cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Notes on Blood Meridian
4.07
it was amazing
If you are a fan of 'Blood Meridian' this is a must-read. It's basically the recipe for McCarthy's book, characters and events separated and traced ba ...more
not set
Nov 25, 2010
 
The Collected Stories of Katherine Anne Porter
3.98
it was amazing
I have to admire Katherine Ann Porter. So many of her loves died and rejected her, ran away, and deceived her. Somehow she ended up writing truthfully ...more
not set
Jul 30, 2010
 
Goodbye to a River: A Narrative
4.23
it was amazing
To this day, the Brazos is unpredictable, mesmerizing, frustrating and beautiful. It is this work by John Graves that once saved the Brazos from being ...more
not set
Oct 23, 2008
 
The Gay Place
3.95
liked it
I certainly didn't expect a novel based on LBJ's political career in Texas to be chock-full of eroticism and complicated passions. Not that the Johnso ...more
not set
Dec 16, 2008
 
The Bottoms
4.15
liked it
This is from Nacogdoches author Joe Lansdale. He's in the habit of cranking out mysteries, horror, and western stories. Sort of like a modern Robert E ...more
not set
Oct 21, 2009
 
Isaac's Storm: A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History
4.05
it was amazing
It's funny how well written history books can get you highly agitated at people who exited the earth many decades ago.

The Isaac of the title is Isaac
...more
not set
Mar 31, 2010
 
The Boy Captives: (Clinton And Jeff Smith)
4.28
it was amazing
From the Texas State Historical Association website.

SMITH, CLINTON LAFAYETTE AND JEFFERSON DAVIS. Clint and Jeff Smith were captured on February 26, 1
...more
not set
Feb 21, 2012
 
The Old Order: Stories of the South from Flowering Judas, Pale Horse, Pale Rider, and The Leaning Tower
4.11
it was amazing
My affair with Katherine Anne Porter has been going on for some time now, and I revisit her stories more than any other author.

This collection is like
...more
not set
Mar 19, 2014
 
No Country for Old Men
4.13
it was amazing
It always pleases me to read McCarthy's meticulous descriptions of guns. In a more modern setting, this includes a lot of information. It reminds me o ...more
not set
Apr 21, 2010
 
All the Pretty Horses (The Border Trilogy, #1)
3.98
it was amazing
I do enjoy McCarthy's scrawny troublemakers. Pathetic souls who are more dangerous and sympathetic than they first seem.

A lot of adventure.

Wonderful p
...more
not set
May 14, 2010
 
Wild at Heart
3.79
really liked it
You'd think parole-breaking romantic rebels would know by now not to head into Texas. Of course the place is so damn big it is hard to avoid it if you ...more
not set
Sep 18, 2009
 
Cold Blue Steel
4.88
really liked it
My father gave me this book. He must have seen her at some cop event or something. The title and cover design are unfortunate, but the content is genu ...more
not set
Jan 06, 2014
 
The Counselor: A Screenplay
3.33
it was ok
Read as a drama or a thriller, this script is abysmal and boring.

Read as a comedy, it is riotously funny.

I'm all for anything that presents me with in
...more
not set
Nov 17, 2013
 
Jesus Out to Sea
3.93
it was ok
The majority of these stories are set on the Texas/Louisiana coast, and I've been tempted to read this author because he writes in that setting a lot. ...more
not set
Apr 11, 2010
 
A Swell-Looking Babe
3.81
liked it
I can't say I particularly enjoyed watching Thompson usher this character into complete oblivion. The final judgment made on the protagonist of this b ...more
not set
May 04, 2010
 
Blessed McGill
4.25
liked it
The chief problem with this book is what the author has made of his research. He has taken the facts from thorough readings of Southwestern historical ...more
not set
Jul 09, 2009
 
Cities of the Plain
4.08
it was amazing
My favorite of McCarthy's books, I have yet to read 'The Crossing'.

The epilogue is unfortunate. It's like something Borges would write - on a day he d
...more
not set
May 02, 2011
 
Brann and the Iconoclast
3.90
it was amazing
A book of intense interest for myself, as I was born in the municipality in which the main altercations in this book took place.

I have seen the very p
...more
not set
Nov 24, 2009
 
Libra
3.98
it was amazing
This is one of the few books that benefits from having the internet nearby as a distraction. I kept stopping to look up the different personalities in ...more
not set
Feb 15, 2011
 
Texas Summer
3.47
liked it
Nostalgia for aspects of Texan summers that are sad, frightening, and sometimes funny. Southern is especially on the mark with his young boys, who are ...more
not set
Jul 14, 2009
 
Katherine Anne Porter and Texas: An Uneasy Relationship
3.67
it was ok
There is just sadly very little content here. The same facts are presented again and again, and the details of Porter's adolescence in Texas become ev ...more
not set
Nov 12, 2013
 
A John Graves Reader
4.56
really liked it
My only complaint is that there is not more to read.

Hopefully, for Texas' greatest writer we will one day have a multi-volume, well-annotated, complet
...more
not set
Nov 10, 2011
 
The Deer Pasture
3.93
liked it
Gillespie County is a beautiful place. Rick Bass conveys a lot of enthusiasm and passion for the Hill Country. He is so enthusiastic and excited that ...more
not set
Nov 25, 2008
 
Horseman, Pass By
3.94
it was amazing
I keep buying used books originating from the shelves of someone, someone who writes grammatical corrections in BLUE INK, even when it is OBVIOUS the ...more
not set
Jun 30, 2010
 
Blood and Thunder: An Epic of the American West
4.18
it was amazing
Thrilled me completely from beginning to end.
not set
Jan 15, 2016
 
A Comprehensive Guide to Outdoor Sculpture in Texas
4.33
it was amazing
I'm surprised that this even exists.

Some of these statues I have seen so often that they have become like characters in my life. It is a blessing to b
...more
not set
Nov 21, 2008
 
Roads: Driving America's Greatest Highways
3.47
really liked it
Here McMurtry is rereading the great roads of America. Zipping across state lines and namechecking local authors that I will have to read one day. The ...more
not set
Jul 01, 2009
 
The Indians of Texas: From Prehistoric to Modern Times
3.88
it was amazing
After a lot of time down in the brush country I wanted to learn more about the Coahuiltecans - the uncivilized people who lived in that thorny, dry la ...more
not set
May 04, 2009
 
Trillin on Texas
3.46
it was amazing
In the vein of S.J. Perelman, Ian Frazier, another humorous 'New Yorker' columnist, this book gathering Texas-related columns. Brisket, true-crime, an ...more
not set
Jul 19, 2012
 
In a Narrow Grave: Essays on Texas
3.88
it was amazing
The essay on the Astrodome is one of the funniest things I've ever read in my life - he SLAMS Houston.

The topics here are disparate, and some of the e
...more
not set
Jun 03, 2009
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'texana' »
« previous 1