Bookshelves

All (213)

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
A Theologico-Political Treatise: A Political Treatise
4.04
it was amazing
Review:

June 2007

Philosophy, the Elite, and the Future

"Men would never be superstitious, if they could govern all their circumstances by set rules, or
...more
not set
May 31, 2007
 
Encyclopedia of the Philosophical Sciences in Outline & Critical Writings
4.15
it was amazing
Review:

August 2007

Phenomenology, Hegelian Science, and History, again

This book contains the 1807 Preface to the "Phenomenology of Spirit", the entire
...more
not set
Jan 03, 2011
 
Bentham's Theory Of Fictions
3.67
really liked it
The Forgotten Bentham

What a fascinating book! I had been aware that many of the innovations appearing in Nietzsche's work regarding 'Truth' (i.e., the
...more
not set
Jan 30, 2015
 
The Conflict of the Faculties
4.11
it was amazing
Philosophy, its Competitors, and Authority

This is a rather rarely read book by Kant. Who reads it? First, I believe it is read by those who think it a
...more
not set
Jan 03, 2011
 
Nietzsche's Critiques: The Kantian Foundations of His Thought
4.11
really liked it
12/27/2006

The New 'New Nietzsche'

Now, it certainly isn't everyday that one runs across a new interpretation of Nietzsche! Well, this book (among other
...more
not set
Jul 12, 2011
 
Question of Being
3.91
really liked it
Seinsfrage

In the midst (really, the maelstrom!) of Heidegger's Silence(s), I fear that one can hear whatever one pleases. Politically, the Right and L
...more
not set
Jul 12, 2011
 
The Present Age
4.11
really liked it
09/21/2006

Philosophy and Authority

In this review I would like to consider the second essay collected in this edition -'On the Difference between the G
...more
not set
Jul 12, 2011
 
The History of Materialism and Criticism of its Present Importance. Three Volumes Bound as One
4.00
really liked it
Reviewed 2/18/2007

A Note on Lange, Nietzsche, Neo-Kantianism, and this edition

First, let me start out by admitting that I bought this book in order to
...more
not set
Jul 12, 2011
 
Irrationalism: Lukacs and the Marxist View of Reason
3.00
really liked it
Is There a Marxist Ontology?

This book by Tom Rockmore is a history of Lukács' changing views on Marxist Rationalism and Bourgeois Irrationalism. There
...more
not set
Jan 20, 2015
 
Recent Philosophy: Hegel to the Present
4.57
really liked it
Reviewed February 14, 2007

A note on the occasional virtues of old, forgotten books

Etienne Gilson was the General Editor of this series, 'A History of
...more
not set
Jul 12, 2011
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'modern-philosophy' »
« previous 1 3 4