Bookshelves

All (213)

cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
Capitalism, Socialism, and Democracy
4.05
it was amazing
Comment:

In the end it will be seen that the greatest enemy of capitalism was always democracy, i.e. the will of the people. Once the people turn anti-
...more
not set
Jan 03, 2011
 
Nietzsche's Corps/e: Aesthetics, Politics, Prophecy, or, the Spectacular Technoculture of Everyday Life
3.92
really liked it
7/23/2006

A Promissory Note That Will Likely Never Be Made Good

This book is hands down the most intelligent left-wing book on Nietzsche in existence! W
...more
not set
Jul 12, 2011
 
Adventures of the Dialectic
3.57
it was amazing
Review:

January 2005

A Dialectic without Dreams

Merleau-Ponty is generally read for his work in phenomenology, not his work on dialectics. This is both a
...more
not set
May 31, 2007
 
Dialectic of Enlightenment: Philosophical Fragments
4.09
it was amazing
Comments:

Critical Theory really was always in danger of giving birth to postmodernism, thanks to its critical and close reading of -and thus being inf
...more
not set
May 31, 2007
 
Search for a Method
3.58
it was amazing
What was Existential Marxism? 9/20/2011

Most people are aware that Western Marxism (Lukács, Gramsci, et al.) and the so-called 'Frankfurt School' (Ador
...more
not set
Jan 03, 2011
 
The Long Twentieth Century: Money, Power and the Origins of Our Times
4.17
really liked it
Reviewed 7/7/2010

The History of Capitalism

Why is this edition "new and updated"? Apparently, because of the 15 page Postscript at the end of the book
...more
not set
Jul 11, 2011
 
The New Spinoza
3.82
really liked it
09/15/2004

A most interesting Spinoza

To start with I should say that usually, almost invariably, I am disappointed by collections. This was not the cas
...more
not set
Jul 12, 2011
 
Lenin and Philosophy and Other Essays
3.94
really liked it
A Brief Note on the "Ideology and Ideological State Apparatuses" Essay

Recently, I had reason to return to this important essay. I found its revision o
...more
not set
Jan 18, 2015
 
Illuminations: Essays and Reflections
4.30
it was amazing
Review:

August 2006

Of Benjamin, Dwarfs and Angels

The depth of Benjamin's pessimism has, I think, been underestimated.

"The story is told of an automati
...more
not set
Jan 03, 2011
 
The Bureaucratization of the World
3.50
really liked it
10/17/2007

Rizzi, Trotsky and the 'Apostate' Left: Bureaucratic Collectivism

Rizzi was a denizen of extremist circles (mostly leftist) in the Thirties.
...more
not set
Jul 12, 2011
Rss infinite More books shelved as 'marxism' »
« previous 1 3