cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Rebecca
4.22
it was amazing
HERE IS MY HEART...


REBECCA is my favorite book of all time -- bar none.

The opening line is famous, but I didn’t know that the first time I read it (I
...more
not set
May 29, 2008
 
Stone Hotel
4.21
it was amazing


STONE HOTEL is a collection of poems by a man who was sentenced to eight years in prison.

The first poem details the crime. Nowhere in the book did I f
...more
not set
May 12, 2013
 
Lying About Hitler: History, Holocaust, and the David Irving Trial
4.17
it was amazing


"Holocaust deniers" ("Holocaust revisionists") are people who either deny that the Holocaust ever happened, or try to minimize the extent and horror o
...more
not set
Jan 29, 2014
 
Personal Injuries (Kindle County Legal Thriller #5)
3.86
it was amazing

I know Robbie Feaver.

Maybe you do, too — if you’re lucky.

In my opinion, Robbie is among the most brilliantly — and lovingly — created characters in fi
...more
not set
Jul 26, 2009
 
The Piano Man
3.55
it was amazing


THE PIANO MAN.....this one, you pick it up, you won't put it down until you finish. It's that good. At first, the premise didn't seem promising to me:
...more
not set
May 24, 2008
 
Tomorrow They Will Kiss
3.68
it was amazing
EDUARDO SANTIAGO, in my opinion, eventually will win the Pulitzer Prize for distinguished fiction by an American author, and he may be the next writer ...more
not set
May 27, 2008
 
Night (The Night Trilogy, #1)
4.32
it was amazing


The risk inherent in writing about the Holocaust is that today's readers have a hard time believing it. Those of us who did not experience the horrors
...more
not set
Apr 19, 2014
 
A Woman of Independent Means
3.96
it was amazing

A WOMAN OF INDEPENDENT MEANS is composed entirely of letters Elizabeth Steed Garner wrote to her family and friends. Replies to the letters, left to y
...more
Apr 15, 2014
Apr 16, 2014
 
The Tall Tale of Tommy Twice
3.88
it was amazing



I see THE TALL TALE OF TOMMY TWICE as a hilarious, delightfully engaging story about the creation of an artist. In this case, a bizarre, peripatetic u
...more
not set
Jan 25, 2014
 
Midnight Rumba
4.45
it was amazing


If you can think of anything more graceful, more passionate than that wild, exotic dance called the rumba—tell me, quickly, what it is. That Eduardo S
...more
not set
Jan 25, 2014
 
The Sky Isn't Visible from Here: Scenes from a Life
3.72
it was amazing


NEVER. . .have I had a reading experience like this one.

Completely unprepared for this, Sullivan's book took me by surprise. One does not expect a me
...more
not set
Jul 26, 2009
 
The Discontinuity of Small Things
3.84
it was amazing


THE DISCONTINUITY OF SMALL THINGS is a deeply moving and beautifully written novel, one of the best I've read in a long time.

A striking difference be
...more
not set
May 24, 2008
 
Perpetual Care and Other Stories
4.26
it was amazing

JAMES NOLAN is a comedic genius.

“Dying is easy. Comedy is hard,” British actor Sir Donald Wolfit reportedly pronounced on his deathbed.

We all love c
...more
not set
Jul 24, 2008
 
Into the Wild
3.97
it was amazing
BEAUTY, GOODNESS AND HOPE...


I’m saddened to see so many people writing with little or no compassion for Chris McCandless, and such a limited effort to
...more
not set
Nov 27, 2008
 
Johnny Got His Gun
4.17
it was amazing

JOHNNY GOT HIS GUN, by Dalton Trumbo, is the best antiwar novel I ever read.

I warn you -- this book is not for the faint of heart!

A literary friend r
...more
not set
Nov 28, 2008
 
Angels of Maradona
4.42
None
not set
May 28, 2008
 
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
3.92
it was amazing
None
not set
Mar 29, 2009
 
Poachers
3.97
it was amazing
None
not set
Aug 02, 2008
 
Smonk
3.67
it was amazing
None
not set
Aug 02, 2008
 
The Lover of Horses
3.87
it was amazing
None
not set
May 26, 2008
 
Child of God
3.85
it was amazing
None
not set
May 27, 2008
 
Bring Me a Unicorn
3.94
it was amazing
None
not set
May 26, 2008
 
As Long as It's Big: A Narrative Poem
4.29
it was amazing
None
not set
Jul 24, 2008
 
Mildred Pierce
3.92
it was amazing
None
not set
Mar 08, 2009
 
Serenade
3.62
it was amazing
None
not set
Mar 08, 2009
 
The Girl in the Fall-Away Dress
3.79
it was amazing
None
not set
May 29, 2008
 
The Country of Marriage
4.04
it was amazing
None
not set
Sep 09, 2008
 
I Hate to See That Evening Sun Go Down: Collected Stories
4.31
it was amazing
None
not set
Aug 02, 2008
 
The Stone Fields: Love and Death in the Balkans
4.12
it was amazing
None
not set
May 27, 2008
 
Open Secrets
4.08
None
not set
May 26, 2008
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3