Bookshelves

All (4807)

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
I Am Half-Sick of Shadows (Flavia de Luce, #4)
4.09
liked it
At this point, I've elected not to take these books seriously at all, and just enjoy them for what they are without picking nits. After all, at least ...more
Dec 28, 2013
Dec 26, 2013
 
Authority (Southern Reach, #2)
3.54
really liked it
Coming after Annihilation, this book seems to make so much more sense, to be begin with. There are still aspects of mystery, confusion, and not just a ...more
Feb 22, 2015
Feb 22, 2015
 
Dead Man's Chest (Phryne Fisher, #18)
4.04
liked it
Dead Man’s Chest takes Phryne from the comforts of her own home to an attempted holiday, much in the vein of Peter and Harriet’s honeymoon in Sayers’ ...more
Apr 27, 2016
Dec 25, 2015
 
Slow River
3.84
really liked it
I don't think I read the summary of Slow River when I bought it. It wasn't familiar at all when I started reading it, anyway. And I... kind of liked t ...more
Jul 02, 2013
Dec 30, 2011
 
Unnatural Death (Lord Peter Wimsey, #3)
4.10
really liked it
Starting the New Year with a Sayers review? Yes, please.

So Unnatural Death is maybe not the best in terms of the convoluted plot, the number of charac
...more
Dec 31, 2014
Dec 31, 2014
 
Clouds of Witness: Lord Peter Wimsey Series, Book 2
4.03
it was amazing
Featuring Ian Carmichael as Lord Peter Wimsey, Peter Jones as Bunter, and Gabriel Woolf as Inspector Parker

This is the second of the Lord Peter radiop
...more
Mar 11, 2015
Mar 11, 2015
 
Bellman & Black
3.05
it was ok
I got Bellman & Black from Netgalley a while ago, without really knowing anything about it. It turned out to be a smooth, easy read, but it didn't ...more
Nov 2013
Oct 31, 2013
 
Death Before Wicket (Phryne Fisher, #10)
3.76
it was ok
I’m not sure why I didn’t review Death Before Wicket when I read it, in the correct order, before Away With the Fairies. Not that it really requires s ...more
Nov 25, 2015
Dec 25, 2015
 
Started Early, Took My Dog (Jackson Brodie, #4)
3.90
did not like it
Read for a reading challenge, and that’s the only reason I stuck with it. At all. The prompt for this one was “set in your hometown”, and Leeds was th ...more
Nov 24, 2015
Nov 24, 2015
 
Wylding Hall
3.95
really liked it
Wylding Hall is a pretty short novel with an interesting structure. It’s told as if it’s a series of interviews — possibly for radio or just for someo ...more
May 22, 2016
May 22, 2016
 
Made to Kill (Ray Electromatic Mysteries, #1)
3.36
really liked it
Received to review via Netgalley

You might know from my reviews of another Angry Robot alumnus, Chris Holm, that I kind of love the hardboiled pulp mys
...more
Oct 03, 2015
Oct 03, 2015
 
Touch
3.80
really liked it
Hmm, I think I’ll be pondering on this one for a while now. Like The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, it takes a classic idea — in that case a kin ...more
Jul 26, 2015
Apr 03, 2015
 
The Splendour Falls
3.71
liked it
Looking at the reviews for this book, I had to laugh at how many people compared Kearsley’s work to Mary Stewart’s. Including myself, I’m afraid, whic ...more
May 04, 2015
May 04, 2015
 
The Nine Tailors (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, #9)
4.07
really liked it
One of my favourites of the Peter Wimsey books, though I have to say that this time I felt that there was something a bit off about the pacing. It fel ...more
Nov 14, 2012
Nov 14, 2012
 
The Time of the Ghost
3.64
liked it
It's quite strange reading this after reading the Reflections collection, knowing how autobiographical this happens to be. And how things that really ...more
Nov 09, 2012
Oct 19, 2012
 
Rebecca
4.21
really liked it
I decided to read Rebecca since I haven't read any du Maurier and it's the one I've heard most about. I also saw it compared to Jane Eyre a lot, and J ...more
May 10, 2009
Apr 01, 2009
 
Liar
3.30
it was amazing
I first heard of Liar when everyone was talking about the controversy surrounding the original cover. I filed it away in the back of my mind, thinking ...more
Jan 06, 2011
Jan 03, 2011
 
Murder and Mendelssohn (Phryne Fisher, #20)
3.85
really liked it
The last Phryne book so far! Not quite sure what I’ll do without her; in fact, I’m vastly tempted to just pick up Cocaine Blues and begin again, the s ...more
Jun 05, 2016
Feb 20, 2016
 
The Thirteenth Tale
3.95
liked it
The Thirteenth Tale is certainly an absorbing story in one way -- and I prefer it to Bellman & Black, as people told me I probably would -- but no ...more
Nov 15, 2014
Nov 15, 2014
 
The Talisman Ring
3.98
it was amazing
I was feeling a bit stressed, so it felt like the perfect time to revisit The Talisman Ring (and maybe also The Grand Sophy, if I get the chance). Hey ...more
Nov 03, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
 
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
3.86
really liked it
I've been meaning to read this book for a while. I was curious about it, since I've known quite a few people with Asperger's Syndrome, and since my mu ...more
Jul 25, 2009
Jul 25, 2009
 
Rose Cottage
3.50
liked it
Rose Cottage is a quiet mystery/romance, not too heavy on either, with no dramatics of the sort you find in The Gabriel Hounds or Touch Not the Cat. I ...more
Jan 28, 2016
Jan 28, 2016
 
Fadeout (Dave Brandstetter, #1)
3.97
really liked it
It’s been a while since I read these, and when I noticed they’re now available for Kindle, I kind of fell upon them. Hansen’s writing is really readab ...more
Aug 28, 2016
Aug 30, 2016
 
Whose Body? (Lord Peter Wimsey Mysteries, #1)
3.91
it was amazing
I first read the Peter Wimsey books during my undergrad, when I was doing a crime fiction course. Then, recently, I listened to the radio plays -- I h ...more
Feb 08, 2012
Feb 08, 2012
 
Queen of the Flowers (Phryne Fisher, #14)
3.96
really liked it
Queen of the Flowers is one of the better Phryne books, to my mind. It features pretty much all of the main cast, albeit some of them briefly: Dot, th ...more
Jan 25, 2016
Dec 25, 2015
 
Ysabel
3.61
really liked it
Reread in February 2010.

Since I first read Ysabel, I discovered all the rest of Guy Gavriel Kay's work and found that, really, Ysabel wasn't anything
...more
Feb 15, 2010
Jul 18, 2008
 
The Green Mill Murder (Phryne Fisher, #5)
3.90
really liked it
This is what, by now, counts as a fairly typical story for Phryne, featuring two different lovers, some acts of derring-do, and little glimpses of the ...more
Oct 29, 2015
Oct 30, 2015
 
A Love Like Blood
3.14
liked it
A Love Like Blood is a pretty disturbing book. I wasn't sure that to expect when I requested it from Bookbridgr, and I'm a little worried that everyth ...more
Aug 07, 2014
Aug 07, 2014
 
Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency (Dirk Gently #1)
3.97
liked it
One of the most annoying things about reading the Kindle edition of this book was the fact that popular highlights show up and you can't turn them off ...more
Jan 21, 2011
Dec 23, 2010
 
Airs Above the Ground
4.02
liked it
"Hi, honey, I've been lying to you throughout our relationship and I'm (view spoiler)."
"Oh my god, that is so sexy. If
...more
Mar 12, 2013
Aug 17, 2012
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'mystery' »