Bookshelves
All (6378)
« 1 »

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Mistress
3.93
did not like it
In the Beginning, there was Jane Austen, and She wrote the Word, and the Word was Good. And She did Create the Regency Novel in all its Glory.

Then the
...more
not set
May 13, 2009
 
A Gentleman's Position (Society of Gentlemen, #3)
4.28
it was amazing

If Jeeves and Wooster were gay (let's not start that debate at this time), in love with each other, worried about appearances and power imbalances, an
...more
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
 
Crucible of Gold (Temeraire, #7)
3.93
it was amazing

Termeraire and his captain lurch from one disaster to the next as they go from Australia to South America. For the characters, it’s a terrible time al
...more
Feb 28, 2015
Feb 18, 2015
 
Throne of Jade (Temeraire, #2)
3.90
it was amazing

The Chinese government has chosen to be offended when they learn that the dragon egg they gave to the French hatched on a Royal Navy ship and is being
...more
Feb 10, 2015
Jan 31, 2015
 
The Summer of You (The Blue Raven, #2)
3.81
it was ok

Oh dear, this wasn’t what I was expecting at all.

When the characters decamped to the countryside, that should have been my first clue this wasn’t goi
...more
Feb 15, 2017
Feb 14, 2017
 
His Majesty's Dragon (Temeraire, #1)
4.05
it was amazing

I’m sure the ‘Anne McCaffrey meets Patrick O’Brian’ comparison has been made before, but it’s worth repeating since it sums up the concept so well.

The
...more
Jan 31, 2015
Jan 30, 2015
 
A Confidential Problem (Society of Gentlemen, #2.5)
3.87
really liked it

There has already been plenty of discussion on the advantages the internet has brought to the writer-reader relationship, but I want to repeat just ho
...more
Sep 21, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
 
The Game and the Governess (Winner Takes All, #1)
3.39
it was amazing

The plot went in a different direction than I had anticipated based on the opening scene (no revenge plots, thwarted by love or otherwise) and the mai
...more
Jun 13, 2015
Jun 09, 2015
 
Tongues of Serpents (Temeraire, #6)
3.69
liked it

After all the exciting events of the series, all the action comes to a screeching, grinding halt in this book.

The British government doesn’t like that
...more
Feb 25, 2015
Feb 18, 2015
 
A Fashionable Indulgence (Society of Gentlemen, #1)
3.98
it was amazing

Warning: some of the sex scenes are so hot (and explicit) my Kindle almost caught on fire


Take the basic premise of Pretty Woman, My Fair Lady, The Pri
...more
Sep 14, 2016
Sep 06, 2016
 
Wanted, A Gentleman
4.11
it was amazing

Damn.

A black, gay main character in a historically accurate romance with plenty of humor and emotion?

Damn.

There is also a lot of meta here, since the
...more
Jun 11, 2017
Jan 29, 2017
 
Victory of Eagles (Temeraire, #5)
4.02
really liked it

The best part of the book was the draconic take on taking-that-rag-tag-bunch-of-misfits-and-making-a-winning-team. Go Team Temeraire!

That was a pleasu
...more
Feb 20, 2015
Feb 18, 2015
 
Revealed (The Blue Raven, #1)
3.78
it was amazing

Interesting premise to have the main character be potentially extremely dislikable. It’s almost as if someone suggested making Regina George the heroi
...more
Feb 14, 2017
Nov 24, 2014
 
Blood of Tyrants (Temeraire, #8)
3.96
it was amazing

And we continue our world tour.

From Japan to China to Russia, with the action getting louder and louder the closer the main characters get back to th
...more
Apr 14, 2015
Feb 18, 2015
 
Black Powder War (Temeraire, #3)
3.90
it was amazing

The China mission wrapped up, Temeraire and Laurence prepare to head home, but urgent orders come for them to pick up some dragon eggs in Istanbul the
...more
Feb 16, 2015
Feb 02, 2015
 
Empire of Ivory (Temeraire, #4)
3.94
really liked it

Book 4 in the Temeraire series spends a chunk of the plot in Africa, where matters over the slave trade are coming to a head, made all the more tense
...more
Feb 18, 2015
Feb 02, 2015
 
A Seditious Affair (Society of Gentlemen, #2)
4.31
it was amazing

I feel compelled to make a statement regarding my standing on porn / erotica.

I am bored to tears by the kind where absolutely nothing happens but a f
...more
Sep 20, 2016
Sep 19, 2016
 
A Gentleman Undone (Blackshear Family, #2)
3.86
liked it

This book couldn't decide exactly what it wanted to be.

Is it a story of a math genius and her partner-in-crime fleecing casinos for as much as they ca
...more
Nov 27, 2016
Nov 19, 2016
 
Longbourn
3.62
liked it

So, here we follow the plot of Pride and Prejudice, from the “below stairs” as the servants brew the tea and clean the gowns that show up in the origi
...more
Jan 16, 2014
Oct 25, 2013
 
Unlacing Lady Thea
3.55
it was amazing

Perhaps I didn’t need a cappuccino and a chocolate croissant this morning, but I wanted them, the same way that last night I didn’t need to read about
...more
Apr 17, 2014
Apr 14, 2014
 
Heartless
3.66
it was ok

It amazes me how, according to Regency Romance writers, Regency era England was, apparently, over populated by rich, handsome, eligible dukes.
Dec 2012
Dec 09, 2012
 
A Most Unlikely Duke (Diamonds in the Rough, #1)
3.79
liked it

I think A Fashionable Indulgence and Unveiled both did a better job of the Regency rags-to-riches plot with more emotion and depth - but this was stil
...more
Jul 03, 2017
Mar 04, 2017
 
The Sense and Sensibility Screenplay and Diaries: Bringing Jane Austen's Novel to Film
4.38
it was amazing
A movie commentary track in book form - a must read for anyone who loves Ang Lee's Sense and Sensibility.
not set
Apr 26, 2010
 
The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke, #1)
4.07
really liked it

Similar to the first episode if Friends, the story starts with a woman in a wedding dress walking in just after a man has expressed his desire for a b
...more
Mar 17, 2018
Dec 19, 2017
 
A Beastly Scandal
3.65
it was ok

Its a stretch to call this a Beauty and the Beast retelling - its just thin veneer of a fairy retelling over a middling Regency romance story.
Dec 27, 2016
Apr 02, 2013
 
Persuasion
4.13
it was amazing
He's a captain. He has a SHIP. 'Nuff said.

But seriously, this is Jane Austen at her best.
not set
Aug 02, 2008
 
Lost in Austen: Create Your Own Jane Austen Adventure
3.60
None
not set
May 18, 2009
 
Northanger Abbey
3.81
None
not set
Apr 11, 2010
 
Devil's Cub
4.19
liked it
None
not set
Mar 22, 2010
 
Pride and Prejudice
4.25
None
not set
Oct 29, 2009
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'regency-fiction' »
« previous 1