Bookshelves

All (1009)

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
In the Shadow of Liberty: The Hidden History of Slavery, Four Presidents, and Five Black Lives
4.10
really liked it
I went into this book fully expecting to hate our founding fathers but, as with all things in life, it's complicated. For instance, at about the same ...more
Mar 12, 2017
Mar 19, 2017
 
Jackaby (Jackaby, #1)
3.82
really liked it
Great humor, independent heroine, well-rounded cast of characters (dead, alive, and otherwise). Definitely reminded me of BBC's Sherlock; pretty sure ...more
Oct 2014
Oct 02, 2014
 
Grave Mercy (His Fair Assassin, #1)
3.92
I'm sad to say I have given up. The problem is I read Poison Study recently, because it was offered as a read-a-like for this book and this book had y ...more
not set
Apr 17, 2012
 
A Grave Matter (Lady Darby Mystery #3)
4.03
liked it
All of these books are long but this is the first one that felt long to me. I originally started it some six months ago but had binged on the first tw ...more
May 2015
May 16, 2015
 
These Vicious Masks (These Vicious Masks, #1)
3.67
it was ok
Short review: It was fine and I finished it.

Longer review: The writing wasn't bad I just didn't find it very compelling. I enjoyed Evelyn in theory bu
...more
Mar 2016
Nov 06, 2015
 
Lion Heart (Scarlet, #3)
4.04
really liked it
A satisfying conclusion to a great trilogy. The first part of the book was fast-paced and eventful. The second half was slow and sweet (maybe a bit to ...more
Jun 2015
Jan 08, 2015
 
A Countess Below Stairs
3.88
liked it
Fun, "clean," historical romance. Anna (and pretty much everyone else except the fiance and the supposed doctor) were so good it was a bit sickening. ...more
Feb 2011
Feb 27, 2011
 
Slightly Dangerous (Bedwyn Saga, #6)
4.21
liked it
I really enjoyed the first part when they were trapped together at the house party but I fizzled a bit during the second half. I didn't feel convinced ...more
Jan 31, 2018
Feb 03, 2018
 
The Dead Travel Fast
3.59
it was ok
Meh. I ended up just skimming. Probably would have liked it a lot more if I had not read Lady Julia Grey novels first. Much more about the romance wit ...more
not set
Feb 21, 2010
 
The Duchess Deal (Girl Meets Duke, #1)
4.09
really liked it
Best historical romance I've read in a long time. Great banter, great chemistry, great characters, great pacing. This one seemed to have it all.
Aug 27, 2017
Sep 02, 2017
 
Scarlet (Scarlet, #1)
3.95
really liked it
I loved it. A fun retelling of the legend of Robin Hood and a great book for reluctant historical readers.
Oct 2012
Oct 22, 2012
 
The Anatomist's Wife (Lady Darby Mystery, #1)
3.91
really liked it
Great read-a-like for Silent in the Grave (Lady Julia) by Deanna Raybourn.
Sep 2014
Sep 10, 2014
 
Everlasting (Everlasting, #1)
3.70
really liked it
Fun. Like Indiana Jones for girls with a bit less crazy heroics...and no snkes.
not set
Jun 15, 2010
 
Seven Minutes in Heaven  (Desperate Duchesses by the Numbers, #3; Desperate Duchesses, #9)
3.98
really liked it
Great dialogue, strong characters, and swoons.
May 22, 2017
May 26, 2017
 
Mortal Arts (Lady Darby Mystery, #2)
3.98
really liked it
Solid second book.
Sep 2014
Sep 12, 2014
 
A Spy in the House (The Agency, #1)
3.77
really liked it
When is the next one coming out? I can't wait!
not set
Mar 09, 2010
 
Revolution
4.02
really liked it
Amazing writing, captivating story, intense emotions. It kept me riveted while on a plane, which is hard for me because I am so easily distracted. Onl ...more
not set
Nov 11, 2010
 
Keeping the Castle (Keeping the Castle, #1)
3.54
liked it
Charming. As pretty much every description says, great for fans of Austen. It is a quick, cute read. I could have used a bit more development, though.
Jun 2012
Apr 25, 2012
 
The Red Necklace (French Revolution, #1)
3.79
it was amazing
Another favorite for the year. Cannot wait until The Silver Blade (sequel) is released in October.
not set
Sep 06, 2008
 
Silent on the Moor (Lady Julia Grey, #3)
4.04
liked it
None
not set
Oct 02, 2010
 
Silent in the Sanctuary (Lady Julia Grey, #2)
4.05
really liked it
None
not set
Oct 02, 2010
 
Pirates!
3.82
it was amazing
None
not set
May 24, 2011
 
Witch Child (Witch Child, #1)
3.79
really liked it
None
not set
May 24, 2011
 
Silent in the Grave (Lady Julia Grey, #1)
3.92
really liked it
None
not set
Oct 02, 2010
 
Picture the Dead
3.53
really liked it
None
not set
Jun 01, 2010
 
Mercury
3.51
really liked it
None
not set
May 02, 2010
 
Rebel Angels (Gemma Doyle, #2)
3.96
really liked it
None
not set
May 02, 2010
 
A Great and Terrible Beauty (Gemma Doyle, #1)
3.79
really liked it
None
not set
May 02, 2010
 
The Plague
2.95
liked it
None
not set
Mar 01, 2010
 
Crogan's Vengeance (The Crogan Adventures #1)
3.79
liked it
None
not set
Jan 26, 2010
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'historical' »
« previous 1