Dismiss
Note: some of our members have reported that not all read dates are showing on this page. While we work on making sure they correctly display on this page, you can still view your dates on your review or on the book page.

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith
3.98
did not like it
Would recommend: No

I chose this book because I found Traveling Mercies: Some Thoughts on Faith to be interesting and thought-provoking. This book, how
...more
not set
Jul 31, 2012
 
Talking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls, and Everything in Between
4.03
really liked it
Would recommend

I listened to this one, well, as fast as I could! I am probably at my limit for snappy funny lady essay memoirs for now, but I really e
...more
Sep 22, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
 
The Ocean at the End of the Lane
3.99
it was amazing
Would highly recommend!

I loooved this book. Neil Gaiman reads the audio, and he does such a good job! The story was creepy but not scary, and it has
...more
not set
Mar 27, 2017
 
Up in the Air
2.86
it was ok
Would recommend: Maybe

Thoughts on the audio version I listened to:

1) The reader is NOT George Clooney, and that disappointed me every time I went back
...more
not set
Apr 16, 2010
 
The Giver (The Giver, #1)
4.12
really liked it
Would recommend (obvs)

I haven't read The Giver since I was a child, so listening to it on audio was like seeing pictures of a long-ago memory. I did i
...more
not set
Oct 24, 2017
 
Food: A Love Story
3.69
it was ok
As I expected, this book was good for a few laughs. My favorite part was about the "McDonald's of the soul," including celebrity gossip magazines, fra ...more
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
 
The Summer Before the War
3.79
really liked it
Would recommend

I have been hesitating with this book because I couldn't get through Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, but sometimes the audio book catalog
...more
Aug 24, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
 
Carry On, Warrior: Thoughts on Life Unarmed
4.18
liked it
Would recommend: Yes

I liked this more than I expected to. At times, it slanted a little too emotional, a little too parenting-centric, or a little too
...more
not set
Oct 16, 2013
 
A Mango-Shaped Space
4.22
liked it
Very interesting! Synesthesia is fascinating! Reading/listening to this book reminded me of the phenomena described in Oliver Sacks' Musicophilia: Tal ...more
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 22, 2017
 
Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1)
4.04
really liked it
Would recommend: Yes

So, I really liked this one! I was skeptical because it's nothing I would have normally picked, but Janssen was so effusive about
...more
not set
Feb 08, 2012
 
Why Not Me?
3.89
liked it
I tried this before and quit after 10 minutes because I could NOT bring myself to care about Mindy's spray tan. Then Susan exhorted me to try it again ...more
not set
Sep 01, 2017
 
This is the Story of a Happy Marriage
4.03
it was amazing
Would recommend!

I loved this essay collection so much. I love Ann Patchett's books, and hearing her read her own journalism was so great. It only too
...more
not set
Jun 17, 2016
 
Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End
4.41
really liked it
Would recommend

Oh, man, this book is so sobering but so good. We are dealing with this peripherally with grandparents, but the time is going to come
...more
Sep 27, 2017
Jan 30, 2016
 
Ready Player One
4.31
it was amazing
Would recommend: YES!

I really loved this book, and I don't even like or play video games. I appreciate how the author basically wrote an homage to eve
...more
not set
Oct 09, 2012
 
Someday, Someday, Maybe
3.49
liked it
Perfectly pleasant and entertaining for cookie-baking. Hearing Lauren Graham read it was great, too.
not set
Mar 22, 2017
 
If You Ask Me (And of Course You Won't)
3.65
liked it
Would recommend: Sure

This is my fourth book of this ilk that I've read this year (others: Bossypants, My Lucky Life in and Out of Show Business, and I
...more
not set
Dec 12, 2011
 
The Life and Times of the Thunderbolt Kid
3.93
it was ok
Would recommend: Maybe

I liked this Bill Bryson memoir well enough, but it was still disappointing. I usually laugh out loud occasionally enough throug
...more
Feb 24, 2011
Feb 23, 2011
 
Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore (Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, #1)
3.75
it was amazing
Would recommend: YES, with The Crazy Eyes

I loved this book SO MUCH. Listening to it during my commutes made me SO happy, I can not even describe. And
...more
not set
Apr 01, 2013
 
Lean In: Women, Work, and the Will to Lead
3.94
it was ok
Would recommend: Ehhh

I almost gave this book 3, maybe 4 stars, because I think the ideas in it are interesting and well thought-out. But my visceral r
...more
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
 
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking
4.04
really liked it
Would recommend: Yes

I thought this book about introversion was SO interesting. I talked Greg's ear off about it for the entire time that I listened to
...more
May 18, 2012
Feb 22, 2012
 
The Dead in Their Vaulted Arches (Flavia de Luce, #6)
4.16
it was ok
Would recommend: Eh

So, the 5th book in the series (Speaking from Among the Bones) had me on tenterhooks for the next one, and I was kind of disappoint
...more
not set
Feb 28, 2014
 
This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance!
3.39
liked it
There are lots of great points of this book. I think the nonlinear construction works well, and the family relationships are well-drawn, with very eff ...more
Oct 14, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
 
Brooklyn
3.63
it was ok
Would recommend: Probably not

I liked this book well enough for about 3/4 of it. I liked the tone, how the author was able to paint very clear pictures
...more
Jan 14, 2011
Jan 17, 2011
 
City of Bones (The Mortal Instruments, #1)
4.12
it was ok
Would recommend: Probably not

This was just okay. It had been recommended to me by 2 independent sources, and there's a movie adaptation coming out in
...more
not set
Dec 13, 2012
 
Scrappy Little Nobody
3.90
liked it
I liked this well enough. Anna Kendrick does a nice job reading and using her shrillness effectively but not too much. I think she comes off as pretty ...more
not set
Aug 27, 2017
 
About Alice
4.00
liked it
Would recommend: Yes

I downloaded this audio book because I needed something new, and I enjoy the food writing of the author. I guessed from the title
...more
not set
May 20, 2013
 
Middlesex
3.98
liked it
Would recommend: Maybe

I had read a lot of articles that touted Middlesex as a book that intellectuals should read, and it was on Oprah's Book Club lis
...more
Feb 08, 2011
Jan 17, 2011
 
The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1)
4.05
liked it
Would recommend: Maybe

I liked this, but the Maggie Stiefvater bar was set VERY high with The Scorpio Races, and there's no way this could have measure
...more
Apr 13, 2013
Apr 08, 2013
 
Lucky Us
3.22
did not like it
I listened to this book on audio, and it never really caught hold. The reader didn't do a good enough job differentiating between characters, and I ke ...more
not set
Aug 07, 2017
 
I've Got Your Number
3.93
liked it
Would recommend: I guess so

I mean, this is exactly what you think it is: Shopaholic-type antics, but without the compulsive spending. The same poor de
...more
not set
May 25, 2012
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'audio-book' »
« previous 1 3 4 5