cover title author rating rating my rating review Up arrow read added
 
American Kingpin: The Epic Hunt for the Criminal Mastermind Behind the Silk Road
4.30
None
not set
Aug 08, 2017
 
Dept. of Speculation
3.72
None
not set
Jan 31, 2015
 
Operation Family Secrets: How a Mobster's Son and the FBI Brought Down Chicago's Murderous Crime Family
3.61
None
not set
Apr 15, 2011
 
Spam Nation: The Inside Story of Organized Cybercrime — from Global Epidemic to Your Front Door
3.70
None
not set
Dec 04, 2014
 
A Fine Mess: A Global Quest for a Simpler, Fairer, and More Efficient Tax System
4.09
None
not set
Apr 06, 2017
 
Sex, Drugs, and Sea Slime: The Oceans' Oddest Creatures and Why They Matter
3.70
None
not set
May 12, 2011
 
The Big Thirst: The Marvels, Mysteries & Madness Shaping the New Era of Water
3.94
None
not set
May 16, 2011
 
The Aisles Have Eyes: How Retailers Track Your Shopping, Strip Your Privacy, and Define Your Power
3.56
None
not set
Feb 21, 2017
 
@War: The Rise of the Military-Internet Complex
3.78
liked it
None
Jan 05, 2015
Dec 04, 2014
 
Don't Shoot: One Man, A Street Fellowship, and the End of Violence in Inner-City America
4.13
None
not set
Dec 09, 2011
 
The Hidden Reality: Parallel Universes and the Deep Laws of the Cosmos
4.05
None
not set
Dec 09, 2011
 
The Assassination of Margaret Thatcher
3.46
None
not set
Oct 19, 2014
 
We Meant Well: How I Helped Lose the Battle for the Hearts and Minds of the Iraqi People
3.87
None
not set
Mar 21, 2012
 
Dear Committee Members
3.75
None
not set
Aug 17, 2014
 
1493: Uncovering the New World Columbus Created
4.05
None
not set
Mar 13, 2013
 
I Contain Multitudes: The Microbes Within Us and a Grander View of Life
4.20
really liked it
(4.5)
Apr 27, 2017
Sep 06, 2016
 
Sutton
3.81
None
not set
Apr 10, 2013
 
It's Even Worse Than It Looks: How the American Constitutional System Collided With the Politics of Extremism
3.91
None
not set
Apr 12, 2013
 
Inventing Wine: A New History of One of the World's Most Ancient Pleasures
3.45
None
not set
Apr 21, 2013
 
Los enamoramientos
3.49
None
not set
Sep 05, 2013
 
No Place to Hide: Edward Snowden, the NSA, and the U.S. Surveillance State
4.08
None
not set
May 20, 2014
 
Stone Arabia
3.36
None
not set
May 20, 2012
 
Bossypants
3.94
really liked it
(4.0) Funny, glad I audiobooked it.

Tina's funny. And this is funnier for her having read it for audiobook. I like the times she mutters under her brea
...more
Aug 12, 2013
Dec 09, 2011
 
The Company We Keep: A Husband-and-Wife True-Life Spy Story
3.34
liked it
(3.5) Cool reading about real spies

Though they admit up front that they essentially change every fact in the narratives, to the point of unrecognizabi
...more
Jul 03, 2012
Apr 21, 2011
 
Last Call: The Rise and Fall of Prohibition
3.87
really liked it
(4.0) Prohibition and all its hypocrisy

I enjoyed reading this well-researched treatment of Prohibition (before, during and a little after). I can't te
...more
Dec 12, 2011
Aug 11, 2011
 
The Emperor of All Maladies: A Biography of Cancer
4.29
really liked it
(4.5) Impressively informative history of cancer, with a few teeny faults

I was so impressed to see all of cancer's history (and essentially all of the
...more
Jun 26, 2011
Mar 16, 2011
 
The Parties Versus the People: How to Turn Republicans and Democrats into Americans
4.06
really liked it
(4.0) Refreshing perspective, but not sure he offers enough direction/hope for change

As I mentioned in progress update, I don't see why he dismisses i
...more
May 31, 2014
Mar 27, 2013
 
Then They Came for Me: A Family's Story of Love, Captivity, and Survival
4.10
it was amazing
(5.0) Powerful story well told

I'd heard Maziar on Fresh Air and wanted to hear more of the story of his imprisonment in an Iranian political prison. I
...more
Nov 11, 2011
Jun 29, 2011
 
Sleeping with the Devil: How Washington Sold Our Soul for Saudi Crude
3.91
liked it
(3.0) Mixture of personal exploits within (and after) the CIA, and lots of info on relationships between US government and Saudi Royal Family...but mo ...more
Feb 26, 2013
Apr 21, 2011
 
Open
4.18
it was amazing
(5.0) I want you to read this book

Oh my goodness, this was one of my favorite reading experiences ever. I'm not sure I can objectively explain it, but
...more
Mar 2011
Mar 02, 2011
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'from-fresh-air' »