cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Real Life of Sebastian Knight
3.93
really liked it
book about a man who tries to discover the inner thoughts/beliefs of his half brother after his young death.

compelling for issues of public perception
...more
Aug 2004
Jul 31, 2007
 
Java How to Program
3.84
liked it
this version is pretty outdated now, but I was a big fan of deitel&deitel books when I was learning how to program.

they're best for new programmer
...more
Mar 1999
Sep 30, 2007
 
god is Not Great: How Religion Poisons Everything
3.96
it was amazing
A seemingly very well researched and articulated argument for atheism and it's defense and promotion.

He gives all sorts of historical and religious re
...more
Jun 2007
Jul 30, 2007
 
Tao Te Ching
4.32
liked it
not bad, but I don't subscribe to the Way.

if I'm going to read old asian philosophy texts, I prefer the hindu variety.
Feb 2000
Sep 30, 2007
 
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
3.61
liked it
I can see why people praise james joyce so much. The book was mostly very well written, with a great style.

I was engaged in the beginning, compelled i
...more
Sep 2007
Sep 30, 2007
 
The Atomic Components of Thought
3.43
did not like it
I have major fundamental issues with this book and ACT-R.

my main issue is that I really hate it.

maybe I gave up on it too early, but the whole premise
...more
Jan 2001
Sep 30, 2007
 
World Without End (Kingsbridge, #2)
4.24
really liked it
someone shoved pillars of the earth onto me, and when I finally read it I loved it. it's just good story telling and a fun period to read about in thi ...more
Nov 2007
Nov 24, 2007
 
I. M. Wright's "Hard Code"
3.84
liked it
Interesting. Software project management tips from a Microsoft pm. Not everything translates out of their setup, but there's some good advice in there ...more
Feb 2009
Sep 21, 2009
 
Deception Point
3.68
it was ok
ehh. airport book - kept me interested, but not what I'd call great.
Jun 2009
Sep 21, 2009
 
Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap... and Others Don't
4.05
it was ok
heavy on the metaphors and examples, some useful tidbits.
Mar 2009
Sep 21, 2009
 
The 9/11 Commission Report: Final Report of the National Commission on Terrorist Attacks Upon the United States
3.56
really liked it
If you are interested in the events that the city/state/federal government knew about leading up to, during, and after 9/11, you should read this.

Or,
...more
not set
Jul 30, 2007
 
Death in Venice and Other Stories
3.87
it was ok
took a little to get me into deathinvenice - probably because I just came off reading james joyce and I just wasn't feeling mann's writing style as mu ...more
Oct 2007
Sep 30, 2007
 
The Kon-Tiki Expedition
4.10
liked it
this guy made and rode a balsa wood raft across the pacific ocean to try to prove polynesian islands could have been inhabited by south americans in p ...more
Jan 2000
Jul 30, 2007
 
How to Force Checkmate
4.12
it was ok
basically it is a bunch of pictures of chessboards w/ games in progress, and it tells you who moves next,and how many moves to mate, then has the solu ...more
not set
Sep 30, 2007
 
Don Quixote
3.86
liked it
great character.

couldn't read part II - it just wasn't the same as the rest. Read about the controversy surrounding part II, the religious pressure at
...more
Oct 2006
Jul 30, 2007
 
The Odyssey
3.73
really liked it
the ancient greek account of a warrior's long journey home from a 9-year trojan war - and how his family changed in his absence.

they say it was writte
...more
Jan 2004
Jul 30, 2007
 
Ender's Game (Ender's Saga, #1)
4.30
really liked it
not the bestwritten book ever, but compelling and creative story.

some of the things he comes up with are just fantastic, and like a mental confrontati
...more
Sep 2007
Sep 30, 2007
 
Dinosaurs: The Textbook
3.73
this book gets credit for almost being a magazine-sytle textbook, something I've thought should be widespread.

unfortunately, it suffers from the reall
...more
not set
Sep 30, 2007
 
Uncle Petros and Goldbach's Conjecture
3.98
it was amazing
this is the fictional version of the man who loved only numbers - except with a different message.

This is also motivational, but good for people who a
...more
Jan 2002
Jul 30, 2007
 
Reversing: Secrets of Reverse Engineering
4.03
liked it
worth reading for hardcore programmers, esp people who release software, even if you're not interested in reverse engineering anything.

also good if yo
...more
Jan 2007
Jul 30, 2007
 
The Pillars of the Earth (Kingsbridge, #1)
4.30
liked it
long, but compelling historical fictional account of 12th century monks and people around them.

I sped through this 973-page book and was left wanting
...more
Jan 2007
Jul 30, 2007
 
Practical Chinese Reader, Book 1 (Traditional Character)
3.33
it was ok
good textbook. aggressively switches to all-character passages and exercises, so a good forced acceptance of characters.

some words seem dated, and it
...more
Feb 2002
Sep 30, 2007
 
What Went Wrong? Western Impact and Middle Eastern Response
3.48
really liked it
Interesting insight into the fairly recent downfall of arab empires and how it shapes their and our worlds today.

I think it's one of the essentials if
...more
not set
Jul 30, 2007
 
The Mythical Man-Month: Essays on Software Engineering
4.05
liked it
this book is really old.

amazingly it is still useful, especially for being realistic in development expectations and planning and avoiding pitfalls.

no
...more
not set
Sep 30, 2007
 
Passport to Chinese
2.00
it was ok
good for more character practice and sentence structure, but not for beginners learning the language.

only contains pinyin in very limited glossary, th
...more
Jan 2004
Sep 30, 2007
 
Chinese: The Essence Of Asian Cooking
3.53
liked it
"Spring rolls with Sweet Chili dipping sauce" is one of my favorite recipes ever - but I bake them.

some other good ones in there too. My in-the-pineap
...more
Jan 2003
Jul 30, 2007
 
Franny and Zooey
3.98
really liked it
I may even like this better than catcher in the rye.

esp the last line, and the scene in the bar, which is the best life-representing scene from a book
...more
Jul 2000
Jul 30, 2007
 
Teach Yourself Beginners Chinese Script : An Introduction to Reading and Writing Chinese
3.20
liked it
i like this series.

this one has a lot of pictures of signs and money with writing, little mini-tests, and it conducive to learning - if you follow thr
...more
not set
Sep 30, 2007
 
King of the Vagabonds (The Baroque Cycle, Vol. 1, Book 2)
4.16
liked it
great fictional account of life as an adventurous peasant in 1600s europe.

good story, compelling, some nice as-it-was insights into the time period -
...more
Feb 2007
Jul 30, 2007
 
Asian Philosophies
3.68
it was ok
book for class, written by professor.

many many many many many words. i think your time would be better spent on his sourcebook, reading primary source
...more
Feb 2000
Sep 30, 2007
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3