# cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
7
The Dice Man
3.59
it was ok
Author Too in Love with his Own Concept to See the Gaping Blindspots

This is a novel which was recommended to me by friends as "if you liked Fight Cl
...more
Jan 2007
Sep 19, 2009
 
8
The Waste Land
4.10
did not like it
This Pisses Me Off and Makes Me Feel Like a Moron

I've had to read this twice in the course of my education, and I don't like it one bit, though I th
...more
Jan 2003
Sep 18, 2009
 
12
No One Belongs Here More Than You
3.81
it was ok
Icky ew.

My housemate recommended this with 'this is so sweet, it will restore your faith in humanity'. I am now reconsidering how much I like my hou
...more
Jul 2011
Jul 02, 2011
 
1
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, #2)
3.81
did not like it
Dan Brown Used to Teach Creative Writing? Pity the Students

I got to page 17 before I was pissed off enough to stop reading. The little author biog s
...more
Jan 2007
Jul 26, 2009
 
13
Factotum
3.96
it was ok
Nasty Drunk

I'd heard multiple times that Bukowski was a shit to women, but a really good writer. OK, I can deal with that. I mean, I wouldn't want to
...more
Nov 2012
Mar 07, 2013
 
10
Executioner: Pierrepoint. Albert Pierrepoint
3.82
did not like it
Put this book out of its misery

Pierrepoint, Britain's last hangman, used a system of variable drops to snap the convict's neck instantly - killing t
...more
Oct 18, 2011
Sep 18, 2010
 
3
The Deadly Space Between
3.08
did not like it
This One Disturbed Most of My University

This was on our reading lists at uni. For a few weeks, anyone who lived with a Literature student, went for
...more
Oct 2005
Jul 30, 2009
 
5
Lolita
3.89
it was ok
Dull, But Not Without Redeeming Features

It took me two years to power my way through this one. I'm a stubborn reader that doesn't like to leave thin
...more
Aug 2004
Jul 24, 2009
 
2
Measure for Measure
3.67
it was ok
There's a Problem at the Heart of This

A romantic comedy built around saving someone from capital punishment is going to have to work double-time to
...more
Jan 2007
Sep 13, 2009
 
9
One More Stop
2.45
it was ok
Insipid, Self-Obsessed Drivel

It's amazing that a novel which features drugs, cults, orgies, suicides, ghosts etc - nevertheless managed to maintain
...more
Jan 06, 2009
Jan 02, 2010
 
4
The Mistressclass: A Novel
2.65
it was ok
Two Novels Shoved Together - One of them Crap

This is a bizarre book which I would not have usually chosen, but it was on my reading lists at uni. On
...more
Sep 2005
Jul 30, 2009
 
6
Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance
3.77
it was ok
None
not set
Jul 24, 2009
 
11
Revolution for the Hell of It
3.82
it was ok
None
Oct 18, 2011
Dec 15, 2009
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'i-don-t-get-it' »