cover title author rating rating my rating review Down arrow read added
 
The Book Thief
4.36
it was amazing
Bravo Zusak! A standing ovation, a mighty opus. You stood Death on her head, removing her dark cloak and scythe, clothing her with feeling and letting ...more
Mar 29, 2008
Mar 19, 2008
 
Loving Frank
3.74
really liked it
I like to read first published novels by authors, so when my reading group, comprised primarily of women, chose Loving Frank, I was looking forward t ...more
Jun 15, 2008
Jun 23, 2008
 
Smarter Than You Think: How Technology is Changing Our Minds for the Better
3.96
really liked it
Old man review. Read at your own risk.

As you get older, the illusion is that time goes by faster. The theory, I think, is that the segment that is pas
...more
Aug 2013
Aug 10, 2013
 
Everything's Eventual: 14 Dark Tales
3.95
liked it
**spoiler alert** SK can't help being SK. That includes profanity and poor taste. Often, it seems like it's trying fine cuisine at Denney's. Every onc ...more
Sep 14, 2008
Nov 28, 2008
 
Dirt
3.12
liked it
DIRT, by David Vann, made me want to take a shower and an antidepressant. And I'm not a depressive. I needed to wash it off and purge it from my syste ...more
May 2012
May 05, 2012
 
The Clockwork Three
3.98
it was amazing
Every boy or girl, no matter how old, should read this book. I'll try to tell you why.

I believe at some time every child, no matter who or where they
...more
Jan 2010
Sep 30, 2010
 
Okay for Now
4.19
it was amazing
Terrific!

I'm not lying.

And I'm no chump in saying so.

Perhaps I should just leave it at that and hope you have the good sense to buy and read the book,
...more
Aug 02, 2011
Aug 03, 2011
 
Please Look After Mom
3.78
it was amazing
Piercing.

This novel about a Korean family cut and passed through me, stabbing me, penetrating my soul.

Yeah, that's the adjective I want to use, pierci
...more
Jun 08, 2011
Jun 11, 2011
 
Return to Sender
3.71
it was amazing
Julia Alvarez knows how to characterize the blur in the line between right and wrong. She knows how to make it clear that reality and morality are con ...more
Mar 14, 2009
Mar 26, 2009
 
Dead End in Norvelt
3.72
it was ok
DEAD END IN NORVELT is a cornfield plowed under. It is bloody bad. It reminds me of a bomb shelter waiting to be annihilated. And it has about as much ...more
Feb 2012
Feb 29, 2012
 
The Scholar of Moab
4.07
really liked it
This is a novel to Peck at. Peckishly, perhaps. To cluck at, to cock a doodle do to.

Compiled by a Redactor, who is in a way, its Nick Carraway or Sco
...more
May 2012
Jun 02, 2012
 
Stillwatch
3.84
liked it
My wife and a friend, Janice, from our third-Monday book club (we meet at Barnes and Noble) went to see Mary Higgins Clark and her daughter, Carol, sp ...more
Apr 2009
May 17, 2009
 
Boys Adrift: The Five Factors Driving the Growing Epidemic of Unmotivated Boys and Underachieving Young Men
4.14
liked it
With the name Eddy, perhaps you can imagine why I got interested in being adrift. You know, swirling around, unanchored, etc.

Anyway, I read BOYS ADRIF
...more
Sep 2012
Oct 17, 2012
 
Touching the Void: The True Story of One Man's Miraculous Survival
4.20
liked it
This is the second time I have read Joe Simpson's Touching the Void. In younger years, when I had more energy and less sense, I probably would have ra ...more
Mar 16, 2009
Mar 17, 2009
 
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
3.61
it was ok
The Story of Edward Sawtelle is a first novel for its author, David Wroblewski. Wroblewski has a great future as a writer, I believe, if he keeps at i ...more
Jan 2009
Jan 27, 2009
 
Down Sand Mountain
3.52
really liked it
I don't think Dewey Turner and his friend, Darla, ever make it together down Sand Mountain.

You'll have to read the book --- or, perhaps, you already
...more
Nov 2009
Nov 04, 2009
 
Christmas Stories
3.63
really liked it
If you desire a well-rounded Christmas read, this collection fits the bill. It features Dickens' "The Story of the Goblins Who Stole a Sexton," that r ...more
Dec 15, 2008
Dec 16, 2008
 
Little Brother (Little Brother, #1)
3.93
really liked it
If you haven't read Cory Doctorow's novel, LITTLE BROTHER, you should. It's fast-paced, entertaining --- as in, gauged for those with mild to serious ...more
Aug 2009
Sep 02, 2009
 
Alma (Book of Mormon #2)
4.25
liked it
Heather Moore was gracious enough to let me read her new novel, ALMA, and I am glad I did. I haven't read too much fiction for her intended audience, ...more
Sep 2009
Oct 01, 2009
 
Blackout (Blackout, #1)
3.66
liked it
BLACKOUT by Robison Wells reminds me of this old joke.

There are two dyslexics working in a kitchen. One says, "Can you smell gas?" And the other says
...more
Oct 2013
Oct 24, 2013
 
Necessary Secrets: National Security, the Media, and the Rule of Law
3.61
liked it
I read NECESSARY SECRETS as a fluke. It isn't my normal fare.

At the height of the WikiLeaks and Julian Assange news blitz, I had a conversation with m
...more
Jan 2011
Mar 26, 2011
 
Slavery by Another Name: The Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II
4.30
really liked it
Don't read this book.

I say that in the vein of Br'er Rabbit's, "Don't throw me in that briar patch."

Exploitation of the downtrodden by some rich and p
...more
Jul 2009
Jan 02, 2010
 
Notes from a Small Island
3.91
liked it
I found myself thinking about the taxes paid by the most successful of writers like Bryson while reading this travelogue . Why would I wonder about th ...more
Sep 12, 2008
Nov 28, 2008
 
Pastor Pete and the Cat
5.00
it was amazing
I highly recommend this book.

Purr strings.

That summarizes the central tension of this wonderful, funny, and entertaining work. That strain constitutes
...more
Jan 2016
Aug 04, 2016
 
The Attack
3.80
liked it
**spoiler alert** The protagonist, Amin Jaafari, a doctor, works as a surgeon at a hospital in Tel Aviv. He's an Arab-Israeli citizen, a secular man w ...more
Feb 12, 2009
Feb 25, 2009
 
Curst Be the Tie: The Case Is Clothed
4.33
it was amazing
It's a wintery cold and east wind kind of day in my neighborhood in the foothills at the base of the mountains. The gusts howl down and create deeper ...more
Jan 2016
Feb 01, 2016
 
A Lost Argument
3.61
really liked it
Theresa Doucet is a very good writer. I hope she keeps writing, and I look forward to reading more of her work.

Let me first say how I came to this nov
...more
Jan 2012
Apr 06, 2012
 
We Are Americans: Undocumented Students Pursuing the American Dream
3.61
really liked it
This book is a must-read for anyone who wants to be more fully informed about those individuals who come across the southern border to the United Stat ...more
Nov 2009
Jan 02, 2010
 
Embrace, Release, Heal: An Empowering Guide to Talking About, Thinking About, and Treating Cancer
4.10
liked it
I've not directly known cancer's grip on/in my body...yet. Maybe it will come to me --- chances are probably good; but maybe it won't. Nonetheless, li ...more
Oct 03, 2011
Oct 12, 2011
 
Miracle and Other Christmas Stories: Stories
3.90
really liked it
I've put the Connie Willis Christmas book away for now, stowed it carefully in my Kindle, and if it gets too crowded there, it'll always be available ...more
Dec 2009
Jan 02, 2010
Rss infinite
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 22 23