Delee’s review of The Stand > Likes and Comments

196 likes · 
Comments Showing 1-50 of 50 (50 new)    post a comment »
dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Guess what I bought tonight! ;)


message 2: by Delee (new)

Delee Yaaaaaaay! *hand clap*


message 3: by Richard (new)

Richard Derus Addictive reading, this book. Could never put it down once I picked it up.

Nice one, Delee!


message 4: by Delee (last edited Mar 03, 2014 10:30AM) (new)

Delee Thank you Richard!!


message 5: by Jason (new)

Jason Parent Awesome book, and awesome review, Delee!


message 6: by Lisa (new)

Lisa I didn't know that's what he had in mind when he went about writing this. I'd say he did it! It's true that it's additive reading. I lived in the world of The Stand for a month. My days pretty much consisted of reading The Stand, or trying to get back to reading The Stand. Great pictures, Great review, Great buddy read!!! YAY, Delee!!!! :)


message 7: by Delee (new)

Delee Thank you Lisa for making my re-read of the Stand so much FUN!...and for the compliment! :)


message 8: by Delee (new)

Delee Jason wrote: "Awesome book, and awesome review, Delee!"

Thanks Jason!


message 9: by Lisa (new)

Lisa I mean ADDICTIVE reading! maybe it's also additive reading as well, lol. Oh man, I'm such a dork! :)


message 10: by Delee (new)

Delee You know that you can use the edit button to fix mistakes on comments, so nooooooooooo one knows you even had an oops. I use it alllllllllll the time...lol


message 11: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Are you sure you don't want me to just blow up your threads with comment mistakes/apologies? :)


message 12: by Delee (new)

Delee Suuuuuuure why not. ;)


message 13: by Arah-Lynda (new)

Arah-Lynda Well reviewed Delee. A King classic.


message 14: by Diane S ☔ (new)

Diane S ☔ Don't know what happened Dele. Goodreads phantom at work again. So..... Loved you review. I too read this in the eighties and loved it. One of my favorite King novels.


message 15: by Delee (new)

Delee Thank Arah-Lynda, and thank you Diane...agaaaain...lol


message 16: by Maria (new)

Maria Pomeroy Awesome review!!!
This is one of my favorite books also.


message 17: by Angie (new)

Angie Your review has made me want to read this again:D great review!!


message 18: by Delee (last edited Mar 03, 2014 06:35AM) (new)

Delee Thanks Maria!!

...and thanks Angie!

The good thing about reading a book 30 years later is some of it is like new again...the bad thing about it is ...I'm OLD!!..lol


message 19: by Angie (new)

Angie I first read this when I was sixteen and that means I'm really old,lol. I wore that copy out.


message 20: by Florence (Lefty) (new)

Florence (Lefty) MacIntosh Definitely my favorite King novel - who can forget The Walking Dude? Great fun revisiting it reading your review, thanks.


Lyn (Readinghearts) I think this is my favorite King novel, too.

Do any of you watch the TV show Revolution? The have started putting in all of these references from The Stand. It is interesting.


message 22: by Delee (last edited Mar 03, 2014 03:20PM) (new)

Delee readinghearts (Lyn M) wrote: "I think this is my favorite King novel, too.

Do any of you watch the TV show Revolution? The have started putting in all of these references from The Stand. It is interesting."


I watched season 1...but I haven't watched season 2 yet. There are soooooooo many shows on the cable channels (HBO Showtime TNT) that are so well done now. I had to cut some others loose or I would be in front of the TV all the time. :D

...plus it cuts into my reading..lol


Lyn (Readinghearts) Delee wrote: "readinghearts (Lyn M) wrote: "I think this is my favorite King novel, too.

Do any of you watch the TV show Revolution? The have started putting in all of these references from The Stand. It is ..."


I feel exactly the same way, lol. Too much to watch and if I watch it all, when will I have time to read.


message 24: by Patsy (new)

Patsy  This is my favourite by King. I read it in the eighties and even now if somebody coughs near me it reminds me of the book :O x


message 25: by Sunny (new)

Sunny Wonderful review! I'm tempted to read it again myself.


message 26: by Tiffani (new)

Tiffani Is this your favorite Stephen King novel? I have never read a Stephen King novel but plan to this month to satisfy horror genre for one of the challenges I'm doing this year.


message 27: by Delee (new)

Delee Hmmmmm I would have to say this one is right up there at the top.

It is another one..."It" the book I mean.

... but I think my all time favorite King would have to be Salem's Lot. It is one of my comfort reads- you know a book you go back to and read numerous times?


message 28: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Delee wrote: "Hmmmmm I would have to say this one is right up there at the top.

It is another one..."It" the book I mean.

... but I think my all time favorite King would have to be Salem's Lot. It is one of ..."


Delee, that is why I love you, because your "comfort read" is Salem's Lot!!!! You are too much! :)


message 29: by Delee (new)

Delee Well I have a few- Salem's Lot, Watchers, The Undertaker's Gone Bananas, and Watership Down...so yeah...hmmm okay...maybe I am a little strange that way...lol


message 30: by Delee (new)

Delee Thanks Cheryl! Salem's Lot is my favorite of all Kings books, but this one IS in my top five. :)


message 31: by Alex (new)

Alex Simon Delee , that was a gr8 review . i <3 it !! :)


message 32: by Glenn (new)

Glenn Russell Outstanding review, Delee. Five stars! Thanks so much.


message 33: by Skip (new)

Skip This book rocks, so does your review.


message 34: by Lisa (new)

Lisa Great review, and also a pretty amusing thread (in which I come across as a big dork!!! HA!).


message 35: by Delee (last edited Jan 14, 2015 09:48AM) (new)

Delee Lisa wrote: "Great review, and also a pretty amusing thread (in which I come across as a big dork!!! HA!)."

You come across as exuberant- that is very different from dork. ;)


message 36: by Josh (new)

Josh Zeringue I love the opening sentence of your review. :)


message 37: by Delee (new)

Delee Josh wrote: "I love the opening sentence of your review. :)"

Thanks Josh!! :)


Ashley (JaffaCaffa) I just wanted to say that I *love* all of your reviews. Every one I've seen on various books that I've hemmed and hawed about, you normally convince me to read it or put it on my TBR. Often times "real life" issues get in the way and I push off reading, feeling too tired or ill..Just leafing through your reviews remind me how magical reading truly is and make me instantly want to delve into a book. Your passion and excitement for books always shine through, thanks for the little reminder. :) Keep up the awesome reviews! x


message 39: by Delee (new)

Delee Ashley wrote: "I just wanted to say that I *love* all of your reviews. Every one I've seen on various books that I've hemmed and hawed about, you normally convince me to read it or put it on my TBR. Often times "..."

I am having such a bad day..and you lifted me up and made me smile with your comment. Thank you so much Ashley!! :D


message 40: by Ɗẳɳ 2.☊ (new)

Ɗẳɳ  2.☊ Very nice. Mother Abagail looks evil though. I'd love to see an image of her fending off the corn weasels.


message 41: by Delee (last edited Jul 28, 2016 03:52PM) (new)

Delee I would like to see an image of you fighting off corn weasels.


message 42: by Ɗẳɳ 2.☊ (new)

Ɗẳɳ  2.☊ This world is oh so chock-full of weasels that that's a daily battle.


message 43: by Delee (last edited Jul 28, 2016 04:52PM) (new)

Delee This world is oh so chock-full of weasels that that's a daily battle.

Tis true....

The strangest thing just happened when I commented on this review...it changed the edit date to July 27 2016...which was yesterday...even though I wrote this way over 2 years ago and haven't edited it....Is that happening to anyone else's reviews?


message 44: by Ginger (new)

Ginger Love the review Delee. The pictures you used were stunning as well.

I second the request for the picture of 2.0 fighting corn weasels. :D


message 45: by Ɗẳɳ 2.☊ (new)

Ɗẳɳ  2.☊ Delee wrote: "This world is oh so chock-full of weasels that that's a daily battle.

Tis true....

The strangest thing just happened when I commented on this review...it changed the edit date to July 27 2016......"


I've noticed GR do that before on a few of mine, but I know no clue as to why, or what brings it to the forefront.


message 46: by Delee (new)

Delee It's not like it is a huge deal (it doesn't re-post them)... but it's weird.


message 47: by Deanna (new)

Deanna love this review, Delee!!


Michelle Only Wants to Read M-O-O-N, I agree with you!


message 49: by Delee (last edited Dec 15, 2016 11:52AM) (new)

Delee Deanna wrote: "love this review, Delee!!"

A very late thank you Deanna!!


message 50: by Delee (new)

Delee I looooooove when people agree with me!! It's my favorite!

Thanks Michelle!!


back to top