Shannon’s review of Flirt (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #18) > Likes and Comments

73 likes · 
Comments Showing 1-50 of 51 (51 new)    post a comment »

message 1: by new_user (last edited Feb 05, 2010 03:14PM) (new)

new_user LOL! Wow, now I'm wondering if LKH is to blame for all the poor books I've read in PNR/UF, because I've seen those problems before. Are they jumping on her tattered coattails?


message 2: by FlibBityFLooB (new)

FlibBityFLooB "Quit telling me you're going to tell me something and just tell me it already!"

hehehehe!!!


message 3: by Summer (new)

Summer I loved the 'magical vagina' part of that review. And that is SO TRUE. I didn't mind when the novels became more sexual, but when they became ALL sex and no plot I got fed up. I haven't even read Skin Trade yet. Great review though, gives me a glimmer of hope.


message 4: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Summer wrote: "I loved the 'magical vagina' part of that review. And that is SO TRUE. I didn't mind when the novels became more sexual, but when they became ALL sex and no plot I got fed up. I haven't even read Skin Trade yet. Great review though, gives me a glimmer of hope. "

Thanks, Summer! : D

At this point I'm expecting either Merry or Anita to cure cancer with their enchanted cooches. It's really gotten silly. And honestly, the books haven't even had that much sex in them lately! I actually think they've gotten boring because it seems LKH can't write a complete novel anymore, it's either all sex or all recycled themes. Once you take away the sex you can really see the problems more clearly. Skin Trade was terrible. I can't stop reading them though. I won't ever stop. Unless Anita starts eating puppies or babies or something equally horrible.

You're right though, this one did give me that glimmer of hope. I guess I'll find out when Bullet comes out if this was just an anomaly.


message 5: by The Flooze (new)

The Flooze Hey. Eating puppies or babies would be NEW! Don't discourage it!

Great review. I hope you have the power to keep flirting and smiling with hope. So that hope can grow! And smile and flirt back at you!

Maybe I like the afterword simply because it wasn't as stilted as the story itself? It would probably be crap to me if I read it independently.


message 6: by Shannon (last edited Feb 05, 2010 10:05PM) (new)

Shannon Michelle M. wrote: "Hey. Eating puppies or babies would be NEW! Don't discourage it!"

Nooooo. Babies, sure. But not puppies!

"Great review. I hope you have the power to keep flirting and smiling with hope. So that hope can grow! And smile and flirt back at you!"

Thanks. The repetition was insane this time around. It's like she was joking around with it, I just can't fathom her being serious about her writing anymore. And I bet she laughs all the way to the bank.

"Maybe I like the afterword simply because it wasn't as stilted as the story itself? It would probably be crap to me if I read it independently."

I don't know, it just pissed me off. Like, oooh, I'm such an awesome writer so let me TRY to explain to you plebeians exactly how an AWESOME writer writes her AWESOME stories. The stupid restaurant scene pissed me off too. But at least now we know where she gets the long haired men from. She can't think up original characters so she inserts herself and her friends into the story. Nice.


message 7: by marlene (new)

marlene your last paragraph .. you.are.awesome.


message 8: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Lol, thanks.


message 9: by Anne (new)

Anne Magical Vagina!? Hilarious! Great review!



message 10: by The Flooze (new)

The Flooze You're right. Must save the puppies. We have enough humans around.

My eyes were bugging. That silly paragraph in my review was mimicking the clothing convo--where she goes on and on about how they put some track pants over their poom-poom shorts and the why of it.

Like, oooh, I'm such an awesome writer so let me TRY to explain to you plebeians exactly how an AWESOME writer writes her AWESOME stories.

She's arrogant as hell. But we knew this. Please reference "no-edit clause."



message 11: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Michelle M. wrote: "She's arrogant as hell. But we knew this. Please reference "no-edit clause."

Yeah, I know. But at least before I didn't have to read about how great she thought she was. I don't read her blog so I've saved myself from that.



message 12: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Anne wrote: "Magical Vagina!? Hilarious! Great review!"

Thanks!

; )




Unapologetic_Bookaholic Great review, Shannon!


message 14: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Kenjii ~*~Black Kat~**~ wrote: "Great review, Shannon!"

Thanks!



message 15: by Mrs. (new)

Mrs. Badass Glad to know these things. I had small hope for Anita after Skin Trade, but it doesn't appear that the writing is getting better that sucks. I won't be buying this one that's for sure. I may have hit my magical Vagina Limit :P


message 16: by new_user (last edited Feb 07, 2010 05:16PM) (new)

new_user Okay, I added a shelf for heroines with the power of sexy times, but now I'm thinking I should have stolen Shannon's moniker and called it "magical vaginas," LOL. It brings the point across so well, LOL.


message 17: by The Flooze (new)

The Flooze Lol. Somehow, I don't think I'll be stealing much from that shelf!


message 18: by new_user (last edited Feb 07, 2010 08:41PM) (new)

new_user Power of vagina! Goooo planet! By your powers combined...


message 19: by new_user (new)

new_user Michelle M. wrote: "Lol. Somehow, I don't think I'll be stealing much from that shelf!"

Why not, betch? You think you're too good for my vagina shelf or somethin'?


message 20: by The Flooze (new)

The Flooze Uh...I gots my own cootchie power?


message 21: by new_user (new)

new_user Do not get loud with me, girl! Do. Not. Get. Loud. With. Me!


message 22: by The Flooze (new)

The Flooze I don't need no magical vagina shelf! The sex is NEVER as good as it should be.

Magical vaginas suck all the fun out.


message 23: by new_user (new)

new_user True dat!


message 24: by Rebecca (new)

Rebecca Magical Vaginas...LMAO


message 25: by Carolyn F. (new)

Carolyn F. I'm flirting with hope though. And I'm scared of the power of hoping, because to flirt with that power IS to hope. But I smile at that and flirt with the hope that I CAN hope. And there's power in that. Because hoping IS power. And flirting is power. I hope I have the power to hope there's hope for Anita. I smile and flirt at the idea. Because she needs the power of hoping more than any of us.

That's my favorite part. Shannon, have you thought of becoming a writer yourself?


message 26: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Har har har. Maybe LKH will need a ghost writer in her formative years. I can only hope.

Lol.


message 27: by Carolyn F. (new)

Carolyn F. You could give her a break every once in awhile. You have her down pat.


message 28: by Athena (new)

Athena XD Love this!


message 29: by Sabrina (new)

Sabrina "The one that latches onto a word or two and beats it into the ground."

Yes. So very much this. I thought I was going to stab my eyeballs out if I had to read the word "breathy" one more time. Seriously.




message 30: by The Flooze (new)

The Flooze Lol. Another word to add to the list!


message 31: by Nicole (new)

Nicole Best. Review. Ever.


message 32: by Shannon (new)

Shannon : )

Thanks!


message 33: by Theresa (new)

Theresa Fantastic review, Shannon! I don't know how to pick my favorite part because there were so many that made me laugh out loud. :) The last paragraph is genius, though!!


message 34: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Thank you!


message 35: by Crystal (new)

Crystal I agree with your review 110%!
Im half through Bullet at the moment and TBH i wish i didnt waste my money on it! I dont even want to pick it up and finish it!


message 36: by Eli (new)

Eli Thank you! That is EXACTLY what I've been thinking about the series - I too haven't been excited about this series since Obsidian Butterfly, but I keep *hoping* that it will get back to the way it was in the beginning. This book also gave me a chance to *hope* that my reading/waiting was not in vain. Bullet, unfortunately, did not turn out as well. :(


message 37: by Wendy Darling (new)

Wendy Darling 18 books??


message 38: by Shannon (new)

Shannon Yup. And I'm next in line for #20 at the library. I still can't bring myself to relive #19 to write a review. My status updates should give you an idea of how I felt though.


message 39: by Nikoline (new)

Nikoline Holy cow that's a lot of books in one series!


Everlaine (BookCaptain) I bought the first Anita Blake book a year ago but I've been hesitant to start reading it, I don't want to get caught up in the series if it's this catastrophic. Is it worth it?


message 41: by Eli (new)

Eli "I bought the first Anita Blake book a year ago but I've been hesitant to start reading it, I don't want to get caught up in the series if it's this catastrophic. Is it worth it?"

Out of 20 books, only the first 7 are any good. The series starts going downhill with Blue Moon (#8), but Obsidian Butterfly (#9) is good, then it plummets downhill with Narcissus in Chains (#10) and hasn't come back up since. Statistically speaking, I would say that that means it is NOT worth it. I suppose if you think you can stop reading the series with the 7th or the 9th book, then I would encourage you to read at least the beginning of the series because those really are worth it. (PS: stay away from the Merry Gentry Series)


message 42: by Shannon (last edited Jun 28, 2011 12:14PM) (new)

Shannon ^ what she said except for Obsidian Butterfly. That was the book where things took a turn for the worst for me personally. I would never in a million years recommend these books. With that being said though, I think it is one of those things you just have to experience for yourself, because the books are just so laughably ridiculous.

The Merry Gentry series is even more over the top, and that's one I'd feel better telling you to check out, only because it's shorter. I also like Merry, the character, better than Anita. The series as a whole still sucks though, but they make me a tad less angry after I read them.


message 43: by Eli (last edited Jun 28, 2011 01:01PM) (new)

Eli "I also like Merry, the character, better than Anita. The series as a whole still sucks though, but they make me a tad less angry after I read them."

That's just because the Merry series sucked from the very beginning. As opposed to the Anita Books, which were good at first, then turned to mush.
(PS: I only liked Obsidian Butterfly because of the development of Edward as a character, otherwise, I agree with you)


message 44: by Shannon (last edited Jun 28, 2011 01:04PM) (new)

Shannon Eli wrote: "That's just because the Merry series sucked from the very beginning. As opposed to the Anita Books, which were good at first, then turned to mush."

I actually, if I'm remembering correctly - I read them YEARS ago - liked the first two books in the series. I also thought Merry's series didn't take itself as seriously, and Merry herself is just more likable.

And Edward has become such a non-character now that I often forget he even exists. I just remember the villain in that one being so ... stupid, that I just ended up really hating the whole book.


message 45: by AH (new)

AH Can't do it. Can't read another Anita Blake book ever again. Just can't do it.


message 46: by Regina (new)

Regina Everlaine wrote: "I bought the first Anita Blake book a year ago but I've been hesitant to start reading it, I don't want to get caught up in the series if it's this catastrophic. Is it worth it?"

I am only up through #8 in the series, I have seen hints and signs of the downturn, but it hasn't happened yet. I am reading Obsidian Butterfly next. For me it has been worth it to read the series. I really like the series up until this point, I think it is unique, I like the characters, the gore, the horror element and once she finally started having sex (that is the great irony, there is no sex in the beginning books) I thought the books were even better. But for me, I went in knowing that I would stop as soon as it sucks for me. I won't be in it for the long run, I release my self from the obligation of finishing the series! Anyway, if you can do that I would say the beginning of the series is very worth readnig.

Very fun review, loved reading it.


Everlaine (BookCaptain) Hmm yeah I think I atleast will read the first one (since I already own it), and I'll decide if it's worth it then ;).

And also I just want to say that I love your reviews :)


message 48: by Jenn (new)

Jenn I was disappointed with this because it seems like Hamilton is trying to live through her books and have them mimic her life more and more. *See her little author note. This book seemed even more out of character to me than the previous book. I started out loving this series, but now I seem to be getting more and more disappointed with each new installment.


message 49: by Apryll (new)

Apryll I totally agree! The series became about her collecting guys and sleeping around. Obsidian butterfly was the last book I actually liked. The story just went down hill after that.


message 50: by Katie (new)

Katie Everlaine it's totally up to you. I agree the story is pretty good up through Obsidean Butterfly. After that it goes way, way down hill. There are entire novels in this series that are basically PWPs and straight up porn. A lot of people seem to hate the Merry Gentry series, but if I'm honest, I like it better because it was up front with the reader from book 1 that it was going to be a polyandry romance, and shouldn't be taken too seriously. This series starts you out feeling like it's going to be an awesome paranormal/fantasy mystery series with a touch of romance, but by book 7 it does a complete 180 and turns into romance *cough*porn*cough* with a touch of plot. Personally I'd recommend to not read anything after obsidian butterfly if you decide to read it at all.


« previous 1
back to top