Bookshelves

All (766)
« 1 »

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Blackdog
3.62
really liked it
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

My wife and daughter were out of town this past week so I took the opportunity to really plow through some of
...more
Aug 23, 2011
Jul 30, 2011
 
The Greyfriar (Vampire Empire, #1)
3.82
liked it
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

As I was nodding off last night to the thundering pops of at home fireworks outside my window (northeast D.C.
...more
Jul 02, 2011
Jul 02, 2011
 
Shadow's Son (Shadow Saga, #1)
3.58
liked it
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

I shouldn't like this book as much as I do. I should be writing about how many fantasy cliches it has and how
...more
Jun 04, 2011
Jun 01, 2011
 
The Restoration Game
3.60
liked it
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

I'm not sure The Restoration Game is science fiction.  Sure, it's technically based on a speculative what-if,
...more
Nov 08, 2011
Oct 24, 2011
 
Sword of Fire and Sea (The Chaos Knight, #1)
3.35
it was ok
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

I have a sneaking suspicion that Sword of Fire and Sea is going to be one of the more polarizing novels of 201
...more
Oct 29, 2011
Oct 24, 2011
 
Tome of the Undergates (Aeons' Gate, #1)
3.35
liked it
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

Who is Sam Sykes?  Parts of Tome of the Undergates would suggest he might be to fantasy what Douglas Adams is
...more
Aug 09, 2011
Aug 08, 2011
 
Diving into the Wreck (Diving Universe, #1)
3.50
liked it
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

Science fiction as a genre has always been based on what if.  What if we brought a man back to life?  What if
...more
Oct 06, 2011
Oct 03, 2011
 
The Goblin Corps
3.79
liked it
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

Ari Marmell's most recent novel from Pyr (at least for a few more weeks) is predicated on the notion of the 'b
...more
Dec 27, 2011
Dec 22, 2011
 
The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack (Burton & Swinburne, #1)
3.68
really liked it
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

I love historical fiction.  Shogun by James Clavell, Pride of Carthage by David Anthony Durham, and Gates of F
...more
Aug 09, 2011
Jul 30, 2011
 
Fast Forward
3.71
liked it
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

I don't read a lot of anthologies.  No particular reason really other than I tend to read them a story at a ti
...more
Aug 10, 2011
Jul 30, 2011
 
The Dervish House
3.84
it was amazing
http://staffersmusings.blogspot.com/2...

Sometimes I read a book and I immediately know what I have in front of me. I know it's good, or interesting, o
...more
May 2011
Apr 05, 2011
 
Geosynchron (Jump 225, #3)
3.83
it was amazing
Brilliant. I've never written an author after finishing a book/series and I felt compelled after this. Of course Edelman is a DC metro area resident s ...more
Jan 2011
Apr 05, 2011
 
The Scroll of Years (Gaunt and Bone, #1)
3.31
really liked it
A little "removed" at times and overly episodic at others, but beautiful prose and INTERESTING themes and concepts.

http://www.staffersbookreview.com/2
...more
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 12, 2013
 
Shadow's Master (Shadow Saga, #3)
3.73
liked it
Feb 23, 2012
Feb 21, 2012
 
London Eye (Toxic City, #1)
3.28
it was ok
Nov 06, 2012
Oct 25, 2012
 
A Red Sun Also Rises
3.49
it was ok
http://www.staffersbookreview.com/201...

Totally weird. Totally readable. Not to my taste, but others will probably love it. Sword and planet meets Vic
...more
Feb 10, 2013
Jan 06, 2013
 
Black Halo (Aeons' Gate, #2)
3.56
it was ok
Great prose, great characters, but. . . WHAT DOES IT ALL MEAN?!

http://www.staffersbookreview.com/201...
Jun 17, 2013
May 02, 2013
 
Before They Are Hanged (The First Law, #2)
4.27
really liked it
None
Dec 16, 2014
Oct 24, 2008
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'pyr' »