Feb 29, 2016
 
The Strange Library
3.56
it was ok
Beautiful illustration edition, pleasant enough to read, but didn't really have any substance.
Dec 26, 2014
Dec 25, 2014
 
Start with Why: How Great Leaders Inspire Everyone to Take Action
4.07
did not like it
When I say I "read" this, I mean I stopped 2/3 through. Repetitive, halo-effect, survivor bias bollocks.
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 03, 2014
 
A Clash of Kings  (A Song of Ice and Fire, #2)
4.41
liked it
I enjoyed it more than the last, and it's definitely a page turner. Still not super well written though.
Aug 06, 2011
Aug 06, 2011
 
Commodore 64: a visual Commpendium
4.12
really liked it
Beautiful book, really well put together. If you feel like getting nostalgic this will do the job.
Dec 26, 2014
Dec 25, 2014
 
Trivial Pursuit: Leadership and the End of the Reform Era (Quarterly Essay #40)
3.81
really liked it
Excellent analysis of the current lack of reform politics and the role the media is playing in that.
not set
Oct 02, 2011
 
Draplin Design Co.: Pretty Much Everything
4.55
it was amazing
Five full stars of Aaron Draplin's output, life story, and process. Is exactly what it looks like.
May 25, 2016
May 25, 2016
 
The Gathering Storm (Wheel of Time, #12)
4.37
really liked it
I actually prefer this book than the later ones Jordan himself was writing.

Things happen!
Jan 04, 2010
Jan 04, 2010
 
Redshirts
3.85
it was amazing
So funny and engaging I accidentally stayed on my tram for a whole extra suburb.
May 21, 2014
May 21, 2014
 
Management of the Absurd
3.81
liked it
This book was OK. I get the feeling that in 15 years 37signals' rework will be like this book.
May 03, 2010
May 03, 2010
 
Venture Deals
4.06
really liked it
Dense. Valuable. Funny in very little bits. Something I'll keep close to hand when we raise again.
Oct 29, 2012
Oct 29, 2012
 
The Passage (The Passage, #1)
4.04
really liked it
a real page turner. it's been a while since i've picked up a book i'd stay up to 2am to finish.
Jul 23, 2010
Jul 23, 2010
 
Reamde
3.97
liked it
More of a three and half star. If you're a bit nerdy, and like a bit of a thriller, you'll like it.
Jan 09, 2012
Jan 09, 2012
 
The Disaster Artist: My Life Inside The Room, the Greatest Bad Movie Ever Made
4.36
it was amazing
I read this on a weekend away. I was howling with laughter from the couch.
Aug 17, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
 
The Unbearable Lightness of Being
4.09
it was amazing
I can't believe I'd never read this before now. I always thought people who raved about Kundera were pretentious knobs, now I know that whether they a ...more
May 07, 2013
Apr 23, 2013
 
Towers of Midnight (Wheel of Time, #13)
4.43
liked it
Trash.

Completely addictive, can't put it down trash, but trash all the same.
Dec 22, 2012
Dec 23, 2012
 
Only the Paranoid Survive. Lessons from the CEO of INTEL Corporation
3.99
it was amazing
A better theory of disruption than the main on kicking around. Very readable.
Mar 30, 2016
Mar 29, 2016
 
Notes on the Synthesis of Form
4.00
liked it
Much heavier on maths than I expected. I skipped a lot of the last appendix.
Oct 19, 2010
Oct 19, 2010
 
The City & the City
3.91
really liked it
Why didn't someone tell me earlier that the China guy can write a good book.
Apr 16, 2011
Apr 15, 2011
 
Victory
3.85
liked it
I didn't get into this quite as much as the rest of Conrad's books.
Jun 09, 2012
Jun 08, 2012
 
Kitchen Confidential: Adventures in the Culinary Underbelly
4.06
really liked it
I had a lot of trouble putting this down. It made me very hungry.
Mar 04, 2013
Mar 04, 2013
Rss infinite